We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Management poor upkeep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley
Ranked #40 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bad Management poor upkeep”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I always stay at Marriotts-They are usually well maintained. Not here. The hotel is old and lacking alot of conveniences-no wireless internet, no king beds etc. But they are not maintaining the property and the management does not seem to care-The mattresses were stained. The bedding was torn. Even though I asked to speak to a manager no one ever responded. Very unusual experience for a Marriott.

Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jennig60097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia055, Property Sales Coordinator at Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your review on April 5th. We deeply regret the experience you had and offer our sincere apology. Our management team strives to ensure the comfort of our guests and places great value on your feedback. We contacted you by e-mail on March 29th in an attempt to help resolve the issues brought forth but did not receive a response. In our continued effort to meet and exceed guest expectations, we now offer complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel and King beds will be added to our suites this summer. Please contact myself or another member of our management team directly at 480-948-8666 if we can be of further assistance. Thanks again for your feedback. Edie Mayer, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    66
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
53
66
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I travel extensively and found this RIBM hotel to be exceptional in every way. The staff was very friendly, responsive and exceeded my expectations. The hotel is simply immaculate and the rooms and lobby decor was really awesome. I have stayed at other hotels in Scootsdale but will not stay anyplace else again.

I really liked the upscale feel of the hotel and the area in general. Iwould highly reccommend this Residence Inn and I am certain to be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank infinityG37_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

This newly renovated hotel is about 25 minutes north of the phoenix airport. The rooms are spacious and have a very nice kitchenette that looks nothing like the photo on this site from 2008. I will try to load an updated photo. It is within walking distance to restaurants and a drug store, but you will likely have a car if you are staying here. No extra charge for parking, and there's plenty of it. Three quibbles: 1. The nightly manager's reception is a nice touch, but unless you are a light and indiscriminate eater, you won't find much of a meal there. But it's a good place from which to meet others and head elsewhere. 2. As someone else noted, the exercise room really is a closet (well, it has a window, though). It has just three pieces of equipment: a treadmill, a bike, and an elliptical-all of which is quality equipment though. Pool is nice but built for lounging, not exercise. 3. Surprised at the cheesy plastic hangers in closet. A very accommodating staff. All in all, a good choice of suburban hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa ON
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Stayed here for a three night long weekend. The hotel is fine, rooms are large and the kitchen had full sized appliances and seemed well stocked. The breakfast was better than I expected with hot choices (scrambled eggs, sausage, french toast) and regular continental breakfast fare (oatmeal, waffles, muffins, yogurt, etc.). There's a grocery store about a block away and a Wallgreens as well as a choice of about 4 or 5 restaurants nearby. The "fitness room" was closet sized with a stationery bike and an eliptical (there may have been a treadmill, I can't remember). Staff were efficient. Pool and hot tub were nice and open 24 hours. Overall, not a bad place to stay but nothing truly memorable about it. Great price though!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stang1sk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

This updated property provides a restive place for settling in short or long term. Well maintained with all amenities. A bit noisy (a toilet and the road), not enough daily papers to go around, food bars a bit messy, and new towels are needed at the pool. Even so, a good stay with comfort, clean rooms, and courteous staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twogreynomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2011

ths was my first time in arizona overall, and i couldnt have found a more relazing peaceful place to be in for a business trip.
it felt like i was in my own aparment.
the bed was comfortable, the kitchen fully stocked with good quality crockery and cutlery. everything was really up to standard.
they offer a complimentary breakfast which i did not try, but thought i'd mention for those interested, and they have an evening light meal as well included in your suite charges.
the only concern i would have is, they only have queen beds available, so while it worked for me this time round since i was travelling alone, i wonder if i'll have to look for other accomodation if i'm to travel with my partner.
Also, perhaps i can recomment they have more of an array of bath amenities.
But otherwise, great customer service and a very happy traveller.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuwaidaBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia055, Property Coordinator at Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley, responded to this review, 28 October 2011
Thank you for your great feedback and for taking the time to add a review. The Residence Inn By Marriott - Scottsdale Paradise Valley will be replacing queen beds with kings in 2012. We hope to see you again on future visits to Scottsdale, AZ!

Regards, Management-Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cedar park, tx
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2011

This was our third time here in as many months so we knew what to expect. A stay of 11 nights again. We ended up changing rooms on the third day due to ours sharing a wall with the kitchen. We were not advised of this fact at checkin. The noise of the workers preparing breakfast woke us up each morning at 3:30am. The hotel was very nice about moving us to a quieter area of the hotel. If you are assigned room 214 please ask to be moved unless you are a very heavy sleeper.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awh825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley

Property: Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley
Address: 6040 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85253-5411
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#22 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#25 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment guests step into the lobby of Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley, they know they made the right decision. With a great location just 12 miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport PHX and minutes from Talking Stick Arena, home of the Phoenix Suns, our all-suites hotel attracts business and leisure guests alike. Each suite includes a fully equipped kitchen with granite countertops and stainless-steel appliances, plus separate living and sitting areas, an ideal setup for guests staying long term. Too busy to grocery shop? Leave our staff a list and you'll come back to a fully stocked fridge. Comfortable bedding and soundproof windows make for a great night's sleep in our Paradise Valley hotel suites, and free breakfast sets the day off on the right foot. Stop by The Residence Inn Mix in the evenings to mingle with other guests over cocktails, and be sure to share your experience with our free Wi-Fi. Book your stay today to enjoy the year-round sunshine at Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley Hotel Scottsdale
Scottsdale Residence Inn
Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing