We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town
Ranked #37 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    312
    153
    59
    24
See reviews for
198
235
87
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Upon arrival out room wasn't ready. The manager went out to find out what was the hold up and After waiting too long I had to go find her to see if we could enter out room yet..she yelled from the 2nd story that our room was ready, so we went and our keys wouldn't work..we had already unloaded our car so I called to ask them to bing us a working key and the lobby girl said she was the only one in the lobby and I had to come back to get the key myself...had to load up my car again and went to lobby to find her and the manager there...she wasn't by herself. The room was clean. At check out the same rude manager from before was just as rude as the day prior... I would much rather pay more at a nicer place for better service.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenLynnSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristyL710, General Manager at Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
I have received your review and do apologize that you had issues during your check in. Karen the front desk clerk that you dealt with, not the manager was here by herself at the time you arrived. The desk is only staffed by one desk clerk during the day and they are advised that they cannot leave the area unattended. When you came back up for the key the evening girl must have arrived. I do apologize that you feel you were treated rudely, there is never an excuse for poor service. I hope that you would give us another chance and come back and try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Was excited to arrive. Just to pull back the blankets as I always do to inspect they were actually changed. Found hairs, small black particles abd it looked like it had been rolled in, slept in, you get the idea. I know this isn't a 5 star place , but I would expect them to replace linens, towels etc. Renovate. I called down and the clerk brought up new bedding, wrong size, called again, new bedding. More hairs , more stains. Maybe train housekeeping on doing laundry. Don't over fill washing machine so laundry agitates properly , results are cleaner. I don't know what the problem is. I just was to exhausted after driving ask day to end up changing sheets and waiting at 11pm. First negative review I've had to write. Positive. Helpful desk clerks. They tried. Not there fault.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherinaKDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Best descriped as "Cheap and Cheerful", this is not a 5 star Hotel; however, it is very nice, comfortable and clean. It is reasonably priced and the big plus is the location. Just a few minutes walk south will take you into Old Town Scottsdale with all of it's shopping, art district, and restaurants and a short walk north will take you to the 5th Avenue shopping area and restaurants. We found the staff to be very friendly. The Continental Breakfast was adequate with a nice selection of bagels, fruit, and cereral. Trying to find out what was on TV was a challenge as there is no "guide" on the cable TV to find when a particular program was being shown. We stayed 3 nights and will definitely stay there again the next time we visit Scottsdale.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms would be quieter; however, there is no elevator access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garymstoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KristyL710, General Manager at Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town, responded to this review, 21 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and found the staff and facilities convenient and accommodating. We hope you will choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Scottsdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Downtown Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town
Best Western Plus Sundial
#36 of 75 in Scottsdale
631 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town

Property: Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town
Address: 7110 E Indian School Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-3808
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Old Town Scottsdale, our Howard Johnson Scottsdale, AZ, hotel is just minutes from famed restaurants, nightlife, premiere shopping and casinos. Our 100% non-smoking, recently renovated hotel is near Arizona State University as well as many major businesses and corporations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn Old Town Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Rodeway Inn Scottsdale
Scottsdale Rodeway Inn
Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing