We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VIP Service from arrival to departure...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of W Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
W Scottsdale
Ranked #49 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Surprise, AZ
Level Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“VIP Service from arrival to departure...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

W Scottsdale is an upscale boutique hotel in the heart of Old Town Scottsdale. The location is perfect for shopping, dining, and nightlife. Rooms are modern, clean, and nicer than the average boutique hotel. We booked a room with a large walk out balcony overlooking the central courtyard. The balcony is perfect for relaxing or entertaining. Multiple couples staying in the same hotel can be tricky. All our guest were happy with the hotel facilities and rooms.

+ Nicely appointed modern rooms.
+ Fantastic location.
+ Service, service, service. Everyone seemed happy to be at their job and happy to help. This quality of service made the the stay. Thank you W Scottsdale.

- One set of bathrooms for 1500+ people on New Years Eve?
- DJ not prepared for a 5-6 hour event. Too many repeated songs and sound issues.
- $12 per day for wi-fi when I'm spending $500+ per night for a room?

What really sets the W Scottsdale apart from other hotels is service. Every member of the staff I encountered was friendly and ready to ensure my every expectation was exceeded. Details below...

VALET: We had several vehicles on property and even though it was a busy holiday weekend the valet staff always made sure our cars were ready when we needed them and helped with luggage/shopping when needed without prompting or hassle. Best valet staff I have experienced. Of special note is Miguel, who ensured each party received their car on check out ready for us to depart without waiting.

FRONT DESK: Easy check in and check out. No issues, everything as promised. A big thank you to the staff for ensuring items delivered over the weekend made it to our rooms.

BLISS SPA: My wife has been to virtually every spa in Scottsdale, NY, London, Paris, Las Vegas, and LA. She commented this was the best facial she had received and came back glowing!

SHADE LOUNGE: New Years Eve party at Shade Lounge (overlooking the pool deck) was the most fun New Years Eve party in memory. We made many new friends for the night and everyone was having a great time long after midnight. Party goers were dressed to impress and the performers and fireworks added to the excitement. The DJ was having some sound issues and repeated a few too many songs. Maybe and off night or maybe they will hire a new DJ next year. Regardless we rang in the new year in style and it would not have been possible without the efforts of our VIP Hostess Halley who arranged everything in advance for our party, from the magnum of vintage Dom Pérignon to the perfect spot for viewing fireworks, everything about the evening met or exceeded our expectations. Of special note was our table hostess Tisha who ensured all the guest at our table had exactly the right drinks all night long and we never wanted for anything. She went to extra efforts to ensure our night was perfect, including making sure the gas tank in our heater was replenished after midnight so our beautifully dressed ladies would not become chilled. Halley, Tisha, and every member of the lounge and bar staff we interacted with helped to make our night one to remember.

W Scottsdale: Highly recommended. We will be back.

Room Tip: The upgrade to the larger balcony or patio from the standard room is worth it if you like to lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hi_Fi_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    446
    226
    106
    57
    73
See reviews for
49
223
67
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mapua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
254 reviews
206 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

This is our 2nd stay at the W Scottsdale. We enjoy staying here, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the room whilst a little small is very comfortable. We love the location, an easy stroll to great shopping and restaurants. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

The staff is incredible and the rooms are exquisite. I was traveling for business and do so frequently, but never in my travels have I had such five star treatment. I not only plan on recommending W Hotels to friends and family, but am looking forward to my next trip as well!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holladay, Utah
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

First, the positives!

The W Scottsdale is a beautiful hotel. Very chic and hip. The staff here were first rate and very nice. It's in a perfect location if your goal is to be in the middle of Scottsdale shopping, bars, clubs and restaurants.

The cons...

This is an extremely loud hotel. It's certainly a place for the young and beautiful to see and be seen but don't plan on getting much sleep if you are here for any other reason than to party your guts out!

I had the misfortune of being booked here on business. I was also unfortunate to be given a room on the 2nd floor. After the first night of non stop "thump thump thump" from the bar directly below me, at 2:30 am I asked to be moved. I was given a room on the 6th floor which was much better. The hotel staff was very accommodating and I had my new room within 15 minutes. They even left me a plate of cheese and wine in my room the next evening for the inconvenience. Still, there were drunks running around and screaming until 4am each of the 3 nights I was there. (I stayed Wed, Thurs, Fri nights...)

To be fair, the W hotel chain doesn't pretend to market itself for business travelers. My advice to anyone that is going to stay here that isn't going to drink at least 20 cocktails or beers and run around like a drunken idiot is to ask for a 6th floor room upon checking in.

That being said, if you are here on vacation, this would be a great place to stay!

Room Tip: High floor to avoid the 1000 decibel bar scene...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tuckiefried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

We recently held our company Holiday Party at the W Scottsdale for the first time and it was a HUGE success. The staff was well prepared, exceptionally courteous and they catered to our every need. The hotel, in the heart of Scottsdale, was very classy with beautiful rooms that overlook a fantastic pool. I would also like to give special thanks to Halley Ross, Director of Special Events, for taking care of our group. Once our Holiday Party was over, we brought 50+ people upstairs to the bar/lounge where she had us set up with VIP seating and service. Halley and her staff were friendly and outgoing and they treated us like royalty. To the W and all of it's staff, thank you for an AMAZING evening!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jalankuj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Recently stayed at the W Scottsdale for business. The staff & service are outstanding. The lobby bartender (forget her name) is FANTASTIC! Rooms are very nice and it's great that a hotel still has internet access options beyond wi-fi (my company has not allowed us to use wi-fi yet???). The rooms are very nice, however, the whole bathroom being basically in the bedroom would be a little uncomfortable if traveling with spouse/partner/family. The sliding Japanese screen door does not offer much in the way of privacy or noise abatement. Otherwise like all W's GREAT hotel and when traveling on business here I will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhrAmINow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
istanbul
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

Good location, chic ambiance ( I loved the glass shower tub) but poor staff quality and training. Do not trust any dining advice from the concierge. Great bell desk though. $ 1,500 for 2 nights and they still charge you for the wi-fi

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onurmeral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Hotel Valley Ho
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Saguaro Scottsdale
#47 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town
Aloft Scottsdale
#62 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Scottsdale

Property: W Scottsdale
Address: 7277 E Camelback Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-3319
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Downtown Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#38 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#45 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — W Scottsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel is located in the heart of town offering a chic getaway in Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
w Hotels Scottsdale
w Hotel Scottsdale
W Scottsdale Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing