We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Owned Mexican Restaurant in Arizona”

Ajo Al's Mexican Cafe
Ranked #501 of 1,250 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Central Scottsdale
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
120 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Family Owned Mexican Restaurant in Arizona”
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Let's begin by stating, I'd return for another meal. A nice decor and pleasant and helpful wait staff are the prelim's to a wonderful meal. Let's mention a spotlessly clean restaurant with a large menu, many options to choose from. The Margarita was excellent and the salsa, although somewhat bland for me, was "perfect" for my wife. The Shea Blvd. restaurant is somewhat hidden away yet a good find for dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoosierbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    20
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
167 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Freshly made food”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

While the food is not the typical hot and spicy Mexican that I think of, the ingredients are always very fresh and they happily "tweak" what you order if you want it done a bit differently. Pleasant staff whether dining inside, outside or taking out. Wish they had a better bar area. 4-5 stools is not enough.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2kwaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“There is best Mexican in Phoenix.”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Not bad, but certainly not the best. Portions are large and the dining room is pleasant, those are the two highlights. Quality and taste are average, nothing bad but also nothing outstanding. The service was so so. Our waiter was very friendly, but he forgot to put in our appetizer order, so the entrees came out with out it. A service pet peeve, please do not acuum the floor with the hand held carpet sweepers right next to my table when I am eating, it is by unappetizing and the noise is distracting.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadforgci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
450 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Consistent and good”
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We have been going here for many years. While it may not be a "gourmet" Mexican style restaurant, we have always found it to be good and quite enjoyable.The service is prompt and friendly. The portions are quite adequate and the food is fresh and well prepared. It is also a good family destination. It should readily satisfy anyone's desire for a night out without any hassle or concerns.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TomWall60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
178 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Gringo Mexican food”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Mexican food you can find in any major US city. Does not reflect this areas strong Mexican influence.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Jefftimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ajo Al's Mexican Cafe also viewed

Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to Ajo Al's Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing