We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate! Felt pampered.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Orange Tree Golf Resort
Ranked #53 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
GreenLeadersBronze level
Whitney, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“First rate! Felt pampered.”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Comfy spacious unit. Beautiful grounds. Very nice golf course. VERY attentive staff. GREAT outdoor gathering area for lunch, afternoon or evening beverage!!! Terrific clothing - men's AND lady's - in Pro Shop.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoboCPA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce H, Resort Manager at Orange Tree Golf Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear LoboCPA1,

Thank you for your nice feedback regarding your recent stay with us, we really appreciate it!

We were happy to hear that our staff was attentive and that you were able to enjoy our gorgeous weather during some outdoor gatherings.

Come see us again some time!

Warmest regards,

Bruce Hamm
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    190
    108
    36
    16
See reviews for
137
256
41
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bennington, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

First: this is technically North Phoenix, not Scottsdale.

It's clear that this hotel can't decide if it's a hotel or a timeshare experience. The room we had seemed to be updated in terms of carpet, counters and bed and multiple tvs. The room was huge, with small balconies. The sleeping area is separated from the living area with louvered doors. There is a full-sized refrigerator and microwave in each room, with a small sink, a toaster and a coffee-maker. There is no room service, so towels, amenities and supplies (such as dishes, glasses, dish soap, etc.) are there in abundance. No curtains, but mini-blinds installed between panes of window glass. Lots and lots of light when the blinds were opened.

Staff was very pleasant, with one exception, which I addressed with the manager. They allowed me to check-in early, rather than just store my luggage until check-in. They even honored my request for a quiet room - which was just under 1000 feet from the front desk, and 750 feet from the closest parking. That doesn't seem far until you're walking with luggage, a load of groceries from the great grocery stores on 48th Street (about 3/4 mile east), or when you find that the 2nd room key you were given doesn't work. The closest parking was a small strip and filled up very quickly, so most of my hikes were from the main parking lot by reception. The manager did say that the resort was planning on installing service phones on the property so that guests could call up a ride from one of the bell-staff. I did find that bell-staff seemed to be a little under-staffed, with a couple of long waits, so we walked most of the time.

Quibbles: Blinds did not close completely, so the bedroom was very bright for night-time sleeping, especially as there is a security light mounted outside the bedroom window. Linens were percale, which had pilled and was uncomfortable. Pillows were plentiful but all foam and of equal firmness. Carpet was a stiff commercial berber and uncomfortable on bare feet.

Many units had permanent or semi-permanent residents, which accounted for the huge laundry room near the pool. Barbecue grills, gardens and play equipment, such as volleyball nets and horseshoes also reinforced the aura of permanency. Also, front desk staff sent me to get my parking pass from a woman seated behind a desk with lots of local information and asked me about whether I was here on business or pleasure and whether I had thought about coming back here again - before I'd even checked in. Sure sounded like the opening of a timeshare sale.

Golf course looked fun and the grounds themselves were very clean. Did not eat at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Golf course side is quieter. The resort sits on the corner of two busy streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlainsWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce H, Resort Manager at Orange Tree Golf Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear PlainsWoman,

Thank you for your extensive review of our property. We were glad to hear that our staff was pleasant and that one of our managers was able to assist you when an unfortunate exception arose. But we certainly regret that we didn't meet your expectations in other areas, especially some of the areas of your guest room which caused you discomfort, including the blinds that did not close and the pilling on your linens. We appreciate your valuable feedback on these issues, which we do not feel are quibbles at all, but rather items that need to be addressed.

Yes, as mentioned we have many amenities on property for all guests to enjoy during their stay with us. As a timeshare property many of our owners choose to stay with us during the winter months when the weather in Arizona is so beautiful.

Thank you again for your valuable review, we hope to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Bruce Hamm
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here on an exchange.

Pros: Staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are huge by any standards. They have wonderful TEMPURPEDIC mattresses. It is conveniently, centrally located to most everything. And, the pool is well cared for and large.

Cons: The parking situation is difficult with only buildings 1&2 in easy walking distance of the lot. The staff will gladly drive you back and forth in the golf carts, but it is still inconvenient. There is no stove top or oven in the unit, so don't plan to cook. There is no dresser in the bedroom either, but worst of all is the noise between the units. Every time water is used either in the unit above or next door, it is loud and you can hear every movement above no matter how careful the person is to be quiet.

If you golf it's probably a much better experience, but we don't and will probably stay elsewhere next time if we have another option.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is much quieter. Also buildings are numbered 1 to 8 with 8 a block away from the parking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAEricson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce H, Bruce Hamm at Orange Tree Golf Resort, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear Lorri E,

Thank you for your review of our property. We sincerely appreciate your input and comments in regards to your stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed some of the features of your guest suite and our property. However, we certainly regret that we didn't meet your expectations in other areas. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to excessive noise in your guest suite.

At your convenience I would like the opportunity to discuss your stay further and to inquire as to which guest suite you occupied so that I may have my staff look into the noise issues you mentioned. I can be reached directly at (480) 443-2145.

I look forward to speaking with you and thank you again for your valuable feedback.

Sincerely,

Bruce Hamm
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greeley, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here for the second time in three years. The rooms have plenty of room to relax in. The golf course was in great shape. The rooms and grounds are always very neat and clean. The bar is excellent but not lively. The food is good but not a great variety. All aspects service wise are OUTSTANDING!

Room Tip: If you're older, pay a little extra and get a room in one of the first four buildings(closer to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BodoGreeley_Colorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce H, Resort Manager at Orange Tree Golf Resort, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear BodoGreeley_Colorado,

We appreciate your comments on your most recent stay with us! We always love to hear from our return guests and we were happy to learn that our service levels were outstanding! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best Regards,

Bruce Hamm
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
90660
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

This is one of my favorite destinations. On arrival being greated with friendliness and recognition as past guest is heartwarming. This is older resort that feels new. The golf course is highly rated and is enjoyed by many.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doingitmyway66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce H, Resort Manager at Orange Tree Golf Resort, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear doingitmyway66,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent visit. We were delighted to hear that our staff was friendly and welcoming. It is always nice to hear feedback from our returning guests. Thank you for making us one of your favorite destinations when visiting the Scottsdale/Phoenix area.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards,

Bruce Hamm
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The Orange Tree Golf Resort is a nice, quiet location in Scottsdale, AZ. The one bedroom we were given was very large, with plenty of amenities. There is a large bathroom with separate shower and tub, dual vanities, etc. The living room and kitchen are one large shared area with plenty of sitting area. There is a TV in the bedroom and the living room, which get full cable service.

The only downside to this location is that the rooms, for the most part, are quite a hike from the parking area.

Room Tip: As long as you are not a late sleeper, get a room that faces the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terandboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce H, Resort Manager at Orange Tree Golf Resort, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear terandboys,

Thank you for your detailed review of our property and guest rooms. We also appreciate your feedback in regards to parking. This will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our resort. Please let us know if there are opportunities to make your stay better in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Bruce Hamm
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed for 3 nights during Spring Training. Location was great, however almost nothing within walking distance. Overall the resort makes a great first impression

PROS: Location was great, very safe area but a little boring. Easy 5 min drive to nice restaurants and coffee though. Resort type feel was very relaxing. Golf course was very popular, would love to try this next time. The staff were phenomenal, really the highlight of this resort. Everyone from the concierge to the gardner were super friendly, helpful and professional. Well done. The bellman patrols around on a golf cart at night and when I came in late they offered me a ride to my room. Great customer service! Also we requested two queen beds, but when we got to the room there was one king. The Bellman called the office and our room was fixed within 3 minutes. Wow. Bar was good, welcoming with lots of space- I didn't try the food though. Rooms were spacious, newly upgraded with balconies and a kitchenette. Feels like an apartment not a hotel.

CONS: When booking it seemed like you are being "nickel and dimed" for different options, that would just be "requests" at other hotels. Our room was near the lobby but some were rather far- but again the bellman are super helpful. The restaurant hours were 7-7, seemed fine for golf but not for people staying there. They should really keep it open until 9 or so. Finding an adequate temperature in the shower felt like breaking into a safe with all the fine tuning required. Either scalding hot or ice cold, this was a bit annoying.

Overall the pros definitely outweigh the cons. The staff were super friendly, location is convenient and rooms were great. If you are looking for a great resort at a reasonable price then this is the place. Will be back next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horhay123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruce H, Resort Manager at Orange Tree Golf Resort, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Dear horhay123,

Thank you for your extensive review of our property. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your time here, and thank you for your kind comments about our staff and service levels.

We do apologize for the water temperature issue you experienced during your stay. This issue is being addressed with our Maintenance Manager. Your feedback is invaluable to enhancing the guest experience and we again thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience.

We do hope to see you again sometime soon!

Warm regards,

Bruce Hamm
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
2.6 mi away
Gainey Suites Hotel
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,451 reviews
5.1 mi away
Scottsdale Links Resort
Scottsdale Links Resort
#54 of 75 in Scottsdale
485 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sheraton Desert Oasis
Sheraton Desert Oasis
#8 of 75 in Scottsdale
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Scottsdale Villa Mirage
Scottsdale Villa Mirage
#46 of 75 in Scottsdale
420 reviews
14.3 mi away
Legacy Golf Resort
Legacy Golf Resort
#51 of 174 in Phoenix
623 reviews
3.3 mi away
The McCormick Scottsdale
The McCormick Scottsdale
#34 of 75 in Scottsdale
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orange Tree Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orange Tree Golf Resort

Property: Orange Tree Golf Resort
Address: 10601 N 56th St, Scottsdale, AZ 85254-4807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Paradise Valley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#18 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#43 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orange Tree Golf Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis in what was once an orange grove, the Orange Tree Golf Resort is one of Arizona's finest luxury golf vacation destinations. Unwind in luxuriously appointed guest suites featuring Tempur-pedic Sleep System Beds and a two-person whirlpool tub to relax in. When you are ready to venture out in the Scottsdale area be ready to experience anything from great shopping, art museums and the Phoenix Zoo. Not to mention the majestic Grand Canyon is a mere day trip away. In a setting that combines the first class amenities of a fine golf resort and the ambiance of a country club, The Orange Tree Golf Resort is the ideal destination for intimate getaways, family vacations, golf outings, and special events in Arizona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Orange Tree Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orange Tree Golf Hotel Scottsdale
Orange Tree Hotel
Orange Tree Resort
Orange Tree Golf Resort Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing