We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Visit to the Hotel Valley Ho”
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Valley Ho
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Pewaukee, WIsconsin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Another Great Visit to the Hotel Valley Ho”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was my second time visiting the Hotel Valley Ho in downtown Scottsdale in the middle of March. The purpose of the trip was to get out of the cold weather and to enjoy a couple spring training baseball games. This is a really cool hotel located in a great area. We were in a tower room with a balcony overlooking the pool area...room 303 to be exact. The room is nicely laid out with retro furniture, a modern funky bathroom and a nice balcony overlooking the pool and the morning sun. The balcony was a great place to sit in the sun, drink a coffee and real the newspaper.

The pool area is awesome. Great people watching spot. Food and drink service was excellent. The waitresses even keep you supplied with ice water even if you aren't buying anything. Plenty of chaise lounges. Only negative is that the sun ducks behind the building pretty early this time of year and things cool off a bit.

There is a big long bar with a restaurant that includes an outside patio area. Nice food and service. Again, the outside area is a nice place to have a bite to eat for breakfast, lunch or dinner.

The maid service, valet parking guys and the concierge service are all top notch. We used the concierge service extensively with great success. She would print out maps and made great dinner recommendations. We had massages and facials in the spa which were great. The spa also loans out bicycles which we took advantage of.

The location of this hotel on the edge of downtown Scottsdale/Arts district are fantastic if you like to walk. There are many bars, restaurants and shops to walk that are less than a mile away. Location is outstanding. You don't need to take out the rental car or call a cab if you are willing to walk a bit.

I would highly recommend the Segway Tour which is run by Scottsdale Segway Tours. We had a private tour with Todd of the downtown area of Scottsdale. He gave an amazing tour of the area. He was very knowledgeable and safely oriented. Scottsdale has many neat areas to see on this tour. The tour company will send you a bunch of pictures of yourself while on the tour. Can't say enough about this company!!

Room Tip: I really like the tower rooms over looking the pool which have early morning sun. The elevator goes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wisconsintom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Wow, thank you for your review! We hope to see you again next spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,035
    424
    86
    34
    27
See reviews for
187
504
91
472
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rosemary Beach, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I really love this hotel. I have stayed here many times, and each time it is a relaxing treat! The landscaping and grassy expanses make it feel like a true resort but not as wildly oversized as some can be. The rooms are large, unusually fun and very clean. We ordered breakfast most every day and ate on the lovely patio outside our room. Last year, I had the pleasure of staying in a Terrace Suite - if you can swing it, go for it. It is spacious and breezy with such an amazing deck that you may not want to leave the hotel.

Room Tip: If you prefer a quieter experience, ask to stay away from the pool and probably not in the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for the feedback! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
281 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I stayed at the Valley Ho for a business meeting, and enjoyed nearly every aspect of it. I’m a true road warrior, and this hotel was a welcomed change from the cookie-cutter corporate hotels – a real throwback to the ‘60s down to the hanging lamps, tile floors, chrome fixtures, and period color schemes. The furnishings and ambiance are everything I barely remember from that decade!

My first-floor room in the 4 building was huge, with a correspondingly huge bathtub right in the middle of the room. The platform bed was low, but comfortable, with great pillows. The HDTV, a/c, and high-speed internet (included in room rate) all worked perfectly. There’s a mini-bar in the room, in-room coffee maker, and lots of counter space. A good-sized shower stall and ample sink and counter filled one corner of the room. The patio featured a lounge chair, chair, and small table, overlooking a nicely manicured lawn.

The grounds are meticulously maintained, with flowers and plants everywhere. The staff are also a highlight – attentive, friendly, and helpful.

For amenities, there’s a good-sized exercise room, small business center, free newspapers each morning. The restaurant is good, and there are a handful of unique, non-chain restaurants right outside the front of the hotel.

It’s not the Ritz, but it will give you a fun and memorable stay. Try it!

Room Tip: Request a first floor poolside room - great patio, super views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louis59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your review! I hope you had some time to enjoy Downtown Scottsdale while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I truly depend on reviews I read from Trip Advisor but to be honest don't take the time to write one as often as I should. That being said, this time I had to. This Hotel was so great that anyone staying in Scottsdale should just be sure and stay here as often as possible . Loved every aspect of it but was particularly fascinated by how adaptable it is to various ages, groups, etc. whether you find yourself here for medical, sports, business , or simply a fun getaway. . It seemed to attract every age, interest and scenario. The food was outstanding . The entire Hotel was so classy and fun. We stayed in a Tower Suite and it was simply great. Loved our balcony !!!! We are older so we have stayed many places around the world. Stay here, eat here, and come back often. We plan to!!!!!

Room Tip: Tower Suite 503, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texgrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Wow, we appreciate your feedback! Thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I don't get it. The place is old. The hallways throughout the buildings are filthy. Stained carpet. Grounds are very nice. Food is average. Rooms are bizarre. Tub in the middle of the room. Shower with glass door facing bed. Just odd.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank GLBTtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
I’m sorry you did not like the hotel. It was built in 1956 and fully restored for $80 million in 2005, with many updates since then. We constantly update paint, carpet, and furnishings, so please let us know what areas may need attention. The room you stayed in is our Studio Guest Room; we have 21 of these. It’s an open, unique floor plan. All of our other rooms have more traditional-style bathrooms that may be more to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

My husband and I and our 2 Westhighland Terriers recently stayed at Valley Ho and had a great time. We had a nice room with a patio which led to a grassy area for the dogs to play on. The hotel delivered water and food bowls for each dog and their own bag of biscuits and pooh bags :) We also requested a microwave and fridge for our room, which were delivered as promised and in good working order. Everyone from the reservation agent, front desk associate to housekeeping were friendly, responsive and seemed to genuinely care about the hotel guests. We are also Vegan and the onsite restaurant, ZUZU had some good options for us, Kale salad, a tofu dish and a type of squash - really delicious - it was so good in fact we had dinner again there the second night even though there are so many good restaurants within walking distance. That is the other great thing about Valley Ho - we left our car parked and walked everywhere. There were a few doggie daycare places close by so the dogs got to play there while we enjoyed a few baseball games during the day. We will definitely try for a repeat next year. Thank you Valley Ho!

Room Tip: Building 3 was great for us with the dogs - close to the parking lot and an ample grassy area for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
I'm glad that you and your dogs enjoyed your stay! If you return next year, you can also check out the free trolley that stops right in front of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel with large bar/restaurant indoor/outdoor area and a large pool (although I only saw it at night).
Everything was fine except a massive party was taking place in a room on my floor until relatively late. Otherwise good location close to the airport and the main shopping areas.

Perfectly fine for a short stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank francoisk114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
I'm very sorry that you were disturbed by noise from another room. We do have a no-party policy for our guest rooms, and we actively handle any noise complaints to ensure that guests can get a good night's sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
5.0 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,438 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
5.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Scott Resort & Spa
The Scott Resort & Spa
#29 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,807 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#18 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,152 reviews
10.6 mi away
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valley Ho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valley Ho

Property: Hotel Valley Ho
Address: 6850 E Main St, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-4399
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valley Ho 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valley Ho is a true icon in Downtown Scottsdale. Originally opened in 1956 and restored to its former splendor, this urban retreat blends mid-century-modern style with contemporary amenities. Every room has a private patio or balcony and floor-to-ceiling glass, perfect for enjoying Arizona's sunshine. Dine at ZuZu, relax at VH Spa for Vitality + Health, and take a dip in two cool pools. Self-parking and basic internet are complimentary, and you'll never pay a resort fee. Call the hotel directly to get the best deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Valley Ho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Ho Hotel
Valley Ho Scottsdale
Hotel Valley Ho Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing