We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third time disappointment”
Review of Giligin's Sand Bar

Giligin's Sand Bar
Ranked #751 of 1,250 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Serves Alcohol
Neighbourhood: Downtown Scottsdale
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Third time disappointment”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We have been to Giligin's Sand Bar three times in the past year. The first time I ordered the Caesar salad with Mahi filet. It was great!!!

The second and third times we were there the service and food was not good. The fish was very strong tasting, the waitresses were not especially friendly (kind of rude) and they were out of shrimp (at 4:30 p.m). We have decided we would not go there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    21
    5
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
191 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Well what can you say....”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Dont have any expectations but see how excited people get by the goldfish races, emceed by a midget (little person, nope he called himself a midget). It was good humour most of the night. Remember guys, you lose if the woman your racing against shows her "schmeebles" and don't get upset by it. Lots of choices for beers on tap and bottles, and I mean lots.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amtiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madras, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“GO DUCKS”
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The K State fans took over this bar but i was treated fine. Its fun with lots of things going on. The beer bottles are large, that is a good thing and bad, depends on how many you had.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnDayRafters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
90 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Midgets and $5 Pitchers = How can you go wrong?”
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Don't bother with your Tux and leave your opera glasses at home. This place is to culture what Arizona is to Snowboarding, but it's very entertaining. The "Wheel of Booze" as you enter tells you that Plato and Aristotle would have been uncomfortable discussing the finer points of philosophy with the punters in here. Then the midget staff add that certain something, which combined with $5 pitchers (during happy hour) seal the deal.

It's brash, loud, and vulgar. The decor is early "mad woman's feces" with random junk nailed up everywhere, the restrooms are functional, and the floor is sticky. The place gets packed on weekends and everyone is having a great time. The food and service were amazingly good, given the Mongol Horde nature of the crowd - the calamari was tender and tasty.

By all means go to one of the nearby yuppy joints around the corner and pay $15 for an insipid cocktail that tastes like hell, but then come here for a genuinely great night out with real people.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Often_disappointed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“My boyfriend couldn't wait to get here!!”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I have been going here for several years during my annual Spring Training trip, but last year was the first time my boyfriend went. We had such a good time last year that it's all my bf talked about. We were pleasantly surprised this year that the patio was expanded, as we are smokers and usually stick to the patio. This also made room for more games and an area to purchase the drink promotions outside. I even got the bf to play a couple games of giant jenga with me. We ended up here 3 of the 4 nights we were in town, and had a pretty good time every night. We were a little disappointed that they were short staffed, as there was no one manning the giant shot wheel. That was one of the highlights of our trip last year, and we didn't even get to spin once this year. My bf wanted to try the giant breakfast challenge on Sunday, but they open pretty late in the morning and we had tickets to a game. It will just give him something to look forward to next year. Also, we have never eaten here for all the time we've spent here, so that is something else we should try next year. Overall it's a party atmosphere with good drink specials and fun decor.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giligin's Sand Bar also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Giligin's Sand Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing