We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but service needs improvement.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Ranked #10 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 915 helpful votes
“Nice but service needs improvement.....”
Reviewed 11 July 2009

Just stayed here for a night. The grounds are lovely and the location is superb. The price was right but it was July in Scottsdale.... As a GP Diamond was upgraded to a premium room with a huge balcony overlooking the pool. Redone, nice interior, lovely bath with rain shower (no tub). Upgraded toiletries. Comfy bed and very nice room overall. The pools are large and there are separate areas for adults and children. The Regency Club is very good with a solid breakfast and snack service, computers and Internet. Those are the positives. On the down side, housekeeping needs improvement. Our room was covered in a fine layer of dust and the balcony was filthy with cigarette butts. The pool area was also very messy, nobody cleaning abandoned towels or drinks. The pool needs to be redone and there were cigarette butts etc. At 10pm housekeeping pounded (as if there was a fire) on our door repeatedly to see if we wanted a "turn down service". This would have been great if I was not already asleep. The food was simply awful at the SWB restaurant and the coffee bar was grossly overpriced. There are far better dining choices within 2 blocks of the hotel. In fairness we did get $80 comped for our problems. I would stay here again given the value but the service needs to pick it up a notch to be a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drewmc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,688
    701
    212
    112
    59
See reviews for
856
726
105
691
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake Village, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2009

You’d really have to struggle to find fault with the resort. It is an amazing facility, with everything you can ask for in a self-contained resort. A few highlights to note:
The hotel staff is by far the very best I have ever encountered at a Hyatt Resort and any Hyatt property. Possibly the best in all my stays in the U.S. Hotels and resorts. They live to please their guests and nothing is too small for them to handle. It’s clear the staff love working there and love serving their guests. Even the minor problems we encountered were addressed by the staff to the degree that it allowed them to demonstrate their commitment to making guests happy. (A call regarding broken ice machine was followed up by a huge bucket of ice delivered to our room in minutes.)
The other point to note is the Regency Club - easily the best in the Hyatt Chain. Spectacular location, convenient hours, great food and an attentive and caring staff.
Pools are gorgeous, hotel is beautiful and staff are amazing. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferbdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2009

The resort is gorgeous with the fire pits and night lighting. The pools are amazing and had amenities for kids and adults. The SWB (restaurant) had the best bagels and lox I ever had (and I travel the nation frequently) The hotel was very kid friendly but as adults we never felt annoyed by the kids, they had separate sections for us to play. The customer service was very thorough and impressive. We loved the hour full body massages and the mineral pool was very relaxing at the spa. At night we enjoyed live band and a full bar, very social. Fire work show was amazing (we stayed over the 4th of July holiday) Overall the place was very clean, relaxing and there was always something to do. This is my second visit and I will come back again when I can.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aleknows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2009

I always wanted to stay here when we lived in Phoenix, and finally did as a visitor to the area for a family function. Lobby bar is the absolute best ever, with excellent entertainment in the evening. Room was very nice, but shower didn't drain well - it was not fixed during our stay. Very expensive property, but great location and you feel like royalty. Breakfast on patio was a real treat.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hvtrillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We stayed at the Hyatt Gainey Ranch for 4th of July weekend. I traveled with my husband and a 10 year old and 14 year old. We had a wonderful stay. The room was modern and classy and the beds were very comfortable. We upgraded and had access to the Regency Club which was well worth it. They had breakfast, snacks, cookies in the afternoon, and appetizers in the evening. The staff was very friendly and responsive. The pools were amazing! The weather was hot but the pools were always perfect temperature. They had a great slide and a beach which the kids loved as well. The hotel has many bars and lounge areas which are set up with couches everywhere. It was very comfortable, relaxing and classy. We had lunch at the mexican restaurant which was delicious. My husband and I treated ourselves to a spa treatment. The spa is new and beautifully decorated. They had cold and hot plunges, sauna and steam and great showers. The massage was one of the best one i have ever had. I am looking forward to our next visit to the hotel. I will stay here again whether its pleasure or business or both and will recommend it to all of my friends.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltrvlmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeNvEr
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2009

THe pool is amazing and everyone does their best to make sure you get what youre paying for

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank preshuskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2009

Our family came from Massachusetts, Montreal, and Sedona for a small reunion at Hyatt Gainey Ranch for four night and five days. We are a challenging and picky group, a few of whom work in the hospitality industry.
Our stay was prefect.
We traveled with one person with a mobility disability as well as a one year old and two year old and each of our needs were met with grace and ease. The family pool is even better than the pictures show and can't be beat if you're looking for an afternoon volleyball game or just lounging and ordering great food and drinks. The adult pool was a perfect hideaway for time away from the kids. Poolside dining prices were appropriate and the staff was more than attentive. Dining at SWB was delicious, and we loved the gondola ride on our last night. The rooms were tasteful, clean, and modern. Each staff member we encountered was incredibly friendly and professional.
One Tip: Our room was considered "Regency Level." I would highly recommend this upgrade as the English-style breakfast and appetizers in the evening are well worth it, especially if you are looking to have the ease of complimentary beverages and low-priced self-serve cocktails.
This is, by far, our favorite family location in Scottsdale and we look forward to returning later this summer.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelldozArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,452 reviews
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#19 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,158 reviews
Desert Ridge
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch

Property: Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch
Address: 7500 E Doubletree Ranch Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85258-2044
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch 4.5*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst flowering cactus, breathtaking sunsets and framed against the majestic McDowell Mountains, Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa features a 2 1/2-acre "water playground", 27 holes of championship golf, world-class tennis, Spa, the Native American Learning and Environmental Center, an international art collection and four distinctively different restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort and Spa at Gainey Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort And Spa At Gainey Ranch Hotel Scottsdale
Gainey Ranch
Hyatt Gainey Ranch Resort
Hyatt Regency Scottsdale Resort And Spa At Gainey Ranch Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing