We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Valley Ho
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Just stayed there over the weekend on business. Great concept and really enjoyed the room. The staff were very friendly and eager to help. This hotel is known for its weekend pool parties. So it may not be for someone looking for quiet relation. If you want to be around a fun crowd this is the place. I would come back again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Awb7bar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
We appreciate your review! In the summer, we do have a live band at the OH Pool on Fridays (already concluded), and a DJ on Saturdays. The pool and hotel tend to be quieter on summer weekdays, and in non-summer months. We also added a new relaxation pool. We hope we'll see you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,050
    427
    86
    34
    27
See reviews for
190
511
92
475
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel for events, on business travel, and just stayed the weekend as a stay-cation get-away. The hotels location, Oldtown Scottsdale, is top notch, but it is the Team Members that always make the difference each and every time I've stayed here. The Housekeepers are just as friendly as the Valet and Front Desk Staff. That is remarkable. The "norm" in a hotel, to my experiences, is to have housekeeping ignore or hide from any sort of interaction, but the Valley Ho Housekeepers look at you, smile and make a pleasant greeting. I will definitely return, hopefully its for pleasure and not just business!

Room Tip: If you plan to spend the majority of your time at the pool, then spend for the Cabana King. If roma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaverB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your review! We love hearing that kind of feedback on our staff. Many of them have been here since we reopened in 2005, and we truly love what we do. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Perfect stay. Desk staff, restaurant and spa staff are all amazing, really friendly, helpful and accommodating, and seem to genuinely want you to be happy. Delicious food at ZuZu. Pool scene is fun and happy, even in sweltering July heat. Complimentary Red Flower soap, lotion, bath gel, shampoo and conditioner are fantastic. Don't hesitate to book this place.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julie_from_hb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
We appreciate your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My girlfriend and I were blown away with the customer service and overall friendliness of the staff. We had an issue with our AC in our room they were quick to come and resolve the problem and gave us a different room the next day no questions asked. They are LBGT friendly and that meant a lot to us. Can't wait for another weekend getaway at the Valley Ho!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chunkamonk79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
I'm sorry your first room had an AC problem, but glad we were able to quickly resolve the problem for you. Hopefully we'll see you again in 2015!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Quick summary: we would go back, it was clean, service was great, people were friendly, and we enjoyed every second of our stay. if you haven't been here, or to old town scottsdale, you owe it to yourself to at least give it a try!

We just got back from a 4 day stay at the Hotel Valley Ho. Didn't have much to go from other then these reviews and the hotel photos! Hands down, this hotel is FAR nicer then any moderately priced hotel chain I have stayed in within the states. It doesn't look like much when you first pull up, but as soon as you walk in, you instantly feel like you just stepped into a resort, not just a hotel.

The decor and vibe of this hotel is retro chic to perfection. And it is very calming and relaxing.

When we checked in, we were originally in a room on the first floor facing the main road to the hotel. Not being comfortable being on the first floor, Benjamin at the front desk was sure to quickly accommodate us and put us in a new room on the second floor facing their new serenity pool. It was perfect. And it was great that we were able to move our room so quickly. Thanks Benjamin, we appreciate your help and hospitality when you checked us in!

The room, we had a signature double room, it was excellent. Beds were comfortable, room was pristine, bathroom was beautiful. And it had a great sized patio (looked like all the rooms did). The room was clean, bright and welcoming. The hotel soaps also smelt pretty good as well!

We only ate breakfast at the restaurant, but it was very good! it looked like they did have a great menu for other meals, and again, the atmosphere was great.

The pools were great. We did spend a lot of time at the main pool, and the service was great, everyone has a smile on their face, and they had a lot of drink options and a full bar situated in the back. Many of the guests and locals told us the pool becomes a very fun place to be on the weekends! Wish we were there for a pool party.

We had not been to PHX before, but the location was great. We were able to get to all of the locations that we wanted to quickly.

We didn't use the spa, so we are not sure what it is like, maybe next time.

I wish we had known there was a roof top, prior to right before we left! During our time at the pool we looked up and noticed there was a roof top, so we went up to the 8th floor of the tower, and spent a few minutes before we left! The view was awesome! The hotel really needs to utilize that space! It didn't look like there was a bar, but it would be a cool place to relax after the sun goes down! and had a great view of camelback.

Thanks for a great stay! We hope to be back soon1

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you so much for your review! We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Picked this place in a very random way, just needed something in Scottsdale near (walking distance) to food and fun. We won!

We stayed 3 nights in July. Each night we walked to things in the area to eat and catch the free trolly around town. Please note, the trolly only runs till 6pm…that is something that could use some tweaking. Loved all the restaurants and shops nearby, the staff on site was great. I would consider not valet parking my car next time ( due to price.) The staff was great. Valet service was helpful and polite and room service ROCKED MY WORLD. They did not have eggs benny on the menu, but I wrote in a request on the slip that you hang on the door….
Boom! 747 am ( my requested time…wanted to see if they were into details) the best eggs benny I have had.

I loved this hotel, and can't say enough about the attention to detail that they go to! 60's vibe , not just paint and lights…its the whole package.

Room Tip: get the one with the tub in the middle of the room!
See more room tips
Green Features: great, I guess… I didn't shake down the trash can.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckjonesone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
It sounds like you had a great time in Scottsdale! Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I love this hotel! Before I'd ever even spent a night there, I was in love with its chic, retro vibe.

The Valley Ho sits a few blocks west of the thick of Scottsdale, and from the outside, it looks like it survived a time warp from the 1960s. But once you are there, you know that really, YOU are in the center of all that matters about Scottsdale. From the sophisticated décor to the super-cool and inclusive staff, as long as you are in this hotel, you clearly belong now to the A-list. You just know. And then you see the great, party scene at the pool. And the killer happy hour in the lobby. And a room that would please a star from "Old Hollywood". And you don't want to leave.

I first discovered The Hotel Valley Ho when its lobby happy hour topped a list of the best in Phoenix. That list did not lie. The brilliantly decorated lobby is sumptuous and serpentine, winding around from reception to the restaurant and flanked by openings to the inviting courtyard. Drinks were inventive and refreshing. The most amazing item though has to be the Prime Rib French Dip on a baguette. I like just making a dinner out of that. They must have over a dozen food and drink items on their Happy Hour menu...all for $6 each.

Their conference facilities are nice too. The conference rooms open on to a private large courtyard with lots of comfortable outdoor furniture.

And once, we saw a wedding taking place on the rooftop of their tower. What a great venue!

Room Tip: While the common areas are lively, the rooms are wonderfully quiet. Our room had a pool view and st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GraniteRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin_Heggli, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Wow, thank you so much for your review! I hope we'll see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Scott Resort & Spa
#29 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,823 reviews
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valley Ho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valley Ho

Property: Hotel Valley Ho
Address: 6850 E Main St, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-4399
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valley Ho 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valley Ho is a true icon in Downtown Scottsdale. Originally opened in 1956 and restored to its former splendor, this urban retreat blends mid-century-modern style with contemporary amenities. Every room has a private patio or balcony and floor-to-ceiling glass, perfect for enjoying Arizona's sunshine. Dine at ZuZu, relax at VH Spa for Vitality + Health, and take a dip in two cool pools. Call the hotel directly to get the best deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Preferred Hotels, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Valley Ho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Ho Hotel
Valley Ho Scottsdale
Hotel Valley Ho Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing