We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, FL
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay.”
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I used this hotel for a convention I was going to which was taking place there. They could not have picked a more beautiful spot. The hotel is simply lovely. The views are spectacular, the food was wonderful, best fajitas I have ever had, and the staff was very friendly. There was a Hertz rent a car on the property, which was convenient for renting a car at the airport and then returning it at the hotel, after seeing some sights in the area. You really need a car in the is area if you wan to go off property for food, but since the food was so good and the convention was feeding us as part of the package, I didn't really need one. There are 2 main pools, one for kids with a beach and sand area, and a water slide for kids of all ages. There are also casitas on the property, which, even if I didn't see inside of, looked beautiful. I paid $30 more to get a room on the ground floor, overlooking the small pond, which was a good idea. I purchased some breakfast foods from the store, sat outside on the patio in the hotel provided robes and ate breakfast, with the view of the pond. I would have to recommend that you pay the extra for the better room on the pond side for the view and quiet area. The hotel had bad reception with Sprint, not the hotel fault, but the internet was good. Service by the pool for drinks was a bit slow and the pool area seemed to get dirty with a lot of used towels and used drink cups as the day went on. They could use a bit more help by the pool. I have also stayed at the Princess hotel, in the area, which was very nice, but I have decided that this was a more enjoyable hotel. The hotel room was comfortable, with a little wear in some areas, but overall very nice.

Room Tip: Pay the $30 and get a room by the small pond so you can have a quiet area to sit outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sliver2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, 10 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review and choice to stay at the Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa! We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay so much and truly appreciate your detailed review and kind comments! We can't wait to see you again and hope you'll stay in touch with us on Facebook and Twitter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,685
    701
    211
    112
    59
See reviews for
855
725
105
689
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SPRINGFIELD
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Had a quick two-night stay for a conference so didn't have a chance to take advantage of many of this property's amenities. The many pools/water features are amazing ranging from adult-focused to kid/family focused. They loan out cruiser bikes at no charge (but only before 5 p.m.) which looks like a perfect way to check out the surrounding areas of Scottsdale. I enjoyed the food at both the Bistro and Alto (Italian restaurant) and was impressed with the fresh, healthy menus at both. This would be a fabulous place for a romantic get-away, especially for folks who enjoy active recreation like golf, hiking, etc.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong. I had the most basic, inexpensive double queen room (3rd floor) and it had a nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WriteToColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and thank you for choosing to stay at our resort! We can't wait to have you again to enjoy our dining and other amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hyatt for three days a mix of business and pleasure. It was a beautiful hotel. The location was perfect - we walked to gainey village for dinner one night, took the shuttle to old Scottsdale - with no problems. The food was excellent - a little pricey but expected for this type of resort. They have an adult pool area with soft cushions for lounging - very nice - cocktail and food service available - perfect for relaxing. They have a family pool area with lots of activities for kids - even a water slide and sand beach!! We would definitely return with our teenage daughter. We went kayaking and a hot air ballon ride scheduled with zebra adventures which is on site - very convenient. Had a massage at the spa - again pricey but worth it!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjpKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your recent visit. We are pleased to read you enjoyed your stay, our amenities and location. We can't wait to see you again with your daughter and hope you will take advantage of our great packages, which offer great value!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I was here for a 2-day conference. Although there was a bit of a line at check-in, this was made easy by staff serving drinks to guests. Line moved fairly quickly. Staff was welcoming.

Room was very nice/comfortable/clean, but looked out over a driveway. In all fairness, I did reserve at the group rate and I really didn't spend much time in the room. Conference services were nice--snacks/cold drinks at break, very nice buffet meals during conference.

I did have a sandwich in the marketplace restaurant, a Bloody Mary in the lobby bar (server was very attentive and drink was plentiful with nice garnishes). I also got to spend a bit of time at the pool, which I thought was top-notch, not crowded, and well attened by staff. I wish I had more time to enjoy this beautiful facility.

Room Tip: I would ask for room overlooking golf course, pool, or courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunsanibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you choosing to stay at our resort. We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The pool situation was an absolute mess. Hordes of people, many of whom were not hotel guests and swathes of abandoned towels on loungers reserving spots. Unless you got there at 7am, you had little chance of a lounger. Very frustrating when you're traveling with little kids and all you see is 'reserved' seats with no-one about. Suggestion is to have staff be more aggressive picking up towels, ban the pre-booking of loungers and have a better checking system of people entering the pool area.

Aside from that, rooms are great, staff are terrific, spa is excellent and tennis courts are top notch. Food is good (miles better than the Weston for example). Gondola rides are a fun touch too.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DiscerningDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for your comments. The new features and slide at our pools have proven to be very popular, and the demand exceeded even our own expectations! Based on your feedback, and that of other guests who stayed with us this Spring, we have implemented new procedures to ensure that our guests are able to secure poolside chairs when they are using the pools, and have added staff to monitor and maintain the area. So glad to know that you received great service from our staff, and enjoyed the spa, tennis and restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back to visit with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chino Valley, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We enjoyed a mini-vacation with our 2 young daughters and chose the Hyatt for the sandy beach and awesome pool area. We were a little hesitant with the weekday rate but it was worth every penny. The staff was warm and inviting and treated us extremely well and the pool area is absolutely top notch. The food is so delicious. We had a super great time from the beach to the evening gondola ride. There is no better place to get away in AZ.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinmanHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort & Spa. We are thrilled to read you and your daughters enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

I attended a conference here. The facilities for the meetings is outstanding. The food served during these three days was far more than expected and excellent. They were generous with the food, large portions and varied. The staff that served in the conference center were excellent. the parties by the pool and on the lawn were delightful locations for events. If you are hosting an event, this is the place for star service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GDPScottsdale, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your review. We can't wait to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,450 reviews
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#19 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,157 reviews
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch

Property: Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Address: 7500 E Doubletree Ranch Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85258-2044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst flowering cactus, breathtaking sunsets and framed against the majestic McDowell Mountains, Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa features a 2 1/2-acre "water playground", 27 holes of championship golf, world-class tennis, Spa, the Native American Learning and Environmental Center, an international art collection and four distinctively different restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort And Spa At Gainey Ranch Hotel Scottsdale
Gainey Ranch
Hyatt Gainey Ranch Resort
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort And Spa At Gainey Ranch Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing