We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Way better than any name brand hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Valley Ho
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
141 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Way better than any name brand hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

I've stayed here a couple of times for work and it is a fantastic place if you are in Scottsdale. The hotel itself was built in 1957 and retains all the original charm about it. The architecture and furnishings are all retro to the 50's and 60's and staying here is like going back in time, in a good way. It is easy to imagine Frank Sinatra, Lucile Ball, Cary Grant, or any number of stars from that area hanging out by the pool or the bar.

The grounds themselves are amazing and the hotel consists of a tower with several two story buildings spread out around it. The rooms are spacious, have balconies that overlook the pool or grounds and are quite comfortable. And everywhere are fruit trees with oranges, lemons or limes growing while the air is fragrant with any number of flowering plants. The place is like a resort more than a hotel.

The pool is great with a bar and cabanas that can be rented or just sit out in the deck chairs that surround it, there is a spa in the hotel, the bar has an outdoor area with fire pits for the evenings, and there is a work out room that is much better than your average hotel.

Within about 1-3 blocks walk of the hotel are several good restaurants (not chains) so you don't have to get in the car to go somewhere if you don't want to eat at the hotel.

This place is not for somebody staying on a budget but the staff is very friendly and they will take care of you well during your stay.

Room Tip: Get a room in one of the two story detached buildings overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dave,

Thank you for your rave review! Our landscaping team does amazing work and I'm glad you like the grounds. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    995
    403
    82
    34
    27
See reviews for
177
480
90
459
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I just stayed for 4 nights by myself at the Valley Ho. It was a last minute shopping trip. I thought the whole experience was a good one. I was hesitant at first because I would normally book the Kimpton or W b/c I am familiar with them. The room rate was just too good and the reviews were all positive so I thought I would give it a shot. Recently, I stayed at the Standard in South Beach and the energy at this hotel reminded me a lot of the Standard. The front desk was great, the bartender was extremely personable as was the restaurant staff and all of the pool attendants. I had several treatments at the spa and that was also a very good experience. The nail tech Kati was a find so definitely request her. I had one snafoo with the concierge and enterprise rental car shuttle but the concierge desk fixed it immediately and sent me in a private car to the enterprise desk which was 1 mile away. The rental car was $40 per day through the hotel which was 1/4 of the daily rate of the airport car rentals. Enterprise picked up the car from the hotel so I could get a driver to the airport. I was traveling alone and was worried the hotel would be too loud with pool parties, etc. It was not too loud and the pool was not too vegas-esque. There were a few bachelorette groups at the pool, but there were also families, couples, and groups of men that were probably on golf trips (they were not trolling just reading their kindles). Bottom-line - everyone was just so NICE at this hotel (from the valet to the spa staff) and there was just great energy. I just kept thinking there would be a catch as this hotel was extremely reasonable in price in every way - including the restaurant prices and spa prices. And it was close to everything. Whoever is in charge of hiring the staff at this hotel is a rockstar. I would also recommend the sushi restaurant at the W - it was delicious.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WyomingMom3071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for your review! It's great to hear your comments about our staff. Many of them have been here for years, and they take a lot of pride in this place. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Confirmed 2 nights With AMX ... During my 2 day confirmed stay , I had an early morning flight scheduled to return in the evening . I arrived back to my room to find my suitcase and all belongings GONE . I called the front desk and was informed I had checked out . This was stated as I was seated in my room frantic that my belongings were missing . An assistant manager knocked on my door with my suitcase and toiletries . For my " inconvenience " he offered me a free breakfast with a limit of $ 20.00.
This hotel is lacking in elegance . It's a cutesy trendy motel that treats guests rudely .
The Royal Palm would never make a horrible mistake like this and then offer a measly breakfast with a limit !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
I apologize for the mix-up that happened with your luggage. While you were departing from the hotel at 5:00 a.m. after the first night of your two-night stay, our front desk agent attempted to ask you if you would be staying the second night or only one night. There was some confusion since you were departing to catch a flight. As you were in a hurry, the agent was not able to obtain that information from you. We tried to reach you several times that day and had not heard from you by 8:00 p.m. We then checked you out of the room to ensure that you were not charged for the second night, since we weren’t sure if you would be staying and did not want you to be charged for something you potentially would not need. Upon your return to the hotel, we returned the luggage to the room within five minutes. In addition to the complimentary breakfast, we provided a 50% discount on the second night of your stay in order to make up for the inconvenience you experienced. I am sorry that your luggage was removed from the room, but we promptly returned the luggage and worked to make things right. I hope that you otherwise had a comfortable and pleasant stay at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodside, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

had scheduled a medical conference at the Camelback Inn (mariott), but decided i wanted to stay somewhere more fun. am a married 52-year-old female travelling alone on business, who likes energy, rather than staid, uptight settings.
the valley ho was great. i think i remember seeing it featured in either the AAA or sunset magazine, and thought i'd give it a try.
the vibe was good. a wedding or 2 was happening, as was the "haunted hotel" halloween party.
it was nice to feel like the hotel was "alive" with lots of people having a good time.
the atmosphere made me feel that i should see Dean and Sammy and Frank walking around with martinis in-hand.
the hotel has the perfect 50's retro feel.
the pool scene was fun but mellow.
i felt comfortable eating alone at the restaurant, which was just ok, but a nice indoor-outdoor location.
my "basic" 2-double bed room was huge and had a tub and a shower, and a balcony which opened to a courtyard with a fountain.
the bed was very comfortable, the room quiet, even though there was a halloween party going on.
as a single female traveler, i felt very at home and felt the price was very good for the amenities.
although i didn't take advantage, the hotel has bikes for hire, it's within walking to old town scottsdale, and is very comfortable for hanging out and not leaving, if that's your purpose for getting away.
kudos to the restaurant, which promptly returned my credit card to me after i'd forgotten it when i'd paid my bill.

Room Tip: if you're interested in a view, call the hotel. my room's entry door looked out to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lquerimit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thanks for choosing Hotel Valley Ho! There's definitely a lot to do in Downtown Scottsdale if you have the time for it. Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Remember the good old days? They still exist at the Valley Ho. This pristine property recaptures midcentury coolness in a fresh way. The rooms are spacious, fun and the bathroom is airy with its opaque glass and subway tile shower and separate deep bathtub. The staff is exceptionally friendly and accommodating. The outdoor dining patio is relaxing and food delicious with many homemade offerings. Since we were here on business, it was greatly appreciated how the hotel managed so many large groups, kept them separate, and maintained a charming low key boutique hotel atmosphere. Also appreciated the easy walking to nearby galleries, restaurants and gift shops.

Room Tip: Preview the hotel's layout to insure you get the appropriate location for your room. Families m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TOCazzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
We appreciate your review! Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
251 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I loved this little quirky hotel! It was originally built in the 50's or 60's but has been completely renovated to all the modern amenities but they retained all the charm of that era. The rooms have balconies - I sat outside for an hour before bed and just listened and watched the starts. The rooms are large and the bed was great. I didn't eat at the restaurant but the menu looked good. Only downside was the wine and beer choices at the bar. None of the house wines were very good. The bar itself is great though - right out of the Jetson's! I'll definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us! We frequently update our wine and beer list, and will evaluate our current offerings to see if there are any new items we may add. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This property is very unique and special. The hotel was built in the Sinatra-era 60's, and the restoration design remains faithful to the era, with an upscale twist. Pool and cabana areas are phenomenal. Weekends with a DJ at the pool draw the party crowd.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JesseThompson, Director of Sales at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Susan M.,
Thank you for your great review on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the design and style of the property and hope that you can return again soon.
Hotel Valley Ho
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
5.0 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Scottsdale/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Scott Resort & Spa
The Scott Resort & Spa
#28 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
10.6 mi away
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valley Ho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valley Ho

Property: Hotel Valley Ho
Address: 6850 E Main St, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-4399
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#3 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valley Ho 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valley Ho is a true icon in Downtown Scottsdale. Originally opened in 1956 and restored to its former splendor, this urban retreat blends mid-century-modern style with contemporary amenities. Every room has a private patio or balcony and floor-to-ceiling glass, perfect for enjoying Arizona's sunshine. Dine at ZuZu, relax at VH Spa for Vitality + Health, and take a dip in two cool pools. Self-parking and basic internet are complimentary, and you'll never pay a resort fee. Call the hotel directly to get the best deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Valley Ho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Ho Hotel
Valley Ho Scottsdale
Hotel Valley Ho Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing