We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip Hotel in Sleepy Scottsdale”
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Valley Ho
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 November 2011

On a business trip with hubby to Scottsdale I had some time to enjoy the hotel by myself. Like a lot of Western (American) cities, being without a car can leave you trapped. Not so much at the Valley Ho, the location is in walking distance to old town Scottsdale. As long as the weather is good... and late October is fabulous in the desert it was a great walking destination. The rooftop lounge area was a great location for a company retreat. Stunning views of the valley city below, open and yet intimate space, and excellent service.

The hotel is oh so retro and quite well done, having gone through a renovation in 2005, it is posh and polished and somewhat authentically mid-century modern. The hotel hosted the wedding of Robert Wagner and Natalie Wood in the 50's. It had a very adult vibe. Definitely a fun hotel for couples, groups, pets. The weekend we stayed there was a wedding in the round outside of our room.. that same afternoon a "hen party" was happening at the pool. The crowd was young, some in age, some in spirit. It seemed everyone was there to have an uninhibited good time.

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool, loud and less private... but it puts you right in the party scene..rooms in the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelhaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

I'm glad that you were able to enjoy the Downtown Scottsdale area on foot; it's definitely enjoyable in late October. I also like the views of the city from the rooftop. Thank you for your review. We hope to see you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,388 - 1,394 of 1,720 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2011

All I can say is the hotel itself is very nice. Love the soaps, love the gym, love the pool, love the tower rooms and they are very pet friendly...our Cavi loves the fresh citrus. Even the $4 weak drip coffee is ok ( considering your get free refills all day). But as a business traveler who has stayed in this hotel week after week, I simply could not take the arrogance of the staff any longer.
The last straw was how the front desk guy scoffed at my negotiated hotel rate.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jmdidday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

We are happy that you enjoyed the facility and the products that we offer, but are sorry to hear that you did not find our staff to be as accommodating as you would have liked. We normally receive very high marks for our service, and our staff really care about making all of our guests feel welcome. Would you mind elaborating more on that subject so we can rectify the situation? If you contact us, we would like to learn more about the issues you had and what we can do to make it better for you. We hope to have the chance to create a great experience for you. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I met a friend in Scottsdale for a get-a-way at the Hotel Valley Ho which a good friend had suggested. It's a busy place. Check-in was easy.We had a Studio King on the ground level. Big room with a great patio. We loved the over-sized bathtub in the middle of room. The lobby lounge and restaurant were great. Great food great drinks and great service. Spent some time at the pool with again great service and very friendly staff. Room service was quick, delicous and good. My only issue was with front desk staff being curt not eager to assist with much.

Room Tip: Tower rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrmcd52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Excellent choice with the Studio Guest Room - that's a fun one. I'm glad you enjoyed ZuZu and the lounge as well. I'm sorry to hear about the issue you had at the front desk. If you can elaborate, we'd like to address your concerns with our front desk team. Thank you for your review, and we hope to be welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

My girlfriends and I stayed at Hotel Valley Ho in June and had an absolute blast! This was our first trip to Scottsdale. We were looking for a good alternative to the usual Vegas trip, and this fit the bill perfectly! Scottsdale has everything...bars, restaurants, shopping, and SUN! We specifically picked HVH because of the hoppin' pool scene and were not disappointed. The weekends are a blast here. Lot's of girls trips, guys trips, couples, etc. It was somewhat quiet during the week, though so we feel that we got the best of both worlds.

HVH is conveniently located to the Old Town area. The trolley is convenient and taxis are abundant. We did rent a car for a couple of days so we could do some site seeing, though.

The draw of this resort is definitely the pool. But it is great for all age groups (with the exception of kids. I would not bring kids here). We are in our early 40's and we saw lots of people our age, lots of people in their 20's and 30's...and even in their 50's. The staff at the pool is on the ball. We were not disappointed. The food was great and the prices were fair.

I would like to say that it pays to shop around for your room rate. We talked to lots of people while we were there and there was a huge variance in rates. We got a great deal on our room and were perfectly pleased with our room and where it was located.

We, unfortunately, did not get a chance to try the spa, so I can't comment on that.

We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lisa4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

I'm glad that you and your girlfriends had a fun time with us this summer! The pool is definitely the place to be on weekends in the summer. I definitely recommend a visit to VH Spa next time you are here. Aside from relaxing treatments, we also offer fitness classes in our movement studio. You are welcome back anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

very cool and the tower rooms are the deal. Go for the mountain view.(really quite and great scenery) Great staff very comfortable. I was expecting Mick Jagger, or Steven Tyler to enter the place at any moment. It's that cool

Room Tip: mountain view, very quite great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m0vershaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I also like the tower rooms facing Camelback Mountain - great choice. Thank you for your review, and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

The hotel is super chic, renovated to maintian the retro style and decor. FABULOUS rooms, excellent pool and service by the pool, EXCELLENT service throughout the ENTIRE hotel. Everyone spoke to us with a smile, must be part of their culture. The spa had an open house on Thursday early evening, free mini treatments (nails, massage, etc). Excellent way to introduce us to the spa, we booked a massage and Howard was wonderful! He heated my robe so that it was cozy warm when I was all done! LOVED everythign about it and will ABSOLUTELY go back to visit! MIGHLY RECOMMEND this hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed in the rooms by the pool....they were beautiful! They had a private terrace and a big comfy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMachado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you had such a great experience! I also like the rooms by the pool. We hope to see you for another stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We are frequent, flexible people who LOVE traveling. Our stay at the Valley Ho was the worst experience we have ever had anywhere in the world. It was so incredibly loud all night none of us slept. There were people shouting obsceneties in the hallways for what seemed like the entire night. I had read other reviews about the pool party scene and called the hotel to find out if that was still the case before we booked and was told it wouldn't be loud or a big party scene. The pool was incredibly loud during the day but it was just the DJ not many people. The night time between 12 am and 5, the noise was terrible. Although the location is close to downtown Scottsdale this place is not worth it unless you want to stay up all night. We called the front desk the first night. On our third night we called two or three times, we should have left the first night. Have traveled all over the world and this was by far the worst experience ever. We couldn't wait to leave on Sunday and were totally exhausted when we got home from what was supposed to be a relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank SabineS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JesseThompson, Director of Sales at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2011

SabineS2,
We would love the opportunity to learn more about your stay and what we can do to improve. We host many social events at our property and believe it was a wedding party that may have caused these issues, but without your stay information we are unable to research the matter completely. If you could contact us with that information we would like to resolve the matter and hopefully have you back, to allow us the chance to provide you with a better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,531 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
W Scottsdale
#51 of 75 in Scottsdale
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Scott Resort & Spa
#30 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valley Ho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valley Ho

Address: 6850 E Main St, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-4399
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: £161 - £408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valley Ho 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valley Ho is a true icon in Downtown Scottsdale. Originally opened in 1956 and restored to its former splendor, this urban retreat blends mid-century-modern style with contemporary amenities. Every room has a private patio or balcony and floor-to-ceiling glass, perfect for enjoying Arizona's sunshine. Dine at ZuZu, relax at VH Spa for Vitality + Health, and take a dip in two cool pools. Call the hotel directly to get the best deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Valley Ho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Ho Hotel
Valley Ho Scottsdale
Hotel Valley Ho Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing