We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for peaceful relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic
Ranked #42 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
167 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great location for peaceful relaxation”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Enjoyed the location quite a bit. It is out of the way (only Mayo is convenient). It works for a business team meeting etc, which is why I was there. Rooms on the inner courtyard don't have views, so ask for one on the outer edge where you can view the desert landscape.
Rooms are nicely modernized. Great temperature control. Nicely remodeled lobby area, very attractive.
The "restaurant" isn't really a restaurant, so don't be fooled, you'll have to drive at least 7-9 miles to find a place to get a real meal. Must have a car.
It is a step above most Courtyards in all ways, and many steps above in location. Honestly, feels like a resort area.

Room Tip: Outer edge, facing desert (not facing courtyard in middle).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryans69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
We are pleased to have our Courtyard in the beautiful Sonoran Desert with amazing views. Our floor plan and newly updated decor are conducive for meetings such as yours with opportunites ti take advantage of the neighborhood as well. There are numerous nearby sports activites, shopping and great restaurants. We are also close enough to Scottsdale and Fountain Hills to take advantage of activities being held there. Please come visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    58
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
34
37
21
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
795 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

While I know many people did not like the location of this Courtyard, I did. There is a great walking path behind the hotel, nice sidewalk out front to run or walk. It is about a 10 minute drive to a restaurant but that was okay with me. Over all the hotel was clean. The front desk personall were friendly. The only problem was the Bistro. They were severely understaffed and the food wasn't good. My wife had to stay in line 15 minutes to get a hot tea.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smiller560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
Our team will be pleased to note you found the hotel clean and the team friendly and helpful. We strive to provide assistance where needed and a hotel that statisfies all tastes. Our location in the desert provides numerous trails and opportunities to view nature first hand. Your comments regarding the Bistro has had me rethink our process to keep waits down and create an exciting place for our guests to dine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I co-worker and I stayed here on Business. The queen beds were very comfortable, and all the pillows very fluffy. Strangely, our towels were always replaced despite hanging them on the rack as their sign suggested. There was a refrigerator in the room but no microwave. A microwave is available in the front lobby, in a very small grocerette section; lots of variety of foods/snacks for purchase. The hotel is very near Mayo Clinic and makes for a nice walk on a nice day.
The hotel is 3-5 miles from the nearest restaurants; so yes, be sure to have a rental car. It was only 45 degrees when we visited so we were not able to use the outdoor pool. There is a small workout gym with more treadmills and bikes than actual lifting equip. or weights. Our room shared a door to an adjacent room. It made it possible to hear the conversations in the next room and unfortunately the snoring too. Our first floor room also had a thin ceiling as we could hear the footsteps in the room above us. Luckily we weren't in our rooms very much.
There is a small cafe in the lobby to purchase cold cereal, or order a hot breakfast; not a huge variety, something for everyone, but tasty. Unfortunately, they aren't very speedy, especially on the weekend when one person is manning the orders and the cooking. At least there is complimentary (bold) coffee in the lobby from 6 a.m(ish) to 10 a.m. Tea and/or hot water is available too. I'd stay here again for business but probably not for pleasure; pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Don't get a room that shares a door unless you're with the party next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitstmp07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
We love hearing that you were comfortable in your room and like the amenities of the hotel. We are also proud of our new look and guests like you have responded favorably to the new Bistro for food options. Our guests now enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner including a full bar and Starbucks drinks. With our location in the desert and the northeast corner of Metro Phoenix, we can offer a quiet location that is close to great dining, activities and entertainment while in a peaceful spot!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

I was in Scottsdale on business and pleasure. My reservations were made for me, so I did not pay attention to where we were staying I just knew that it was a Courtyard by Marriott in Scottsdale, what could go wrong? The hotel is in the middle of KNOWHERE! A good 20 minutes from anything fun and exciting. The purpose of the hotel is to support the Mayo Clinic which is right next door. The downside of the hotel is the location, with that said it is a typical Courtyard by Marriott; the surrounding area is very beautiful, it is clean and the staff is very friendly. There is a pool and hot tub outside and a fire pit. I did not eat in the restaurant, but it looked nice enough. If you are a runner, the surrounding area is great for running. I even came across a lone javelina. So if you are going to the clinic GREAT, if you are going for vacation...not so much.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsOregon2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Your comments go to the heart of Marriott’s commitment to providing friendly service in a clean and beautiful surrounding! Our sister properties in the heart of Phoenix and Scottsdale may have been a better location for your trip as they are surrounded by exciting and fun places to dine in and enjoy. Our quiet spot in the Sonoran Desert is beautiful to look at and take advantage of the nature trails for a variety of activities. Many of our guests are visiting the clinic; others are here for a great hotel in the middle of a beautiful part of the Valley of the Sun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississippi
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

I would give this hotel a 5 if it weren't for 2 things: 1. some construction going on that we weren't made aware of before arrival and 2. no free breakfast, continental or otherwise. The staff was wonderful, the Bistro was very good and the shuttle to the Mayo Clinic was always available. I will warn you, if you aren't in town for the Mayo Clinic Scottsdale I wouldn't book this hotel. While it is wonderful it is at the very edge of town and there isn't anything (restaurant, grocery store, convenience store, etc...) nearby, definitely nothing within walking distance.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony or terrace that opens onto the courtyard. It is very nice and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Em S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thanks for your review on Trip Advisor! We appreciate your taking the time to let our team know you enjoyed their friendly approach to our guests. We love our new hotel and are so sorry you were not advised prior to your visit about the remodeling project which was completed in October 2012. Our Bistro does offer numerous menu options for every meal as well as Starbucks coffee drinks and a full bar! While many of our guests are Mayo Clinic patients, many others choose our hotel to have a quiet, get-away vacation with the beauty of the desert and the availability of trails for hiking and biking. We are between two great cities in the Greater Phoenix area – Fountain Hills and Scottsdale each with dining, entertainment and plenty of golf courses! Our team will be here to welcome you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

This location is close to many golf courses. This particular Courtyard is quiet, the staff is friendly, and very enjoyable. The rooms are clean and comfortable with pool and hot tub outside. You can sit outside by the fire in the evenings.

Shopping is within 3 miles.

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank iwilltravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you for the great comments. We love the area that our hotel is located we like to refer to it as a "desert oasis" with beatiful views and quiet surrounding. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Calif.
Level Contributor
157 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

I was coming to the Mayo for a return trip. I had a great experience before, and this experience was no different. Well.....actually it was a little different in that the hotel has been refurbished and updated. The lobby and restaurant are beautifully redone and the food is simple, fresh and excellent.
The staff.....wow! Dorothy was amazing during my last stay, and there she was again....a total angel! Lets face it, if you are staying at this Marriott, chances are very likely that you are here to visit the Mayo. The staff makes your visit as good as it can be. They really are to be commended!
So....if you are here to go to the Mayo, or not, you will have a great experience! My gratitude to Dorothy and the staff for making my stay sooooooo good!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1socalgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen B, General Manager at Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dorothy has been a valued associate for many years and we are pleased she made your stay so memorable! All of our teams are passionate about taking good care of our guests whether they are Mayo Clinic guests or here to enjoy our great location in the desert! Whenever you return, our great staff will be here to welcome you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
1.6 mi away
Inn at Eagle Mountain
Inn at Eagle Mountain
#1 of 5 in Fountain Hills
308 reviews
5.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Scottsdale
TownePlace Suites Scottsdale
#60 of 75 in Scottsdale
65 reviews
4.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Fountain Hills - Scottsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Scottsdale
5.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Phoenix Scottsdale
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Scottsdale North - Airpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic

Property: Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic
Address: 13444 E Shea Blvd, Scottsdale, AZ 85259-5405
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#44 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#46 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Scottsdale at Mayo Clinic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Scottsdale Mayo Clinic Hotel Scottsdale
Courtyard Scottsdale Mayo Clinic
Scottsdale Marriott
Scottsdale Courtyard
Courtyard Scottsdale At Mayo Clinic Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing