We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty typical Residence Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley
Ranked #40 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago suburbs
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Pretty typical Residence Inn”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This appears to be an older property with recent interior updates. The units are accessed through the exterior of the building. The lobby is quite ugly, if that matters.

Front desk staff were efficient and polite. We had an issue with a scorpion in our room which I can understand is something that is native to the area. One suggestion to this hotel however is for the cleaning staff to not keep their carts stored outside where scorpions can climb into the towels and other toiletries.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yousah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edie M, General Manager at Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We appreciate your acknowledgement of our front desk team and will be sure to share your comments with them.

Marriott takes great pride in the regular upkeep and renovation of all properties, and our Residence Inn is no exception. We received a complete interior renovation in 2011 which included updates to our lobby as well as all guest suites. Although our new lobby has great appeal to the majority of guests, we understand that this is a personal preference.

As you mentioned in your review, we share the Sonoran Desert with other creatures who also consider it home. Although it is very rare that they venture indoors, this can happen on occasion. We greatly appreciate your feedback and hope that our staff handled the situation to your satisfaction.

Your comments are valued and much appreciated as we continually strive to exceed our guests’ expectations. We hope to see you again the next time you visit Scottsdale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    67
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
54
66
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed 60 days encompassing part of June, July, August. Room was only $59 per nite, great value. Front desk staff was great. If anything needed attention I just phoned or stopped by and told them what I needed and they took care of it. My efficiency had stainless steel appliances and granite countertops. There was a microwave, a 2 burner electric cooktop, garbage disposal, dishwasher, and refrigerator with icemaker. Kitchen was well stocked for in-room meal prep and refrigerator was full size compressor-type with icemaker, not a dorm room refrigerator. Granite countertops in bath area. The room was a little shopworn (someone had dropped the iron and burned an iron imprint into the carpet at one point and the microwave turntable didn't work) but overall it was comfortable and clean. The wireless internet connection is slow - okay for email checking and static webpage browsing but not much more. They advertised an upgraded speed for $12.95 a day but I never tried it. I ran my portable white noise machine at night when sleeping to help drown out any hotel noises (icemaker running, dishwasher running, door slams, people talking outside, etc.) I never tried the free breakfast, evening socials, or the pool. The only reason I'm doing 4 stars instead of 5 is that there is only one treadmill in the exercise room (plus a stationary bike, elliptical and free weights). I would have liked another treadmill because it was a popular item and was frequently in use so sometimes I made do with walks around the parking lot. The coin op laundry has 2 full size washers and 1 half load washer and 4 dryers. Detergent is available for purchase at the front desk for $1/box. The machines take $1 for wash and $1 for 40 minutes dry time. There is a Trader Joes and Walgreens in the next block and other grocery stores just a short drive away. There are restaurants across the street. This place was just a 15 minute drive from my work site, so very convenient in all respects. I will be returning later in the year and hope to get the same room because it became my home away from home.

Room Tip: I liked staying on the second floor even though you have to climb a flight of stairs. Section 9 is g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Polecat45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edie M, General Manager at Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We’ll be sure to share your positive comments with our Front Desk staff and are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our 2012 Gold Hotel Award which recognizes the top 10% of Residence Inns in overall guest satisfaction is a direct result of our outstanding team. Please know that your comments regarding the suite you stayed in have been shared with our maintenance team for immediate follow up. We appreciate your suggestion regarding the equipment in our onsite fitness room and will certainly take your comments into consideration as we are continuously striving to improve our property. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to having you as our guest the next time you’re in Scottsdale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Resisence Inn is usually better. I was in room 523. The carpet was stained, needs steamed or replaced. The pool are is not inviting. This is the most noisy Residence Inn I have stayed at. During the night you could hear doors slamming and water from other rooms running. The breakfast is average. The staff was welcoming. In all fairness my first impression may have was not positive by the drab exterior of the building and the fact that the rooms are not inside the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank notimeranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edie M, General Manager at Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Our property is proud to be the recipient of the 2012 Gold Hotel Award which recognizes the top 10% of Residence Inns in overall guest satisfaction. We’ll be sure to share your comments about our friendly and welcoming staff with our team. Our management strives to ensure the comfort of our guests and places great value on your feedback. We’re sorry to hear that we didn’t meet and exceed all of your expectations. The carpets in all guest suites were replaced in 2011 during our renovation and are steam cleaned regularly throughout the year. We’ll be sure to check the carpet you referred to and make certain that it meets our standards for cleanliness. Although our property is located in a quiet neighborhood setting and we typically don’t have much of a noise problem, there are occasions when a guest may check in late and open/close their door or run the water in their suite. Our complimentary daily hot breakfast buffet includes items such as fresh scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, oatmeal, yogurts, seasonal fruit, assorted Danishes, muffins, pastries, bagels, cereals, milk, juice, coffee, and tea. Our guests typically love this complimentary feature and enjoy the convenience of having breakfast available to them at the property. As with some Residence Inns, our suites have outdoor entrances. Many of our guests stay with us for an extended period of time and appreciate the privacy of their own entrance without the need to walk through our gatehouse in order to reach their room. Thanks again for your comments, we welcome any additional feedback on how we may further improve. We appreciate your business and hope you’ll give us the privilege to accommodate you on your next visit to Scottsdale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

This was a wonderful stay. The breakfast was great, the bed was comfortable, and the service was friendly. The room is clean, beautifully decorated and there is room to spread out. The nightly (M-THR) appetizers & drinks were delicious.

Helpful?
2 Thank harstadcm
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This was a nice retreat for us to 'get away' for the Memorial Day weekend - they absolutely accommodated all of our wish list which included a two room suite (so my Mother could come), pet-friendly, BBQ/entertainment area, swimming and basketball for the boys. The value was incredible with a kitchen so we could bring our own snacks and drinks, free full breakfast, BBQ grills so we could cook our own. It fit perfectly for our long weekend stay-cation. Recommend for family fun.

Room Tip: Several rooms face the pool and BBQ area so your choice if you want to be that close to the action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valdomx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edie M, General Manager at Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Thank you for the great feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We’re glad to hear that our two-bedroom suite offered plenty of space for you, your family, and your pet to relax and enjoy the holiday weekend. Our guests enjoy customizing their meals and the value we provide with options such as complimentary daily breakfast and evening social hour Monday-Thursday, outdoor BBQ grills, fully equipped kitchens, and complimentary grocery shopping service. Our 24-hour market is also a nice convenience for light snacks, beverages, or other necessities. Kids and adults alike enjoy the warm Sonoran Desert climate in our outdoor swimming pool and sports court. Thanks again for your review, we value your time and will be sure to share your comments with our entire team. We hope to see you on your next visit to Scottsdale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Stayed for five days just recently. Staff was friendly, room was spacious and well appointed with a kitchen etc. Beds as per usual Marriott are so comfy. We were there for four of the Social hours at night, and enjoyed the choice of beer/ and red or white wine. We ate there 3 of the 4 nights it was available, and found it to be quite good. They did BBQ one night, chicken fajitas another, and it was acutally quite good.

We bought a couple of steaks and used the grill one night, and took salad from the Social hour to go along with our meal. Oh and a couple of draft beers as well. There were misters by the Grills, so I turned them on, and made the warm evening so much nicer.

The breakfast choices were also good in the morning, Eggs, sausages, biscuits, waffles, fresh fruit, juice, coffee etc.

It was a great way to spend a few days, lazing by the pool, reading, shopping (when it got kinda hot in the afternoon).

All in all would go back for a few days, just to hang out.

Oh and Kudos to Elaine, who did the social hours, she looked like she could of used a hand, but managed to make everyone feel comfortable.
Also to the lady at the Breakfast hour. Another good person, who hustled to make sure everyone had something to eat.

Room Tip: A room on the first floor was nice. Close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Son_of_a_Sailor_51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edie M, General Manager at Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us. We take pride in our outstanding staff and consistently high guest satisfaction scores and will be sure to share your comments with Elaine and our team. Our spacious suites with fully equipped kitchens are a great fit for extended stays such as yours, offering the space and comfort to spread out and feel at home. Our guests enjoy having their options open when it comes to meals with our complimentary daily breakfast and evening social hour Monday-Thursday, outdoor grills, and fully equipped kitchens. We also offer complimentary grocery shopping service! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacation in Scottsdale, AZ and your stay with us. We hope for the opportunity to have you stay with us the next time you’re in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange County, CA
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

My experience on this hotel is over a perios of several weeks. I would usually fly in on a MOnday and out on a Friday. My first impression was with the front desk and they are all AWESOME. Especially Win.

The studio room was very comfortable. Great king size bed and wonderful pillows, nice bathroom and closet space, fantastic kitchen with full size fridge. Basic cable with HBO, decent, but not fast wirless (it is free). The cleaning staff did a great job.I stayed in several of their rooms and all were nice.

I would say that this is a great place for business travelers and a family with small children. Their breakfasts and evening meals are good. Free wine and beer in the evenining. Very close walking proximity to Trader Joe's, different restaurants and a Walgreen's.

Overall, I will absolutely stay here again as I thought it was a wonderful home away from home.

Room Tip: The rooms in the very back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcollett67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Downtown Scottsdale
HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley

Property: Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley
Address: 6040 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85253-5411
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#22 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#25 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The moment guests step into the lobby of Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley, they know they made the right decision. With a great location just 11 miles from Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport (PHX) and minutes from Talking Stick Arena, home of the Phoenix Suns, our all-suites hotel attracts business and leisure guests alike. Each suite includes a fully equipped kitchen with granite counter tops and stainless-steel appliances, plus separate living and sitting areas, an ideal setup for guests staying long term. Too busy to grocery shop? Leave our staff a list and you'll come back to a fully stocked fridge. Comfortable bedding and soundproof windows make for a great night's sleep in our Paradise Valley hotel suites, and free breakfast sets the day off on the right foot. Stop by The Residence Inn Mix in the evenings to mingle with other guests over cocktails, and be sure to share your experience with our free Wi-Fi. Book your stay today to enjoy the year-round sunshine at Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley Hotel Scottsdale
Scottsdale Residence Inn
Residence Inn Scottsdale Paradise Valley Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing