We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”
Review of AZ 88

AZ 88
Ranked #102 of 1,256 Restaurants in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, View
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours
Neighbourhood: Downtown Scottsdale
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

When I arrived at this restaurant, I expected that the artwork and trendy vibe would overshadow the dining experience. Happy to report that I was wrong. One of the best club sandwiches I've ever had was the "7353 Club" (add the optional hard boiled egg and havarti), and the St Petersburg chips were unique and outstanding. My son's burger was cooked perfectly and was enormous.

Be aware that if you follow a GPS to the restaurant, you'll end up in a dead-end alley in Old Town Scottsdale. Park in the public garage and walk around/behind it to find AZ88.

Helpful?
2 Thank xylograph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    128
    27
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent dessert and decor!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Came here as part of a food tour and loved the ice cream sundae! The service was great, and the cocktails were also excellent. I would definitely come here again!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kmw278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Favorite of Year-Round Dwellers!”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We have been enjoying AZ88 since we moved to Scottsdale in 1994. They opened in '88, thus the name. They have redecorated multiple times, some designs have been better than others. My favorite was when the pony walls were glass, filled with broken Martini glasses. It was very unique and people still talk about it. They have added outdoor dining, but if smoke bothers you, stay inside. If you are ever going to drink a Martini, this is the place to do it. If you love Martinis you will be in heaven! The menu has grown, but the original items that made the place popular are still available. (I hate when places get rid of your favorites.) The 6 huge Shrimp Cocktail appetizer is delicious. The AZ88 Salad and AZ88 Grilled Chicken Sandwich (think Buffalo chicken wing sauce) are tops. Upgrade a side from fries to Hell Fire Chips, they are homemade potato chips topped with hot sauce and blue cheese crumbles! Yummy! You can split a sandwich and each get normal full size sides for just $3 (you each choose your own side) and it is already divided, no mess. One chicken sandwich has 2 grilled chicken breast halves on it, plenty to split for us. Plus you can save room for dessert. You cannot go wrong with the Key Lime Pie and their fabulous coffee. The service is great, be generous with the ASU student servers, they are working for their education. For politically correct diners there are 3 bathrooms, She, He and She/He. It has been that way forever and it hasn't been a cause for protesting yet. Everyone just enjoys a well-managed, non-chain, Old Town Scottsdale favorite!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Hidden away Ultra modern bar/restaurant ”
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Honestly we've walked by this place a hundred times. The patio is sleek and modern; in fact the whole place looks very trendy- and expensive. It wasn't! Average prices for Scottsdale this place is a real fun gem! We sat on the patio and were able to enjoy the free Sunday afternoon concerts that were going on in the park. Very fun/festive atmosphere. Cocktails were great, servers were very informed and friendly. The appetizers are excellent, funky, different takes on snacks that I'm sure you've never had, but will enjoy. The water chestnuts, gallets and wings are superb. I had Steak au poivre- easily one of the best burgers I've ever eaten, it's not a classic burger so don't expect that. Also had the Bonfire Chicken- excellent and key lime tart. This is a great happy hour spot, great to people watch on the Scottsdale Civic Center area, great for late nights as they are open till 1:30am. The bathrooms are interesting, hard to find, and a bit space-age modern inside. Great spot to take friends from work, have drinks, laugh and eat. A bit of NYC or San Fran right here in Old Town. Don't walk by, try it!

Helpful?
Thank Rabbott1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Alamos
Level Contributor
75 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent martini bar!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

One of our group steered us to this hidden gem. It has a bit of an outlandish feel to it with slightly left of center decor but nothing offensive, more "cutting edge". The thing about this bar that makes it a step above the usual martini bar is the exceptional attention to their martinis. My husband struggles to find a martini that he feels meets the high standards set by Washington DC barkeeps, but this place would certainly be on his top ten list. The best part of it is the bartenders and waitresses bring new cold glasses for your martini, clearly recognizing how important martini temperature is in a wicked hot climate. We got a variety of appetizers which were good but not exceptional. The one note to management is the techno music is just a bit repetitive and loud if you are hanging out. We actually selected to move outside once the 108 degree temperature dropped slightly because we could not carry on a group conversation. I think we could have ignored the endless music back beat if we could have heard each other. Maybe just an issue at the bar? So my tip would be to go late at night once the temperature cools off so you can sit outside if you want to talk. The outside seats are not as comfortable as sitting inside, but there isn't any street noise and the service was still good.
Also of note, the bathrooms are "unique". You should probably ask staff to take you there. The gender signs are low, at floor level, and the doors are a bit hidden. As our evening progressed my girlfriend mentioned that she thought that the bathrooms were unisex since guys kept coming into the ladies room.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RestlessCindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed AZ 88 also viewed

 
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
Scottsdale, Central Arizona
 

Been to AZ 88? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing