We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AVOID!!! Rude & aggressive staff, a weekend of harrassment”
Review of W Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Scottsdale
Ranked #50 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“AVOID!!! Rude & aggressive staff, a weekend of harrassment”
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I have stayed at over 100 luxury hotels in the past 3 years (and have never written a review until now), and I can easily say that my stay at the W Scottsdale was possibly the worst experience I have ever had. The complete and utter lack of respect and hospitality that staff showed us as guests was simply appalling, bordering on harrassment. I went out for dinner and drinks off property, and when I returned I was forced to wait in line at the front door for 10 minutes to get back to my room...I felt like I was in the twilight zone - a luxury hotel should be opening the door for guests, not slamming it in their faces. I grew tired of waiting and attempted to cross the "velvet rope" (mind you, to try to return to my room to go to bed), and I was threatened to be kicked out...WHAT? How exactly would that even work? Did the bouncer plan on leaving me and my gf on the curb and going to gather our things from the room for us in order to kick us out?? I could understand the rude disposition towards random people trying to come drink at the hotel, but when someone shows you a room key, that kind of behavior is simply unacceptable. I had a group dinner at Sushi Roku where we had a very large check, and when we wanted to go have a drink in the downstairs lounge afterwards, i was told that it was not possible and that I would have to go wait in line at the front door and that only 4 of my group of 6 would be able to come in for a drink. Are you serious? Do you not see something wrong with that picture? I can undoubtedly say that I will never be staying at the W Scottsdale again and that anyone and everyone I speak to will know what a rude, aggressive, despicable, inhospitable and unresponsive staff works at this rathole. Come here at night for a drink, but if you decide to stay here you are making a big, big mistake and instead of a relaxing weekend (like I was hoping for), you are in for a weekend of harrassment by extremely rude, roid-rage-esque bouncers. Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NYC3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alyskie, Guest Relations Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, 10 August 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review your W Scottsdale experience. We apologize for the frustrations that you experienced during your stay. We take guest feedback very seriously and will use reviews like yours to continue to improve our customer service and the experiences of our guests!

Our senior management team has been in touch with you regarding your recent stay and we hope you will give us a second chance to welcome you again in the future!

Warmest Wishes, Alyssa Kiefer, W Scottsdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    227
    106
    58
    74
See reviews for
49
224
67
291
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Elsinore, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

this is one of the worst W s ive ever stayed at in my life. they have no parking, they open up this hotel to the public . there is absolutley no room in the pool for anyone to enjoy it because the public allowed in and no room for their own guests. there were people doing vulgar things in the pool like using vibrators and having sex in front of my children, that i had to escort out. this is a total party spring break atmosphere and not accomadating to families whatsoever. im still mortified and will never return. not to mention a drunken man entered our suite from the balcony at 3 in the morning while patio hopping in search of his room, in a drunken stooper from your pool 'CLUB' UNBELIEVABLE!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank onlykirsten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alyskie, Guest Relations Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, 10 August 2010
Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. We appreciate your feedback and take our guest reviews very seriously. Our senior management team is aware of your recent experience and has made several attempts to reach out to you as we would love the opportunity to further discuss your stay and to take the appropriate actions. Please contact us at your convenience. Thank you, Alyssa Kiefer, W Scottsdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2010

I was at the W for a conference-their meeting services group was great! Very attentive, clean rooms, approachable in every way. I stayed in a Fabulous Room-very modern, which is a style I like, however, the bathroom set up I didn't care for. The stall was spacious and the amenities are great but when traveling with my SO, I would have liked more bathroom privacy. Not a huge room but it was just fine for my short stay, I had requested a quieter room (some rooms overlooked the pool, nightclub area) so it was a distance from where you could park your car. But July in AZ, I had no problems finding a spot.
The gym was clean and sufficent and the pool area was very nice but I didn't swim. This is definitely a hot spot so if you are riddled by some self-conciousness about your body and size 2 twigs bother you, you may want to swim at 7am. They started carding people to go up to the bar area around 6PM. Bar is very pricey.
Great location, easy to walk to anything. The staff was pretty good, but you could see the swicth in staff around 6pm when it was party time-the customer service dropped off unless you were insanely attractive.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCamm16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville,Ca.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

Very nice top notch hotel. Nice outdoor pool on the second floor with a fulll bar, waiters, music, misters, and so on. Night club type feel. Really nice.

Rooms were very modern. 5 minute walk from restaurants, town, and a nice indoor mall. Great place. HOT.

If you have to be down in this terrible heat, 108 the day I was there. Treat yourself to a nice place like this.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rilands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

I ordered room service on the night of my arrival. Twenty four hours later there were still bottle caps, half used ketchup bottle and other scraps still in my room. Front desk guy said this was normal because "some people complain when too much is removed from the room". It also costs $26 to park your car. I'd pass on this place.

Starwood Platium Member

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bingbangboing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alyskie, Manager at W Scottsdale, responded to this review, 8 July 2010
Well hello there! Thank you for sharing your W experience. We apologize that our service fell short during your recent stay. There is no excuse for those items to have been left that long in your room. We appreciate your feedback and have passed it on to the appropriate departments to ensure that future guests do not experience the same frustrations. We unfortunately do not have flexibility with our valet pricing at this time, but are happy to provide recommendations for nearby public options! We hope to have the chance to welcome you again! Warmest Wishes, Alyssa Kiefer, W Scottsdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2010

I were not a big fan of the rooms at this hotel mostly given the lack of privacy that the bathrooms offer, a little too trendy for my taste. But the lobby and the roofdeck were fantastic and I would return for that, but stay at different hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PHCDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2010

This place was awesome!! I went for my bachelorette party with about 10 of my friends and we all had a blast! We don't have anything bad or negative to say about the W! The staff was so great and they provide amazing service! We absolutely loved everything about our stay and the pool was so much fun! And the manager, Carlos, was so great!!! I would definitely recommend this place for a fun weekend! We already started talking about making it an annual trip!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Hotel Valley Ho
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Saguaro Scottsdale
#46 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town
Aloft Scottsdale
#62 of 75 in Scottsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Scottsdale

Property: W Scottsdale
Address: 7277 E Camelback Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-3319
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Downtown Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#17 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#38 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#45 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — W Scottsdale 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury hotel is located in the heart of town offering a chic getaway in Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
w Hotels Scottsdale
w Hotel Scottsdale
W Scottsdale Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing