We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I spent four nights at...”
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Valley Ho
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“I spent four nights at...”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I spent four nights at Hotel Valley Ho as I was in Scottsdale for business, and I really enjoyed my stay. There is no shortage of great hotels and resorts in and around Scottsdale, but some are so enormous it feels like it takes days to find the exit, and eating breakfast is $30.

No so at Hotel Valley Ho, which is super stylish, but not painfully so, and with no attitude. The beds are comfortable, the rooms spacious (most with a balcony or fenced-porch), the public areas nicely decorated, and the restaurant quick and fairly priced. The pool is perfectly fine, though nothing elaborate, with chaise longues and great bar service. Parking is easy-- either valet or self-park.

The hotel is great for couples, solo and business travelers of all ages, especially those who want an easy walk to Scottsdale's shopping and restaurants. For families with kids, there are probably better choices with more activities for children, but I won't stay anywhere else now in Scottsdale.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brandt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. There is definitely a lot to do in Downtown Scottsdale. You can also enjoy free admission to SMoCA for two adults, free with your room key! Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,052
    427
    86
    34
    27
See reviews for
190
513
92
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed midweek in July so it was very quiet. The rooms are lovely, gorgeous bathrooms. We had a terrace that led on to a garden, very nice. Location is great for Old Town, Fashion Square mall and the free trolley. Didn't use the restaurant or encounter many staff so can't comment on these aspects.
I was disappointed with the pool - small, too much concrete. They closed the pool bar early as they said a storm was coming so there was not even access to iced water and no storm.
Got an excellent summer rate so good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
We appreciate your review! I'm sorry that the pool wasn't to your liking, and that we had to close early. I recall one date in July that there was a large dust storm coming in from the south. It didn't end up making it all the way to the hotel, but was headed this direction and definitely would have warranted a pool closure. Our staff needed time to secure all the umbrellas and other items to make sure that the wind did not cause damage. We are opening a second pool this fall, which may be more to your liking. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fargo, ND
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

My wife and I booked two stays for our 20th wedding anniversary; one 4-day stay in a suite, and a 1-day stay in their king room. Everyone from the valets to the concierge and desk attendants were outgoing, enthusiastic and so friendly. Be sure to book the hotel history tour with concierge Ace for a great time if you love mid-century modern architecture. (Plus, she's a complete hoot!)

And do valet park- $14 per day, but it makes it so luxurious to drive up and hop out into the hotel. trust me on this- you're not staying a the Super 8 here, treat yourself! Plus, the valet always has a free, cold bottle of water ready (just ask, but usually they'll offer on hot days). Heather and Sharon made our visits to the restaurants so fantastic as well; the bar staff was attentive and friendly too. David, the poolside bartender, makes a fantastic strawberry-banana smoothie. The spa was welcoming and so soothing- we had a 90 minute couples massage (look for their midweek spa specials).

I cannot stress enough how fantastic our experience was. We feel as if we have a new home away from home in Scottsdale. Thank you to the staff and management of the Hotel Valley Ho for making our anniversary trip one that we will always remember.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FargoMoreThanAMovie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
I'm glad we were able to help make your 20th anniversary so special! Ace is definitely fun and super knowledgeable about the history of the hotel and Scottsdale. We appreciate your comments, and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slower Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This hotel tops the list if you're looking for chic, laid back, comfortable, and tropical, with a genuine midcentury architectural pedigree. The rooms are perfect: a very spacious bedroom plus a gorgeous bathroom. Love the room-length counter for all your things, including a generous spot for luggage. Each room has a patio or a balcony for enjoying the green setting. They are one of the two most perfect hotel rooms I've stayed in worldwide. (The other is in Victoria, B.C.) Lunch on the restaurant's outdoor patio is lovely and relaxed (the tuna salad is my favorite), but inside works for breakfast. The hotel has a great, long bar and cocktail lounge. If design is important to you, you'll love it here. Downtown Scottsdale, including Old Town and the gallery area, is in walking distance. It's our preferred stop in Scottsdale.

Room Tip: We prefer the C rooms way in the back with ground-level patios. They are close to a parking area (to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaWilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
We appreciate your review! If you like checking out the Old Town area, we have bikes available for rent, and there's also a free trolley that stops in front of the hotel. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My friends stay there a lot! My first time staying was fun! Rooms were a good size if the weather was cooler the patio would be nice. The pool was a blast! DJ was good. It was a couple blocks from Scottsdale Rd...getting a cab wasn't a problem.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
I'm glad you enjoyed your time at the pool and the hotel! We appreciate your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Travelling solo I stayed here mid week for a couple of nights late June. The hotel is a great set up, with a very good pool, bar, restaurant. The rooms, whilst they look like a motel from outside, they are really much better inside, Overall a great hotel in which to explore Scottsdale from or hang out at the hotel by the pool and bar etc.. Really enjoyed Scottsdale and the Valley Ho...
highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matt l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for your comments! I'm not sure if you are aware, but there is a free Downtown Scottsdale trolley that stops right in front of the hotel. It's a great way to explore the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights and wished we could have stayed longer. This 50s-era hotel has managed to stay modern and vibrant. The rooms are very spacious and clean. The amenities are great. The room balcony was huge. Everyone on staff is courteous and helpful. The lounge is a great place to unwind at the end of the day. My only complaints are a limited and somewhat overpriced breakfast menu - and mandatory valet parking. Still, the overall value is strong. This is no cookie-cutter hotel. This is a unique property that offers visitors a special experience. We're planning on getting back to Scottsdale sometime soon - and we'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: A second floor room in the exterior corridor - near the pool - provides nice views toward Old Town S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TideTraveler98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
We appreciate your review! I will relay your comment about the breakfast menu to our restaurant manager. We do offer limited complimentary self parking, and I apologize if this was not clearly communicated to you. We hope to see you when you visit Scottsdale again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Scott Resort & Spa
#29 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,823 reviews
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valley Ho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valley Ho

Property: Hotel Valley Ho
Address: 6850 E Main St, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-4399
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valley Ho 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valley Ho is a true icon in Downtown Scottsdale. Originally opened in 1956 and restored to its former splendor, this urban retreat blends mid-century-modern style with contemporary amenities. Every room has a private patio or balcony and floor-to-ceiling glass, perfect for enjoying Arizona's sunshine. Dine at ZuZu, relax at VH Spa for Vitality + Health, and take a dip in two cool pools. Call the hotel directly to get the best deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Valley Ho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Ho Hotel
Valley Ho Scottsdale
Hotel Valley Ho Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing