We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tad better than Motel 6 with lipstick”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town
Ranked #36 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Ok, it is in great location and yes it has been recently renovated, has new flooring, beds etc & opened as a new howard Johnson, but that's it. Remember this is AZ, most of the rooms face east- hot from 7 a.m., the towels are thin, few power cords , no vent in bathroom, pillows are hard. There was no working security latch on the front door.
We tried to call the front desk that had been staffed by a very nice guy but for 15 -20 minutes there was no answer on their phones .
The breakfast area was the size of half a room with very limited options. My wife was traveling with me and I was frankly scared to leave her alone with the other characters that were most single guys with tattoos and questionable looks. Sorry but this is one place I would skip.

Room Tip: Select a room facing south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristyL710, General Manager at Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Howard Johnson Scottsdale. I apologize that your experience was anything less than satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. We are very proud of our hotel and the total rennovation that was completed last winter.

It is our hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Again, I apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and hope to see you during your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 843 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2012

I planned a trip to play in a tournament in Scottsdale. I had friends who lived in Glendale, South Phoenix and Mesa. I didn't want most of my traveling to be in a car to/from my games. I opted for Howard Johnson on Indian School.

I normally stay with Hilton hotels, but this time around I was on a budget. When I came across Howard Johnson, I was a little skeptical of their $34.00/night room price. I read the recent reviews and felt I should take a chance. I am glad I did.

The location is right in the heart of Scottsdale. You are within walking distance to great shopping and restaurants. The staff here are friendly. The room was very nice. The bathroom was clean, there were complimentary toiletries (shampoo, conditioner, lotion), a mini-fridge and microwave in the room. I did not have any noise issues here. The pool was okay. My daughter loved it at night since the lights change colors.

Since you're not spending very much for the rooms here, use your extra cash to get breakfast elsewhere. The complimentary breakfast entails oatmeal, toast, bagels, yogurt, muffins and cold cereal. No meats, no eggs here. Again, you're minutes away from excellent dining options.

I enjoyed my stay and would gladly return to this same HoJo for future stays in the Scottsdale area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Careful T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristyL710, General Manager at Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Thank you so much for your great review of the Howard Johnson's Old Town Scottsdale. I am so pleased that we were able to exceed your expectations. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Nothing to write home about...but if you are looking for a convenient and clean motel for not a lot of money (hard to find in Scottsdale) this is a good place. It was apparently just renovated, and it was nicely done. The front desk clerk was very nice and friendly. He told me there was a free breakfast included, but I did not try it so I am unable to comment on that. The pool area is marginal at best, but I am sure the water would feel good enough in the summer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimmaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristyL710, General Manager at Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Howard Johnson Old Town. I am glad your stay was a pleasant one. Our goal is to provide our guests with a great room at a great price. Please come back and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

WOW......okay this might be a little winded but follow along. My wife and I travel quite a bit and its normal for us to do the red roof inn, best western and sometimes motel 6. we bypass the ultra fancy places preferring to spend our budget on resturants. Okay so we were making plans to travel to Scottsdale and decided to check out prices on Priceline. We were looking in the 60-80 price range which in the hot summer gets you a little better than Red Roof. But oh the horrible reviews everywhere. so then we run across this jem listed @ 34.00 bucks a night. normally even on a budget this price screams "run down-run away" But the reviews told a different story. So believing the reviews we took a chance and booked the room. First impression was our call to the front desk to reserve the room. Donna took our reservation and was so friendly and nice it almost seemed wrong. the kinda of friendliness that says "hey I am buying a ferrari for cash.These guys love me. Yeah serious that kinda of friendly. And it was the same on check in. Never.......... and in almost any interaction with people who work with the public have we been treated so well. Andrew also at the front desk actually brought menus to our room after we called to see who delivers in this area. ... The Manager Krystie truly cares about the travelers who stay here and has made sure her empolyees are the very best in customer service and its a total pleasure. The service is so good the place could have been a s**t hole and we would have been happy. Yeah its that good. But rest assured the place is exceptionally nice. Most places that we stay if you get a No Smoking Room" all thats seems to mean is recently No smoking" The smell of old smoke in the carpets and walls. Well not here. its all new. Carpet, paint. Beds everything. Super clean and smells awesome. And OH the beds......I can not even explain how soft and comfy these bed are.....No crappy thin pillows either....fat and fluffy........Was a total pleasure how quiet and laid back this place is......and I never call anyting perfect....but if the shoe fits.....super close to old town, good eats and bars everywhere...perfect.........So HONESTLY due yourself a favor dont be scared by the $34.00 price tag......just pretend its $60.00-$70.00 a night and you will be impressed. and best of all its really not.....

Room Tip: *also includes a free continental breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 5 July 2012

Thank you so much for posting this wonderful review about the Howard Johnson's Old Town Scottsdale. I am so pleased that you and your wife enjoyed your stay. I hope this will be the first of many visits to our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed here for two nights, while touring Arizona, it has been newly updated it is clean and modern, with a fridge and microwave. The pool area is very nice with plenty of sunbeds we stayed there in June so the pool was really appreciated. Breakfast was continental style with plenty of choice, cereals bagels fruit yogurt coffee. The staff were polite and helpful, and I would stay there again
.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Howard Johnson's Scottsdale. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Stayed here for a quick getaway. Was clean, newly renovated. Would stay here again. No hot breakfast, but it was enough. Cold cereal, toast, bagels, fruit, muffins, juice, coffee. Walking distance to lots of restaurants/shops.

Room Tip: We were close to the office, near the street, but didn't hear any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CristyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

We appreciate your review of our property and are very happy you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This hotel hits all the marks. Service, room quality and rate. I stayed here for several weeks while looking for a new home in the area. The hotel was just a few weeks old when I checked in so everything was brand new from the staff right down to the sheets. Everything exceeded my expectations of what I thought a hotel of this brand was going to be. Those old enough to remember when HoJo's all had orange roofs will know that things have changed over the years.
The rooms are quiet, comfortable and well suited for a few nights or, in my case, a few weeks. I can't speak enough about the staff. Everyone made me feel like a special guest and like I was at "home". In the end, isn't that really what a hotel should feel like?

Room Tip: Ask for a 2nd floor room in the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank irishguyinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2012

Thank you for your review! We love hearing how much you enjoyed your time here with us and are pleased to know you were happy with the renovation/new ownership/management and staff. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Comfort Suites Old Town
#56 of 75 in Scottsdale
207 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
3 Palms Hotel
#38 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town

Address: 7110 E Indian School Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-3808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: £52 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Old Town Scottsdale, our Howard Johnson Scottsdale, AZ, hotel is just minutes from famed restaurants, nightlife, premiere shopping and casinos. Our 100% non-smoking, hotel is near Arizona State University as well as many major businesses and corporations. Sleep soundly in your comfortable hotel room, complete with a microwave, refrigerator, 37-inch flat-screen HD TV and free high-speed wireless Internet access, then wake to our complimentary continental breakfast and take a dip in our heated outdoor pool. Ask our friendly, about our two-room suites or deluxe king and two-double bed rooms. Kids 17 and under stay free at our Scottsdale hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Old Town Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Rodeway Inn Scottsdale
Scottsdale Rodeway Inn
Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing