We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love love love this place!”
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Valley Ho
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love love love this place!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Valley Ho for a conference recently and was impressed. The decor and layout is perfect, if you want a retro 60's vibe this is the place.

Take a walk around the grounds of the hotel. You'll be surprised how far it goes. Don't miss the second pool too, I didn't even notice it for the first day I was there.

Be sure to speak with Ace. She is the best concierge I have ever come across. She really knows the city and can make fantastic walking tour recommendations. It is clear she loves her job.

The outdoor fire pit is the perfect place for late night cocktails with friends. I love this hotel and plan to return!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davedelaney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JesseThompson, Director of Sales at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
davedelaney,
Thank you for your glowing review on Trip Advisor and we are so glad you were able to explore the property. Ace is one of our many team members that enjoy workng at such a unique and iconic property. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Hotel Valley Ho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    423
    86
    34
    27
See reviews for
187
504
91
471
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

Fantastic stay at the Ho. The decor is ultra cool and the pool is the best, as soon as you arrive you are greeted with a smile and a tall glass of ice water. You can order lunch poolside from the fantastic ZuZu restaurant. Beware, once you vacate your lounge chair, staff quickly clear away your towel allowing the next guest to enjoy, which I love! Staff were so helpful and attentive. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2013

When my company scheduled an event at Valley Ho, I thought "oh, no....that place was built WHEN?!" What a nice little surprise when I checked in. From the valet to the front desk, the accomodations to the pleasant and friendly staff - the entire experience was fantastic! The property has been tastefully decorated in an art-deco, boutique hotel style. My room was FAB! Check out room 304. You couldn't ask for more!!!

Room Tip: Select a west facing room for those awesome sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We appreciate your review! Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Stayed at the hotel for nearly a week on a business trip. I would highly recommend staying in the tower suites vs the other rooms. The rooms are nice, but the tower suites are much better for the price. The hotel is a contemporary retro theme, and what I really liked about this place, is that everybody who worked there seemed happy to work there. Everybody was surprisingly very pleasant!

The spa was okay, but not the best. For the price, it's pretty good though. Lots of promos for spa deals, so I would not pay full price for any treatments at the spa.

The best thing about this hotel is its close proximity to plenty of great restaurants, Old Scottsdale, Fashion Square, etc. The gym at this hotel is well stocked. The only thing it's missing is a pull-up bar. The gym even has kettlebells for people who enjoy workouts with them!

I'm usually more of a Four Seasons or Shangri-La type of guy, but the Hotel Valley Ho was not bad overall.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the tower. It's closer to everything, nicer, and not much more expensive than t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank victor t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
We appreciate your review, and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
211 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel had old world charm and was 5 minutes from Old Scottsdale. The restaurant, bar area, and pool were all enjoyable. The front desk staff was attentive and quick to help. Be aware of the noise factor if your room happens to be poolside, and also watch out for the iron bed frame on the platform kingsize bed that juts out from the mattress by several inches. Both my wife and I had cuts and bruises on our shins from banging into this hidden hazard. Hotel management upon checkout commented, "Well that's the way they designed it!"

Room Tip: Request a high floor in the tower where you have better views and don't have to deal with pool n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotch27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your review! I'm sorry that you bumped into the bed frame and got some bruises from that, hopefully nothing too bad. It is covered in fabric but does stick out from the bed a bit. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Authentic 50's style with all the new amenities. The rooms are spacious. The Staff is exceptional. Prices are reasonable, the beds are comfortable and the location is convenient. Robert Wagner and Natalie Wood were married here and original photos of the cake cutting are in the upstairs hallway. ZUZU restaurant is wonderful and the patio dining in the morning for breakfast is relaxing and enjoyable.

Room Tip: The tower has the views, but all of the rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very conscious but not obnoxious about it. All rooms are non smoking. Bathtub and shower in our room had a floating bathtub with a special charm. Patio areas are private and well furnished.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leighton R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
We appreciate your comments! I also love breakfast on the patio, especially this time of year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tucson
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This location, service and quality are perfect! The professional concierge, Judy, is a walking ambassador, full of information. She's a treasure sharing the fascinating history of the Valley Ho. She will take the time to personalize your experience. The staff is exceptional. The food and the rooms are great, and you can't beat the location. I have stayed several times and would stay here every time if possible. It's a gem and reasonably priced for the quality.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ventanaconcierge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
We appreciate your repeat business and glowing review! Isn't Judy the best? We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
5.0 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,438 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
5.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Scott Resort & Spa
The Scott Resort & Spa
#29 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,807 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#18 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,152 reviews
10.6 mi away
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valley Ho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valley Ho

Property: Hotel Valley Ho
Address: 6850 E Main St, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-4399
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valley Ho 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valley Ho is a true icon in Downtown Scottsdale. Originally opened in 1956 and restored to its former splendor, this urban retreat blends mid-century-modern style with contemporary amenities. Every room has a private patio or balcony and floor-to-ceiling glass, perfect for enjoying Arizona's sunshine. Dine at ZuZu, relax at VH Spa for Vitality + Health, and take a dip in two cool pools. Self-parking and basic internet are complimentary, and you'll never pay a resort fee. Call the hotel directly to get the best deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Valley Ho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Ho Hotel
Valley Ho Scottsdale
Hotel Valley Ho Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing