We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern Fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
W Scottsdale
Ranked #50 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Modern Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Looking at the website, you can tell that this is a hoppin' place. I expected "modern" and that's what I got.

The staff was great. Professional and charming. Not a lot of info given upon check-in, though.

The room was clean and looked pleasant. The bathroom was a bit weird, though. A paper screen separated the room from the sink area and then the toilet and shower were on each side of that. The toilet was not fully enclosed ( a glass door that doesn't reach the sealing, leaving a foot of open space toward the sink) and did not offer much privacy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexa W, Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hi Sabrina!

Our modern design is a favorite for our guests. Combine that with our amazing location and atmosphere, and you've got the perfect Scottsdale hotel. Our talent is known for their friendly demeanor. If you ever have any questions, please reach out. We'd love to help with anything you need. On your next stay, check out Bliss Spa for some real pampering. A massage or facial will be sure to put you in full vacation mode.

Best,
Alexa W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    221
    106
    56
    70
See reviews for
48
220
67
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

don't know why anyone would stay here when there is a plethora of much more amazing hotels in scottsdale (like the hyatt gainey ranch, westin Kierland, etc). Not good for kids. Not really a resort but charges resort prices. I'd give it the miss

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tkarp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexa W, Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hello!

We are not a kid friendly hotel. We do recommend one of our sister properties like The Westin Kierland or The Phoenician for their family friendly activities, pools and location. We are located adjacent to the most popular bar district in Arizona and host some of the best parties in The Valley.

We offer many of the same amenities as a resort. Check out Bliss Spa for a healthy does of relaxation. WET is the perfect place to soak up some sun and vibe to beats spun by local and national DJ acts. Our premiere service elevates us beyond that of other similar hotels in the area.

We hope you enjoyed your stay in Scottsdale.

Best,
Alexa W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Overall our stay was excellent. The hotel itself is very nice with some really amazing features. However had a few things that made our stay unpleasant. If your looking for relaxation on the weekend, your most likely not going to be able to do so due to the party atmosphere. And if you have children, this is probably not the best choice for them as they may be exposed to inebriated guests. Not to mention it took almost an hour for us to receive a crib for our child. We're typically not the type to complain but glad we did. Tyler at the front desk apologized multiple times and even compensated us which was very nice even though it wasn't necessary. Will definitely be back but this time just me and my husband.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TRL3134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexa W, Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Hello!

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us despite a small hiccup. I'm glad we could make it up to you! We are a great hotel for relaxing poolside mid-week, but don't recommend WET over the weekend. We are known for our large pool parties with live DJ or music performances. Many guests and locals alike frequent our hotel for WET. While we do our best to accommodate all of our guests, we are not a kid friendly hotel. We recommend our sister properties The Westin Kierland or The Phoenician for their kid friendly activities.

We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back for another visit. Please reach out to us before your stay @WSCOTTSDALE.

Cheers,
Alexa W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Rooms are typical W. nice but very eclectic. overall though its a good hotel-staff very attentive. bar is a nice one. location is great in old town scottsdale. walking distance to everything around.

negatives: 1) im a platinum member who has stayed there multiple times-i dont need 4 emails a week leading up to the stay reminding me of the dress code for the bar.

2) every starwood property has free water for platinum guests in their room. this one never does ams only has $6 or $8 bottles. thats outrageous.

3)nowhere in the hotel can one buy a bottle of soda. one is left to pay room service or bar prices.

4) please cut down on the vegas casino smell. its still a hotel where many who stay are there for business.

overall its a good hotel and i have rated it as such for the service and location, but i did pay a corporate rate under 200. for normal rates-230+ is not a great value, particularly given the lack of differentiation for 100+ night a year starwood members

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexa W, Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hello Rahul,

I look forward to passing your compliments along to our talent. They are dedicated to providing great service and recognizing our SPG members. Our location really can't get much better. We are close to many popular attractions in Scottsdale while still providing a great centralized location for our business travelers. We do offer complimentary water to our SPG Platinum members and would be glad to bring you a few bottles if there aren't any in your room. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best,
Alexa W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on business. I had a standard room, it was clean and comfortable, I asked for a quiet room and was not disturbed at all during the 2 nights. Service was excellent, reception and dining room staff. We had a lunch buffet and an evening buffet by the pool - both were good quality and variety - the fillet steak was tender and delicious. Conference room had top class facilities, aircon quite chilly. Also 5 minute walk to the shopping mall and restaurants.

Room Tip: Away from the pool - which can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PenelopeThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Let me start of by first saying the staff was wonderful, however the property was not your standard W. It seemed like I was in a very nicely decorated 2 or 3 start holiday inn express/red roof inn type. The upside is that it was walking distance to all of the night life however, for the overpriced room your sooooo much better of staying elsewhere and paying for a cab.

PROS
Nice Staff
Walking distance to Mall/ load clubs
extremely loud lobby club good if you doing a one night there bachelorette party
Manager was empathetic to our concerns and reversed the following to nights charges with hotels.com so we only lost money on one night instead of three. They were easy to deal with and I appreciate that much.

CONS
Paper thin walls!
Clientele
cheap odd rooms
Heavenly bed... not so heavenly
Horrible view (the whole point of AZ is the stunning views of mountains and hills)
Awful Pool - it was a joke like a dirty kiddie pool and again with the horrible views
Plan on going to bed at 5am because you will hear people in the halls until then

I checked out and went to the Montelucia by Omni Resorts around the same price and a WORLD OF difference (about 15 mins away from W) . If your hell bent on staying near the clubs go to Firesky by Kimpton hotels

Room Tip: If you are really committed to actually staying here go for a suite standard rooms are awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ariana U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexa W, Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi Ariana,

Thanks for your feedback. It's unfortunate to note that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We are in the heart of Old Town Scottsdale and known for our lively atmosphere. It is not uncommon for us to have live music in the Living Room and Shade Lounge Wednesday - Saturday. We are always respectful of noise for our guests and address any issues promptly. I'm glad we could refund your additional two nights and that you enjoyed the rest of your stay in Scottsdale.

All the best,
Alexa W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed at the W one night of our vacation while passing through Phoenix, though I wish we could have stayed longer. The service was excellent. Sean at the front desk was really helpful, gave us a great room on the 5th floor, and made excellent food recommendations. The valet guys held our car at the front without charging us so we could drop off our luggage and then self-park for free.

The room was really cool and comfortable. The pool was awesome and also had great service. The location was great as we could walk to old town Scottsdale and all surrounding restaurants and Sprinkles Cupcakes! What more could you want?!

Room Tip: There were some loud parties going on, and the hotel emailed us beforehand to warn us. However on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kels2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexa W, Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hello!

I can't really think of anything else you might want, but we do live by Whatever/Whenever. I'm glad to hear you had such an excellent stay with us. Sean will be glad to hear your compliments. We look forward to seeing you back here soon!

Best,
Alexa W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Hotel Valley Ho
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Saguaro Scottsdale
#48 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aloft Scottsdale
#62 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
BEST WESTERN PLUS Sundial
#40 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Scottsdale

Property: W Scottsdale
Address: 7277 E Camelback Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-3319
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Downtown Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#38 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#45 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — W Scottsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel is located in the heart of town offering a chic getaway in Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your W Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
w Hotels Scottsdale
w Hotel Scottsdale
W Scottsdale Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing