We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business traveler”
Review of Orange Tree Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orange Tree Resort
Ranked #50 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Gave this place a good review a few months back.
Same good experience except for one thing that turned out not to impact us but I will mention it.
they do not service the rooms if your stay is less than 3-4 days ...there is a ton of towels in the room and they will come in an replace if you ask ...so I did not consider this a real negative .
If you are hot-wiring this place they will give you a room that is far from where you park your car...big deal walk a little . room is a suite of sorts

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iamu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce H, Resort Manager at Orange Tree Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear lamu2,

Thank you for your continued support of our property. We love it when our guests provide valuable feedback. Yes, as a timeshare property we have a different cleaning schedule than most traditional hotels. As you kindly mention we are happy to provide extra towels upon request, and we always strive to accommodate any requests from our valued guests. Thank you again for your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Orange Tree Resort again soon!

Best regards,

Bruce Hamm
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (590)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 590 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

After playing a short afternoon round, went into the restaurant to get our steak-and-fry dinners (an afternoon golf-special). I'd done this one time before and the service was beyond awful, but since around 9 months had passed since then, I assumed they'd had weeded out the dead-weight responsible.

Well, we had a different server, but the results were the same. It's not an exaggeration to say that it appears that the restaurant is being worked by people who've never done so before.

We were one of three or four tables in the whole place and all of us seemed to be suffering the same level of (lack of) service. One table, after a number of requests for their tab, walked out and told the server (who's finally reached our table) they'd left cash on the table, confident it'll cover their tab. All the server did was look over and say "Ok, your tab was $x". No "thank you" from the server - even though it turned out that the amount left gave him a healthy tip.

At least one other table suffered the same frustration (a group of around 6 diners).

Once we finally got our drinks, the food then took another 30 minutes to show up. Not overly painfully long, but once dropped off, drinks refills were ordered and 5 minutes later, soda's for the kids appeared, but no wine and no beer for mom and dad. After realizing we'd been forgotten, we re-requested our refills 20 minutes later, when our guy stopped by again. I was told I couldn't have my beer, because the kegs had been shut off. I went up to the bar to ask why this was and got a rather terse "We actually closed at 7!" from the girl behind the bar. Only when I expressed my frustration at the fact that our time at our table was running at around an hour (remember, the food only got there 20 minutes ago and we're not done eating, yet!) and that I wasn't impressed that their poor service being a reason for not having a drink with my dinner, did they deign to get me that beer.

Of course, when we were finally done, no bill was forthcoming and I had to track the server down at the bar to pay. Just an end-to-end poor show from the restaurant.

Food was actually pretty good and the golf course, though fairly vanilla, was in great shape and does have a few cool holes. This facility actually has the framework for success, but there just doesn't seem to be an appetite for the hard work it would require. What a shame.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank DnxMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce H, Resort Manager at Orange Tree Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear DnxMc,

Thank you for your comments regarding your experience in the restaurant located at our property. The issues that you mention are not acceptable. Our guests and customers are of the utmost importance to us, and this includes guests who come to the property to enjoy a round of golf and have some great food. Feedback like yours is extremely important to us as we continue to foster a relationship with our business partners to ensure every area from our guest rooms, to golf and food and beverage is a seamless and comfortable experience for every guest that patronizes our businesses. I have brought your comments to the attention of the proprietor of the restaurant. This information is invaluable as we continue to work together to ensure that future guests do not have a similar experience, but rather receive exceptional customer service that will contribute to an environment of success and one where guests and customers will want to visit.

Thank you again for you valuable feedback. If I can be of further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 480-443-2159.

Sincerely,

Bruce Hamm
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This was our 4th stay at Orange Tree Resort and when all factors are combined, it was our most enjoyable stay in the past 10 years. We arrived in PHX on an early morning flight and met our fellow travelers in the resort lobby at 9am not expecting to to get a room until later in the day. To our delight the front desk staff told us we could check in because our room was ready! This was a great start to an excellent vacation. The room was clean and we survived just fine without daily housekeeping. The only glitch was running out of coffee packs-which the resort staff fixed in 2 minutes! The nice residential neighborhood around the golf course is quiet and a great place for walking and jogging. Thank you Orange Tree-We will be back!

Room Tip: Don't let the long walk from the units to the main parking lot deter you-it's a beautiful fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce H, Resort Manager at Orange Tree Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear GOmaha,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback on your recent stay with us. We love hearing from our return guests and we were thrilled to hear that our property has provided a relaxing and quiet getaway for you over the past 10 years! Thank you for making us your "home away from home."

Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm regards,

Bruce Hamm
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I got this hotel through Hotwire.com for an amazingly low rate of about $55/night plus tax/fees. First, you should know this property is not in Scottsdale, but North Phoenix; Scottsdale is about two to three miles away. Also, this is a time-share property now owned by Wyndham, and there is no daily housekeeping. I stayed for five nights and got housekeeping one day only.

Here is a quick review:

Pros:

--Very Friendly Staff
--Large Rooms (with full fridge/freezer and microwave)
--No Resort Fee (also no parking fee and no Internet fee)
--Good Housekeeping

Cons:

--Not Business Traveler Friendly
--Internet Speed is Terrible (even though I was steadily connected to the AP at 54Mbps, I only got between 0.75Mb/sec - 1Mbps on a download)
--Exercise Room is Terrible (there are only about three cardio machines and they are old and low quality)
--Hotel is Old and Many Areas are Showing Their Age
--Temperature in Shower was Almost Impossible to Set Properly
--TVs in Room were Flat Screen but Had no Cable HD Channels
--Walk to Room from Car Park is Long for About 1/3 of Rooms

Overall, I would not stay here again. The only reason I stayed here was the 4-5 star hotels the week I needed to be in Scottsdale were prohibitively expensive.

Tips:

If you decide to stay at the Orange Tree, make sure you call ahead and get a room in buildings 1-4. Otherwise, your walk from the car park to your room (especially buildings 7-8) will be very long. Also, make sure you activate a tethering plan on your mobile phone as even a 3G cellular connection will be faster than the WiFi at the Orange Tree.

Room Tip: Make sure you call ahead and get a room in buildings 1-4. Otherwise, your walk from the car park to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveler927534971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce H, Resort Manager at Orange Tree Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear traveler927534971,

Thank you for taking the time to share your most recent experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and are always open to suggestions. I apologize that we feel below your expectations in many areas. I am happy to inform you that we will be undergoing a number of upgrades to our property this year, addressing most of the issues you shared.

As a timeshare property we do have a different cleaning schedule than most traditional hotels; however we always try our best to accommodate any requests from our valued guests.

We are happy to hear that you found our associates to be friendly, and our large rooms is one of our best features, so thank you for noting this. Again, we thank you for being our guest, and we would love to have you return. Please contact me directly at 480-443-2159 if I may be of further assistance.

Sincerely,
Bruce Hamm
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed in a 1 bedroom Unit last week of Nov & 1st week of Dec.'13. I phoned 1 week before our arrival requesting corner 1 bedroom Unit facing Golf Course, on the 1 st floor .. if available.
upon arriving we received all requests. Check in was fast & clerks, bellboy were all so friendly & helpful. Bellboy explained everything about resort. We received calls during our stay asking if we needed anything. The Pool area with hot tub was very clean & relaxing. The weather was cool during our stay but pool was always warm for swimming. We do not golf but enjoyed seeing the golfers. The restaurant / bar had excellent food & great service.We were a bit disappointed with the Gym 1 treadmill, 1 exercise bike,1 elliptical, & 1 weight machine, we only used it once. The Internet in the Unit was on & off for a few days, Technician was very concerned & call frequently to make sure it was working. Cleaning staff was excellent & we always had lots of clean towels. Bedroom was large with comfy king size bed. Television in Bedroom & Living Room. No stove which was not a problem, we spent most of our time visiting friends, Lovely large bathroom with 2 sinks, large jacuzzi bath, lots of drawer space & separate room for shower & toilet. Great location close to restaurants, shopping, churches & freeway.
Handicap parking was not monitored properly.
I am handicap, I phoned a few times complaining of vehicles not having handicap signs in their vehicle, they were not notified & no info was put on their vehicles informing them to park elsewhere etc,. This would be My only complaint along with the small Gym.
We enjoyed our stay & we would return to the Resort in the Future.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeachTimmins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce H, Resort Manager at Orange Tree Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear BeachTimmins,

Thank you for such a nice and extensive review about your recent stay with us! We always appreciate hearing from our guests about their experience. It sounds like you've had an overall very enjoyable time at our property. Thank you for bringing the matter of the handicapped parking to our attention during your stay. If we are able to identify the vehicle based on the parking permit, we will make an immediate courtesy call to that guest. We apologize for any inconvenience and frustration that this may have caused you.

We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon!

Warmly,

Bruce Hamm
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

The resort was nice, but the purpose of our stay was to visit the Phoenix/Scottsdale area, not to play golf. The location is a quiet residential area, with a golf course to the east. The bed was very comfortable, but the room was not really a 1-bedroom. The room has a large refrigerator, but no kitchen stove, so we had to cook the hot cereal in the microwave. The doors separating the bedroom from the living room were so thin, they did not provide any noise barrier. Also, while the exterior was well landscaped and the vegetation was well maintained, the physical integrity of our room was poor. One section of the dresser was off the track, so it was difficult to open and close. Also, the weather-proofing on steps leading to the unit had worn away, exposing the bare wood in some places. The resort includes free Wifi with the reservation, but, the quality of the Wifi signal in the room seemed to be very erratic (but there are 2 computers in the lobby to use for no extra charge). The fitness facilities are fairly limited (1 treadmill, 1 lifecycle, 1 elliptical, upperbody weight machine). We did not eat at the resort because there are many fine dining options nearby. The staff is very friendly and service oriented, calling us frequently to see if we needed anything. We had no problems with check-in, although the resort was not very crowded the first week of 2014. We learned in the timeshare presentation that Wyndham bought Shell Vacations and plans to upgrade the Shell properties. We stayed because we had a free Interval certificate, and this was the only property available in Scottsdale. For the $214 exchange fee (for the week), it was a good value, but I would not have paid the rack rate of $226/night.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room location, and they put us in Building 2, in an upstairs unit. We overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce H, Resort Manager at Orange Tree Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Jeff H,

Thank you for your extensive review of our property regarding your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback in sharing those areas that you enjoyed, and while difficult to hear; those areas where we fell short. The condition of the dresser in your room and the steps is unacceptable. I have addressed these concerns with my Maintenance staff. I am happy to report that we will be updating our guest rooms and addressing some of the issues you shared, including updating the furniture.

We are happy to hear that our associates took great care of you during your stay. We hope that friendly service and our future upgrades to the guest rooms will bring you back and we'll become your favorite place to stay when visiting the Scottsdale/Phoenix area.

Sincerely,

Bruce Hamm
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Staff was super friendly & helpful. Obviously a great golf resort although we are not golfers but rather for the location near family. The 1 bedroom unit was very clean although the partial kitchen (no range) was sparsely supplied. If looking for a family resort for vacation you're better off elsewhere but for a couple who do not intend to do much eating in this would be a good choice.

Room Tip: Request room by golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jsanNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce H, Resort Manager at Orange Tree Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Dear jsanNYC,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We were happy to hear that our staff was super friendly and helpful, even if the kitchen fell somewhat short of your expectations unfortunately.

We like to think of ourselves as a great place for families and we are currently in the process of reorganizing our activities program to ensure there are plenty of fun things to do for guests of all ages on property.

Please come see us again sometime soon!

Warm regards,

Bruce Hamm
Resort Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,498 reviews
Paradise Valley
Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix-Scottsdale
The McCormick Scottsdale
#36 of 75 in Scottsdale
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Desert Oasis
#8 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,005 reviews
Scottsdale Links Resort
#53 of 75 in Scottsdale
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Tree Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Tree Resort

Address: 10601 N 56th St, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-4807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#18 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#43 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: £90 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orange Tree Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis in what was once an orange grove, the Orange Tree Resort is one of Arizona's finest luxury golf vacation destinations. Unwind in luxuriously appointed guest suites featuring Tempur-pedic Sleep System Beds and a two-person whirlpool tub to relax in. When you are ready to venture out in the Scottsdale area be ready to experience anything from great shopping, art museums and the Phoenix Zoo. Not to mention the majestic Grand Canyon is a mere day trip away. In a setting that combines the first class amenities of a fine golf resort and the ambiance of a country club, The Orange Tree Resort is the ideal destination for intimate getaways, family vacations, golf outings, and special events in Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Orange Tree Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange Tree Golf Hotel Scottsdale
Orange Tree Hotel
Orange Tree Golf Resort
Orange Tree Resort Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing