We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“recommended by hotel, not worth going”
Review of SOL Mexican Cocina

SOL Mexican Cocina
Reserve with OpenTable
SOL Mexican Cocina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #93 of 1,250 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“recommended by hotel, not worth going”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were recommended to this restaurant by the hotel. It was a mistake. the food was over priced, over cooked and over spiced. Our server was more intererested in her domestic issues rather than our meal. We were ignored for 20 minutes wanting to order. Apparently the server will take your order whern THEY want to take your order. I cannot recoomend it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    90
    36
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Trendy restaurant and delicious food”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I was looking for a more traditional Mexican restaurant while staying for the night in Scottsdale, but the reviews were all terribly mixed--some, downright unflattering. I also was in the mood for carnitas, and so this restaurant wound up being my choice. It wasn't exactly what I was looking for, but it is definitely a very good restaurant. My server was friendly and very attentive. The chips were very interesting--large, round, fresh, and tasty--and with delicious salsa and a bean dip on the side. My meal came quick and with an excellent presentation. The music playing was a bit on the loud side for me and not to my taste, but it wasn't overbearing and would probably be enjoyable to a younger crowd. As it was, there were mostly younger people in the restaurant and at the bar. It is also in an upscale part of Scottsdale and in a nice location along with other shops and restaurants.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raphael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
559 reviews
344 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Top upscale Mexican cuisine in AZ”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

First time visiting this restaurant in N. Scottsdale OFF scottsdale road. In shopping quarter. In a nice upscale setting and our food was top notch. Started with seasonal guacamole which changes weekly. This freshly made was with habinaros and blueberries and cheese with a brown sugar syrup mixed in so it was sweet and spicy ..very unique served with tostadas. We asked for fresh corn tortillas which we preferred since they were softer. Salsa and pure bean salsa dip was nice addition. Main course I had wild fish estcuste a fresh grouper extreamly good cooked perfect on a bed of roasted corn cut off the cobb with diced tomates and delicately seasoned . A perfect fish dish. I SHOULD knownfish growing up in BOSTON. Also to note the fish and the corn ragu was both served piping hot with toasted basil leaf. A large portion even for foodie.

Wife had half limone verdie chicken she said it was fantasic and fall off bone witj mexican dry rub flavor. Came with fresh and large salade with chunks of avacado with tomatoes and wild leaf greens. She could not finish. We also Enjoyed cucumber jalapeño margaritas. The sides were marvolus and so fresh cole slaw used with tortillas and fish very litr dressing but house made and quinoa tomato cranberry and pine nut cold side

This was best cold quinoa I ever had. Prices on the high side but for upscale mexican fare it was excellent. Better than some reseraunts on caba san lucas 5 star.

Deserves top 10 rank in Scottsdale. Top 3 for its category. No chain budget processed food here. FOODIES will love it.

Helpful?
1 Thank k123-foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogden, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Happy Hour!”
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We got the guacamole and two orders each of the chicken and carnitas tacos. The food was great, the service was great, and we were seated immediately. The chips weren't the best. They were a little too thick and crunchy, but the salsa and bean dip were great. We would definitely go back and try out the dinner food.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Weekend Brunch”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We have just spent two weeks in Scottsdale and enjoyed the brunch so much we returned the following weekend. The menu is very comprehensive and contains some unusual items. We loved the chips and dips and the mimosas to accompany the brunch. The decor, ambiance and friendly staff all made for a fantastic experience. We shall definitely return on our next visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank candls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed SOL Mexican Cocina also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to SOL Mexican Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing