We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Ranked #9 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
148 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good family resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Extremely crowded during Spring break, but a very nice facility. Service was solid, staff was friendly and helpful. Room quality was fine. Housekeeping mistakenly swept up our daughter's beloved stuffed animals into the laundry, and they landed in the outside laundry facility. Thanks to Sasha's relentless efforts, they really searched to find them and return them to us. We greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MackGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
I appreciate you taking some time to leave a review. It is great to hear that Sasha was able to help you during such an inconvenience! I will be passing word along to her and I hope you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,617 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,594
    661
    202
    108
    52
See reviews for
804
683
104
641
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
123 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We came here for a local getaway for Mother's Day weekend. From the moment we pulled up, we knew we were somewhere special. Once we checked in, we were offered complimentary prickly pear margaritas and were told they "don't say no to refills."

We had an amazing dinner at Alto, and even though there was some confusion with walk-in arrangements vs. reservations, they were very accommodating to our group. Something you won't find many places is the complimentary gondola ride vouchers that came with dinner. Boy, were we in for a treat! Our gondolier was friendly and had such a nice voice and good sense of humor. It was so peaceful to be out on the water after dinner. The bar area was hopping and the live entertainment was wonderful!

We spent a lot of time poolside on Mother's Day. Although there were a lot of people in the pool area, it did not seem crowded. The poolside service was good and the servers were attentive.

We would recommend this resort and spa without hesitation and look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that looks over the courtyard or pool area for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meghan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our gondola rides. They are a favorite here at the Hyatt and our staff will also be happy to hear you enjoyed yourselves! We hope your next visit with us is sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The pros of this hotel was very clean, never felt crowded, pool area was nicely maintained. The cons were that the room was right on the Terrace Court where they set up breakfast for corporate events, so it was very noisy during set up (early morning carts) and when the events were going on.

We asked three times for a late checkout, and they said it would probably be fine, but check back later, our flight wasn't until 10:30 pm and when we check back the last time they told us no late check out, they had someone coming in. I think that since I had asked a few times, they could have accommodated us.

I also agree with a previous reviewer that there were literally 3 small drawers, and so much stuff in the closets that there was minimal room for clothes.

Room Tip: Request a room that is not near the corporate gathering places.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mermaid_lover_LBI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
I appreciate the kind words! I apologize for the inconveniences you’ve experienced during your stay. I will notify the staff and sincerely hope you come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We visited the Hyatt from England on holiday. We were hoping for rest, a good pool, nice food and great weather - which this hotel certainly has. However it was lacking any charm or personality. Possibly because it's so big, maybe due to it being another corporate hotel, or more than likely owing to the vast amount of corporate functions and conferences taking here. Had I known this, I would have probably extended my stay at the amazing Sanctuary spa down the road (we stayed there after for a few extra days).

On the upside, the staff were great and the pools were magnificent especially the slide which was great fun. The beach area, less so. But still a fun idea.

The food was good, albeit a lack of lunchtime options.

Night time entertainment had great singers.

Rooms were pretty standard, not particularly special or homely.

Security OTT everywhere with gates too. Couldn't understand why!

Lots of golfers also here, I imagine its a good base for the sport. Be prepared to pay 165 dollars for the pleasure
Though...

I think the hotel would have impressed me more if it had been a little cheaper, as I don't believe the price is worth it. Sorry!


  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthWestBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for the feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed many of our amenities and features but am disappointed to hear that others were not to your liking. We are always looking for ways to improve so your comments are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparks
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had a very pleasant stay and enjoyed the golf course. The room initially seemed lovely. There is, however, minimal drawer space and a small closet. The room dad a small balcony and two chairs. Downside was directly below us was an entry/exit to a courtyard and smokers would just step outside and light up. Basically put us in the smoking section. In addition, it was very noisy on the balcony with the pool noise and loud music playing all day long. I assume this was coming from the pool area. The rooms facing the courtyard areas are probably the noisiest. If we return I would request a room on the lagoon side. This is away from the pools and evening activities that can occur in the courtyard. This should be the quietest part of the hotel.

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Valet parking service was quick and efficient. We ate several meals in the hotel and they were very good

Room Tip: As mentioned, the lagoon area should avoid pool noise, music and any banquets, with or without music...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macomfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
I appreciate your feedback. I apologize that our amenities did not exceed your standards, and we are constantly working on ways to better the experience our guests have.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We had a wonderful time at this hotel. We flew over from California for Spring Break. Was looking for 90 degrees and good pools and we found it.

* Check-in was speedy and the pink margaritas were a nice touch!
* The open-air lobby looking out over the courtyard and mountains is great,
* The water-slide and pools are very nice!
* Staff was awesome and helpful. 5 stars.
* bar area with the stage makes for a fun stay!

Definitely would stay again!

Room Tip: We liked the bands that played each night, but the music can be a little loud if you're staying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank new555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our amenities and found our staff friendly and helpful. We hope you and your family will choose to stay with us sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

We were pleased with the hotel and staff. While the hotel accepts pets, there is really no place in
the hotel or on the patio that you can have a meal with your pet except for the little take-out "market." In any case it is still a hotel l'd recommend for you and your pet.

Room Tip: If you are bringing a pet, ask for a room on the ground floor where you can walk out to the grass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveR56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerriB7500, Manager at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We love welcoming pets here at Hyatt Regency Scottsdale and I am pleased to read that you recommend our accommodations when traveling with your furry companion. Thanks again for your kind words and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,396 reviews
Hotel Valley Ho
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#16 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch

Property: Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Address: 7500 E Doubletree Ranch Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85258-2044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst flowering cactus, breathtaking sunsets and framed against the majestic McDowell Mountains, Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa features a 2 1/2-acre "water playground", 27 holes of championship golf, world-class tennis, Spa, the Native American Learning and Environmental Center, an international art collection and four distinctively different restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort And Spa At Gainey Ranch Hotel Scottsdale
Gainey Ranch
Hyatt Gainey Ranch Resort
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort And Spa At Gainey Ranch Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing