We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got faux painting? Love the jazz!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Remington's Restaurant

Remington's Restaurant
Ranked #359 of 1,239 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Price range: US$0 - US$40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Paradise Valley
Description: Recognized as a premier dining spot in Scottsdale.Remington's Restaurant, located at The Scottsdale Plaza Resort, features delicious American cuisine. Whether dining on the vine-covered patio with its garden setting or indoors under the unique hand-painted skyscape ceiling surrounded by original works of art, lunch or dinner is a relaxing and mouth-watering experience. Remington's is available for private parties up to 225 people and also hosts cigar and wine dinners throughout the year. The lounge features an excellent selection of wines, spirits and live jazz music in the lounge Monday through Saturday. Dinner Monday through Saturday: 4pm - 10 pm Lounge hours 4pm-10pm Closed Sundays Located on the Southwest corner of The Scottsdale Plaza Resort
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
196 reviews
158 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Got faux painting? Love the jazz!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

It’s been years since we first came to Remington’s for the jazz, but never went there for dinner, although we often said we should try it, so we did. You can only book a table by calling or through their website…supposedly. It’s an email form which you enter all the pertinent data, which we did, and received a “Success!” response. What does that mean? We expected to get an email Huh? Still no confirmation. So we called. They were genuinely surprised & apologetic that the email reservation process didn’t work, and said they’d alert the manger. When we arrived, and were queried if we had a reservation, we said yes and then briefly mentioned the email issue. Turned out the gentleman who was there said he heard about that (so I guess the message did get relayed!) and they were looking into it as reservations aren’t supposed to go into a black hole. Not good for business when someone thinks they've booked a table but hasn't in reality.

The décor is a bit strange – a lot of 80’s faux painting. The area we sat had faux painted walls, the ceiling was a faux painted sky complete with clouds, and rows of Greek columns (faux painted) and a wooden pergola over the seating areas. The artwork included a couple of large round ‘plates’ encased in Lucite boxes on the walls – contemporary feeling, or maybe even a bit native feeling. Not bad, just dated and old feeling. There were booths and tables, some tables had high-backed chairs, others not. We got the high-backs, which were quite comfortable, and helped with the privacy as diners must walk through this room to get to other areas of the restaurant.

Our server was friendly and allowed us some time to enjoy our drinks before telling us the specials of the night which was appreciated. The spinach salad was good – just your standard fare, ditto for the mixed green salad. Entrees included the broiled cedar plank salmon and broiled garlic shrimp with lemon butter. The salmon was very good, perfectly prepared. The (5) shrimp were a good size, but unfortunately, not quite cooked long enough. They probably could’ve used another 30-60 seconds to be perfect, but the sauce was flavorful.

After dinner, we went to hear the jazz. THIS is really the reason you go to Remington’s. Although the restaurant is nice, it is a bit pricey. The service was good and the food decent, but the jazz…it’s incredible and world-class. It is an older crowd (there were some octogenarians dancing!!) so if you are wanting a dark, bluesy kind of place, this isn’t it. But if you want to hear really good jazz and don’t mind a more mature clientele, this is a great place.

Will we go back for dinner? Possibly. Will we not wait years to go back for the jazz? Absolutely!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SmallWonderAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScottsdalePlaza, Manager at Remington's Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We're sorry you had difficulty with our online reservation system. We are addressing this issue and will hopefully have it resolved soon. We're, also, sorry to hear you felt your shrimp was a little underdone. Next time, please don't hesitate to tell your waiter if something isn't quite right with your food - if you hadn't done so already - so he can correct the issue during your visit. We want to make sure our guests have the best experience possible. We're glad you enjoyed the Jazz music! It's always fun to watch the performers live. Did you know, Dennis Rowland with be joining Joel & Friends on Thursday Nights at Remington's? That's a show we highly recommend you see!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    32
    17
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great steaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

I had the filet and my wife had the prime rib. Both done to perfection. Melt in your mouth. Ceaser salad was just OK, very strong garlic. Spinich salad was very very good! Sides were large enought to split. It was our first visit and we choose inside seating. Outside seating also looked very nice. Service was just right - always there but not a pest. Inside tables were a little close together but it was still quiet and you could have a private conversation. It's an upscale steak house - reasonable priced but not cheap.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ray H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScottsdalePlaza, Manager at Remington's Restaurant, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thanks for the review Ray! We're glad you and your wife had an excellent visit! We look forward to seeing you again, soon.

Thanks,
Travis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
402 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Remington's Has Slipped a Whole Lot!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We ate here in December for our group's Christmas Brunch. The food was terrible and the selection of food at the brunch was dismal. The service was poor too! This was quite a contrast with my previous review. I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jnichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScottsdalePlaza, Manager at Remington's Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
JNicholos, I'm sorry you had a poor experience while revisiting Remington's. I know last time when you wrote a review on December 16, 2012 you had said Remington's was "Coming up in the world" and it's unfortunate that you felt you needed to retract that statement. We hope you come by one more time, and let us make up the experience to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
109 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Toe Tapping Happy Feet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Love Remington's on Monday evenings - Great piano by Rags Allen and dancing to songs of the 50's along with a few talented (and some not so) singers from the crowd. Nevertheless, a nice happy hour! In the past we have had nice lunches so invited 2 other couples to join us for an early dinner on the patio. Our consensus was this was the first time any of us (all six) had ever been served just our meat entre of prime rib, filet mignon or crab cakes sitting all by itself and ''lonely" on the plate. Since none of had been asked our preference to a side dish it never occured we were just going to be served just a plate of meat. Perhaps even a little garnish on the plate would have shown a little culinary style and consideration from the kitchen.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingGal977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScottsdalePlaza, Manager at Remington's Restaurant, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thanks Traveling Gal for the review. We're glad you enjoyed Rags Allen's set. He's always really fun to watch! Remington's menu is always all-a-cart except for special nights where we have a prefixed menu like our Valentine's dinner we had in February. The sides are clearly labeled on the bottom left side of our menu. If you want to try a prefixed menu that includes sides, like us on Facebook at facebook.com/RemingtonsRestaurantScottsdalePlazaResort for information when we will be hosting those.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arizona
Level Contributor
101 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

After purchasing a Groupon for this restaurant, my husband read a number of reviews here on Trip Advisor, some of them less than stellar. We made a reservation for 7:00pm for Saturday evening. When we arrived at approximately 6:50pm they said it would be a few minutes because we arrived early. Ok, no problem but definitely what folks had said happened to them on Trip Advisor. We thought this was going downhill as other reviewers had posted. After looking around we decided that we were probably the youngest couple in the room (we are in our mid 60's).

We were seated in the dining room (not full by any means). Our server was Harrison and he was excellent. Took our drink order and returned with our drinks asking if we'd like time to enjoy our cocktails. Yes, please. Returned about 10 minutes later and went over the menu with us and wanted to know if we'd like to order. We each ordered onion soup (excellent) and shared a Caeser salad. When he asked if we'd like to split it (extra charge which drives me crazy) we said no we'd just share. The salad was excellent - loads of garlic and a taste of anchovie that was perfect. A basket of fresh pretzel rolls and lavosh were put on the table during our salad coure and my husband dug into the pretzel rolls which he loves.

After our salad we placed our orders for dinner. Harrison was knowledgeable and very helpful with our questions - my sand dabs were the best I've had in a long time. He suggested the herb crust and he was spot on. They were cooked to perfection. My husband had the thick cut pork chop which was delicious. We ordered side dishes of onion rings (a huge plateful) and I had the wild rice (side dishes are a la carte). Everyting was exceuted perfectly and Harrison's timing was perfect.

We skipped coffe and desert but all in all a great evening. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Maxine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheScottsdalePlaza, Manager at Remington's Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Thank you for your great review! We're so happy you had a good experience at Remington's. We strive to make delicious food for our guests, and are happy to hear you thought the food was, "cooked to perfection." Look forward to you visiting us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Remington's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Remington's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing