We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Valley Ho
Ranked #7 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Food at the restaurant is excellent, nice bar and pool, good ambience in general. Very good bed and linen, calm and comfy big room. loved the bath products! Good wi-fi, mini bar and room service,
walking distance to others restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank microber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

We appreciate your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

978 - 984 of 1,681 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed here over the Christmas holidays and we expected a regular
Hotel experience. We found the Valley Ho to be much better. Although
It's an old hotel that has been updated, everything was done "top shelf".
Rooms were clean, and extremely well planned. The restaurant and
adjoining bar area was pleasant and food was well worth the price.
I will stay at the Valley Ho anytime I am in Scottsdale.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Edward O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2013

I'm pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay at the hotel. We hope to see you in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

very nice if you are in the newer rooms. the history is great and I understand that butt hey could still upgrade the older part more tastefully. the older rooms have a bathroom basically in the middle of the room. they have put a non see through glass around it and have a very nice soaker tub. separate shower. and closed toilet area. nice idea but could still use some sprucing up considering what your paying. the grounds are beautiful and the restaurant Zulu is very nice. I highly recommend the gala burger! the breakfast parfait is also fantastic! oh yeah, so is the stuffed French toast!the upgraded rooms are beautiful especially the ones int he tower. I would go again but I would upgrade if y can afford it.

Room Tip: do your research on the room styles!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2013

I'm sorry you did not like your Studio Guest Room, which has an open-style bathroom. Curtains can be used to fully enclose the bathroom area and offer more privacy. We have 21 of these rooms, and we make guests aware of the room layout through all photos and descriptions so that the open floor plan is not a surprise. The rest of our rooms have traditional-style bathrooms. I recommend one of those rooms if you prefer that type of layout. Our Signature Guest Rooms offer the best rate, and if you like The Tower, the Tower Signature Guest Rooms are actually offered at a lower rate than Studio Guest Rooms (with a traditional-style bathroom). We hope you will consider another stay. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I checked in and they made me feel like I was home. This super cool retro hotel was right out of the 50's but with a modern twist. I was there for a week and the staff could not have been more friendly. Even the landscaper Rueben was engaging with the guests. Room was super clean and love the products in the room (shampoo, conditioner, soap). Great looking property and if you get the chance to stay in Scottsdale stay here if you like fun and different.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sedona2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Thank you for your comments! The in-room amenities are made by red flower; they created a scent just for us. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We really did love this place.

We checked in having no reservations. We wanted a place to stay in the Old Scottsdale area and we had seen an ad for this hotel in the Desert Botanical Gardens brochure.

We were greeted by the valets, who were pleasant. And everyone, and I mean everyone, we encountered from then on was also pleasant, helpful and friendly. From the front-desk people to the serving staff in the restaurant and lounge, to the cleaners, and including the wonderful concierge.

Initially we checked in for one night, but we extended it two nights because we liked it so much.

We were impressed with the renovation and decor. We loved the style of the place. We were given a room with a patio - both the room and the patio were very comfortable. The entire place was super clean, the beds were comfortable, the amenities were great.

What we also liked was the proximity to Old Scottsdale and the gallery areas there. We walked there a number of times - taking different streets, searching out stores and coffee places. And there are a ton of restaurants in the area.

We ate a bite at the lounge one night and also ate Thanksgiving dinner there. Since we figured not much would be open for Thanksgiving, we made a reservation there, had the traditional thanksgiving dinner, and found it to be a terrific meal. We were only sorry we didn't have any room for dessert!

Don't know what the prices are like the rest of the year - we were there in November and found the price for the room and for the meals to be quite reasonable.

We would stay there again, for sure and will recommend it to our friends.

Room Tip: If you get the second floor, you don't have anybody clodding above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank readytoretirecalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

I'm so glad you enjoyed your time at the hotel! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Great location. Restaurants in walking distance. Room was spacious. End suite had superb views and wrap around patio. Lots of scratchy towels. Large shower and tub. 2 baths in suite. Shortage of trash can. The bed was comfy if a bit low to the ground. No top sheet just duvet(?)
A refrigerator would have been nice. Staff accommodating and pleasant. Staff helpful with directions even if not always correct.
The dog friendly aspect of the place put me off. I would not want to occupy a room that has been previously used by a large dog.

Room Tip: wings 5 and 6 are far from the lobby, which we liked.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dabney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for your review! I apologize for the scratchy towels; we just purchased new stock and are replacing our inventory to make sure that all towels are soft and luxurious. Our standard linen setup includes a duvet with removable cover, though a flat sheet can be provided upon request. We also have mini refrigerators available upon request, for a small fee. While we are pet friendly, we generally do not place pets in our Tower rooms, so you may prefer one of those.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Okay, to start off on a positive note, it has a neat vibe, cool architecture and is trendy. The place is well organized, neat and clean. Enough said. We arrived late (I had called ahead to let them know) and as it turned out, the airline lost our luggage.
Once in the room (nice airy rooms, spacious, nice boutiquey layout), we had only one bathrobe (we had no clothes and need to do a quick wash and some patching). I went down to the front desk to ask for a spare robe (we had NOTHING to sleep in) and was told that their house-cleaning staff had locked the supplies up for the night and nothing was available. I thought on the spot, hey, what about the other rooms? any spare bathrobes?? reception stated that the hotel was fully booked (it wasn't as the two rooms on either side of us were empty and I looked online and rooms were still available). Strike 1. I asked if they had a spare sewing kit. Nope, sorry, all out. Strike 2. There was no strike three but I found the night staff a wee bit on the lazy side and frankly couldn't care less. There was a party in full swing on the ground floor and to add insult to injury, some drunk 20 somethings (felt like a hook up joint) spilt beer accidentally on my only set of clothes for the next 4 days (finally our luggage caught up with us). So, a neat place that could be a great place if some of the staff actually gave a rat's behind about their clientele.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelJunkie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. We can always offer to dry clean clothing if it is soiled by another guest. We normally have one robe in each room, with additional robes available upon request. Our front desk agent absolutely should have called security to gain access to the housekeeping area to get another robe and a sewing kit, and I'm sorry that he or she did not do this. We have had some new employees at the front desk and I apologize that the service was clearly lacking. This is not representative of the way that we take care of our guests. I'm not sure if the party you are referring to was in a guest room, but we have a no-party policy for our guest rooms and security always handles noise complaints to ensure that all guests can sleep well. I apologize that we did not live up to your expectations and hope you will consider another visit to the hotel so we can show you what our service is all about.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
The Scott Resort & Spa
#29 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valley Ho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valley Ho

Address: 6850 E Main St, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-4399
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: £124 - £394 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valley Ho 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valley Ho is a true icon in Downtown Scottsdale. Originally opened in 1956 and restored to its former splendor, this urban retreat blends mid-century-modern style with contemporary amenities. Every room has a private patio or balcony and floor-to-ceiling glass, perfect for enjoying Arizona's sunshine. Dine at ZuZu, relax at VH Spa for Vitality + Health, and take a dip in two cool pools. Call the hotel directly to get the best deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Valley Ho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Ho Hotel
Valley Ho Scottsdale
Hotel Valley Ho Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing