We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel, not so fantastic guests”
Review of Hotel Valley Ho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hotel Valley Ho
Ranked #6 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tucson, aZ
1 review
“Fantastic hotel, not so fantastic guests”
Reviewed 2 June 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Valley Ho for our anniversary. The rooms, the service from the staff and the restaurants were outstanding. Also, being able to bring out two dogs was fab. The concierge recommended a great pet-sitter for our long venture out Sunday afternoon, well worth the price. Overall it was fun, but, here's the downside. I understand why we had to sign the "pet policy" to keep our pets well behaved and quiet as not to disturb the other guests, but, there should have been a policy (and a $100 charge) for some of the humans staying there that distrubed our stay. Our dogs were more well behaved than some of the guests. 3 am in the morning and there was some loudmouth on their patio next to us screaming at the top of his lungs and then in the morning on the lawn, beer bottles and plastic cups littered the front of their patio (which we picked up after seeing them there all day). Luckily the rest of our stay was great, and I did note that on Monday the clientele seemed to change.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Balderston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,026
    418
    85
    34
    26
See reviews for
186
497
91
469
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2010

My husband and I are from CA. We decided to support Arizona by celebrating our one year anniversary there. A designer friend of mine told me about Hotel Valley Ho, so I did some research on it, loved the website, and booked it right away.
When we pulled up to the hotel we could hear the music pounding from inside the car. As we walked into the lobby our energy level rose and we were ready to party! From the interior design, to the staff, to the guests, this hotel was built around fun and style!
Our room was sooooo charming! White painted brick walls, mood lighting in the bathroom, fun mid-century modern design, it was perfect! We were on the first floor and had a patio with an over-sized lounge chair that we both cuddled up on and table and chairs to eat at. There was a DJ at the pool, who played lots of great music, which we could hear from our room. The Lakers/Suns game came on, so we stayed in our room, ordered room service and listened to music all at the same time!
The location is ideal! We were able to walk to all the bars and restaurants and felt like were in the heart of the city!
It's definitely a hotel we'd go back to. Great for a girlfriends trip, boys trip, or getaway with your significant other. Loved every minute!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MindyAnn2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawnee Mission, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

This hotel is lots of fun and is reminiscent of a Mexican spring break trip. The service and the atmosphere was a huge party. Those looking for a quiet and restful weekend should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeahAKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
224 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

I really wanted to love this hotel after seeing the pictures, and I did love its retro design, but a lot of little problems made me feel as if this hotel had just opened and was still working out its kinks. For example:

- I tried to modify two different reservations online using their web site, and all I ever got was “Transaction Error: Reservation does not exist”. Wish they would fix this, but okay, back to the old-fashioned retro phone method…
- I modified my reservation by phone, and they mailed me an unreadable (corrupt?) PDF attachment as confirmation. And yes, my email app usually does handle PDFs just fine.
- When we drove up to the hotel- surprise! Parking is valet, and it’s twelve bucks a night. Funny, that wasn’t mentioned anywhere on the web site or in the first confirmation email. Harrumph.
- Up in our room, we found plenty of information about the hotel spa and restaurants, but no information about the hotel itself. For example, we had an ice bucket, but no ice machine on our floor, and no information about where it might be located. The receptionist told us we’re supposed to get ice from the bartender. The surprised bartender told us there was actually an ice machine outside on the first floor. Aha! Problem solved, but we’re starting to feel like idiots here.
- Another question that a hotel information sheet would answer: what hours is the pool open? It would be nice if this was at least posted on the gate outside the pool area, but we never found out and never got around to using the pool.
- We opened one of the snacks in our mini-bar, and it was inedible- it had some kind of foul smell, as if it had been left out in the sun for some time. Luckily we found a convenience store nearby for snacks.

Our Tower Signature room was also rather noisy for some reason- I think we could hear running water from other rooms, or perhaps it was the air conditioning system. And, having requested a high floor in the Tower, they put us on the lowest (third) floor. Not a huge problem, but surprising since the hotel didn’t seem anywhere close to full. From our side of the Tower we had a nice view of Camelback Mountain, but looking down we had a not-so-nice view of trash, bins, and restaurant equipment. Okay, maybe we shouldn’t have paid more for a Tower room.

On the other hand, here’s what I liked about the hotel:

- Loved the design of the room and the lobby- very, very cool, especially the bathroom with the blue light over the bathtub and the tile in the shower. Our room was also large and very comfortable.
- Loved the toiletries. Definitely worth the room in my suitcase.
- Free wi-fi- ‘nuf said.
- The staff was without exception smiling, friendly, and happy to help with anything or answer any questions. Major points for that.
- Great location: a short walk to Old Town Scottsdale and many restaurants (eat at The Mission! You won’t be sorry!) There’s a handy convenience store just a block away on Indian School Rd and 69th Str.
- Good value compared to other hotels in the area, and the price dropped even lower as our stay approached.
- Quiet and uncrowded on a weekday (although spring break may be different)

Overall though, staying here was a frustrating experience, and we’ll probably look elsewhere next time.

Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank travelerfromsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2010

We LOVED the Ho! Come to Scottsdale, stay at the Ho, and have a great time. This will be the most unabashedly exuberant review I have ever posted.
The hotel has a hip retro look. I want their interior designer to come to my house. Staff was friendly and helpful the whole time. Anytime I called and asked for something, the response was "no problem", and it was taken care of.
We were upgraded to a larger room when we checked in. Room was spacious, bed was comfy, and finally, a hotel room with enough lighting. You could light up the room like Dodger's Stadium if you wanted to. There was a private patio with a lounge chair.
Room was really clean, linens were soft, and towels were plush. My only complaint - just one bathrobe for the room. Room had a fresh pleasant smell. Full bar set up for mixing cocktails or martinis! (Plenty of hangars, in-room safe, lots of countertop space, lots of mirrors,mini-bar,free wi-fi)
The hotel bar is fun, with happy hour specials. The pool is like mini-Vegas, has two separate hot tubs and seems to be open to guests 24 hours. Old Town Scottsdale, with many good restaurants, starts 2 blocks from the hotel. Trader Vic's shares the parking lot, with happy hour specials, full menu, and live bands.
The hotel complex is rather sprawling, like the older Hawaii hotels. There is one tower, otherwise the hotel is comprised of two-story wings with large,nicely landscaped yards in between them.
The spa is nicely done,there is a good hotel gym, and the woman who runs the gift shop is super nice and has helpful recommendations.
This is now my favorite hotel. I would not recommend it for children - there is nothing kid-friendly here. It's aimed squarely at adults.
Happy travels!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aqp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Long story but I will keep it short. I just stayed at the Valley Ho last weekend with a big group of friends and we had a good time. The rooms are average sized but the patio is large (downstairs) and the bathrooms are really nice (art deco). Oh, dont change with the curtains open, you can see through the fence on the patio really easy. The pool has a Vegas Rehab feel on the weekend with loud live DJ, bar service, younger guys and girls crowd and cabanas. Unfortunately members of my group were a little intoxicated and became too loud for the securitys liking. 2 of our friends were tackled and hog tied (legs and hands behind them tied together) and carried through the front to a awating police car outside. I thought it was a little too much, my boys could have been just asked to go to their rooms to sleep it off but whatever. But then it happened again to another group of people in the lobby. Security tackled a guy and hog tied him too. So if you are looking for a smaller hotel with a great pool party atmosphere like Vegas, then this place is it. But dont anger the staff. Rooms are a bit pricy plus they throw in a "Liesure Accommodations Fee" for $50 a night if you have more then 2 people in a room which they didnt tell us up front as well. We had 3 and still got the $150 extra pop for 3 nights. The Cafe Zuzu is just that, a cafe but the breakfast was excellent. Hotel is off the beaten path so cabs are needed to go everywhere. Even the ASU bars are about 3-5 miles away. If you are looking for a relaxing place to go to, this probobly wouldnt be the place.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChuckD23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexjade, General Manager at Hotel Valley Ho, responded to this review, 2 May 2010
ChuckD
Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Valley Ho. Since I have been the General Manager here at Hotel Valley Ho for the past 5 years since its re-opening after our major re-habilitation I can only assume your comments about being "Hog Tied" are in jest as this has NEVER happened to any of our guests. I thank you for the other very positive comments and look forward to welcoming you back again soon in the near future.
Andrew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

We booked this Hotel because it was a great value and had friends staying at the Fairmont in case we needed more activities for our kids. The service at the Ho was outstanding, we have stayed at 4 and 5 star Hotels in US and Europe and this place is very competive. The pool service and food are as good as any, and the happy hours are fantastic. Cool retro theme,updated. The only thing you need to be aware of that it is the Scottsdale scene on Saturdays which means lots 20-30 year olds with alchohol and bikinis. Nothing out of line or obnoxious just not the Fairmont. We actually spent more time at the Valley Ho pool realizing the Fairmont is too big and crowded.
Another plus is that it is 1 block from Grazie and the Tortilla Factory two or Scottsdales best eats.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7jimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
5.0 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Canyon Suites at The Phoenician
0.6 mi away
Saguaro Scottsdale
Saguaro Scottsdale
#46 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
1.2 mi away
The Scott Resort & Spa
The Scott Resort & Spa
#29 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,795 reviews
10.6 mi away
Fairmont Scottsdale Princess
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Valley Ho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Valley Ho

Property: Hotel Valley Ho
Address: 6850 E Main St, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-4399
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Valley Ho 4*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Valley Ho is a true icon in Downtown Scottsdale. Originally opened in 1956 and restored to its former splendor, this urban retreat blends mid-century-modern style with contemporary amenities. Every room has a private patio or balcony and floor-to-ceiling glass, perfect for enjoying Arizona's sunshine. Dine at ZuZu, relax at VH Spa for Vitality + Health, and take a dip in two cool pools. Self-parking and basic internet are complimentary, and you'll never pay a resort fee. Call the hotel directly to get the best deal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Valley Ho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valley Ho Hotel
Valley Ho Scottsdale
Hotel Valley Ho Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing