We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Scottsdale location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scottsdale Camelback Resort
Ranked #15 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 February 2013

This resort is in a perfect location for a vacation in Scottsdale. You will find the beds super comfy, and the staff extra friendly. Our favorite resort activity was a prickly pear margarita pool-side followed by relaxation in the hot tub. This is a perfect spot for families. You will find many activites on-site to entertain all. We enjoyed our stay very much!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mgmaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (920)
There are newer reviews for Scottsdale Camelback Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

784 - 790 of 920 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2013

I have been in all of the rooms. Everyone single one is roomy, well kept and well decorated, very cozy. From the front desk, to the pool, to the management everyone greats you with a smile and is very helpful. The grille serves great food, not to mention you can pretty much walk to all the excitement that Downtown Scottsdale has to offer. If you're looking to overpay for hype, this is not the place. If you want a great room with a great location and amenities, then go to Scottsdale Camelback Resort.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I booked through AA using AAdvantage miles; when it came time to check out they acted like I was paying with Confederate dollars. I showed the voucher when I checked in (late at night) so I assumed all was well. The real irritant was the desk didn't want to try and resolve the problem with AA, that was my problem. It got worked out, thanks to the helpful people at the AA travel desk but it highlights the lack of service this place offers overall.

The first place you need to go after you check in is a grocery store. There are no dining options other than the pool side grill, and it doesn't open until 8 AM. Not even coffee in the lobby. Also, the property is not located within walking distance of anything so you either bring it in the unit, or get in the car.

As the desk reminded me several times, this is a "time-share" and not a hotel. Thanks.

We had the studio which was well-built and comfortable. They combine the living area and the open king-bed area for TV purposes so if you like to watch TV in bed this doesn't work. Nice bathroom with whirlpool, well lit, water was hot and lighting was good. There is a queen bed in the loft area with a small wall mounted TV, but no bathroom.

Wifi was free but I could never get a strong enough signal in my unit to do any good.

As mentioned in other reviews, this is a nice place for what it is. Maybe its my fault for not doing my homework but the normal conveniences of the modern travel world have passed this place by. Not having a dining room is ok, but free breakfast, decent wifi and maybe a stocked mini-mart in the lobby are pretty much basic these days. This property is the Scottsdale of 30 years ago, not the one today with so many new resorts with all the bells and whistles, for about the same pricing.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get the 1 bedroom unit over the studio even if you are travleing solo or as a couple...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank theWimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013 via mobile

The resort is in a prime location!
It is near Old Town , restaurants and other attractions. If you don't want to leave the property, you can eat onsite at The Grille. There is the beautiful view of the mountain. For those that like to hike ... The trail is in walking distance. Sara and the rest of the front desk staff were great! Actually all the staff was friendly and helpful.
Gerry was wonderful (concierge )! They gave a welcome mtg to let you know about various tours and activities !
The size of the villas is wonderful! There is plenty of room for our family of 4 to spread out . We could spend time together or do our own thing and there was plenty of space for both. You definitely got the feel of Arizona from the decor. I would definitely recommend this to everyone! There is even a kokopelli trail on site to walk or run .

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bootravel01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

On Camelback Road about 1/2 mile from Fashion Square and Old Town, great location for restaurants, shopping, and sightseeing.

We had a studio unit with a bit of an unusual layout. The kitchen, bathroom, living area, and a king bed sleeping area were on the main floor; the second floor had a sleeping area with two beds and a small balcony. The arrangement would work well for a family but might be a bit crowded for two couples. The kitchen was nicely appointed with a small refrigerator, cooking surface, microwave, coffee maker, and toaster. A small washer/dryer combo also. The living area is separated from the sleeping area by a pull drape, reminded me of a hospital suite. Wood burning fireplace, flat screen TV, and a small iPod compatible stereo.

Unit was clean when we arrived and maid service re-freshed on Wednesday. Tub is a Jacuzzi unit with one of those anemic water-saver shower heads.

Bed was very comfortable. Thermostat is upstairs which is a bit inconvenient and the a/c seems to turn on and off a lot. LIghting was good for reading in bed and was excellent in the bathroom for doing makeup.

Front desk staff was very helpful and all the staff were friendly and welcoming. We had a light bulb out in the kitchen and it was replaced within a half hour of my reporting it. Nice pool area with an adjacent grill and restaurant, full gym by the spa downstairs and neither seemed to be used much. There is a walking trail through the property; it's not very scenic but does allow you to walk off the main roads.

No resort fee but wi-fi in the room is $5 a day; free computer access in the lobby. The concierge was helpful and knowledgeable and our only issue was that one set of directions we were giiven was incorrect.

Room Tip: Our room was B29, directly across the drive from the pool, ice machine, and lobby. Very quiet and o...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 65oski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

My wife, son and I have chosen the rigth place to relax for a week in Scottsdale.This resort combines confortable and spacious units (we had a two bedroom two baths) with professional and polite people 24hrs at front desk.The idea of little slips of paper with driving directions to nearby shops, malls and supermarkets is time saving and very convenient.An active consierge is another plus , organizing a meeting with local tour operators to help foreign travellers like us to make the most of a short stay. City tours, hot baloon rides and desert exploration in special vehicles are among the suggested tours.

Room Tip: .Ask for a unit away from the front of the resort and the possible noisy and busy Camelback Road.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yagoelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed here in Nov12.
The unit was a 2 bedroom suite that was very comfortable and roomy. We stayed with another couple and it was nice for each of us to have our own restroom facilities. The washer and dryer was handy too. Yes the outdoor patio is odd being all enclosed with a 6 foot wall. It was ok...we never sat out there anyways as the trees around blocked the direct sunlight into the patio. It was nice opening the back door and having the privacy of no one/critter could make their way into our unit. (we always had the door locked when we left)
The pool area is nice and quiet...not too cold and the hot tub is open late. Free aquasize was offered most days.
We did a costco shop to fill up our fridge and enjoyed many meals with the well equiped kitchen. We had fridge problems and the night staff brought us a cooler with ice to make due before the morning staff came with a new fridge at 8am. Not a choice time for delivery but we were grateful for the outstanding service.
We bought the internet with their server and were able to just buy the specific days that we wanted internet.
A gps unit is really helpful to have for the area..everything is very spread out.
We had plenty of things to keep us busy in the area. The men booked a golf day with Standby golf. We did a boat trip on the Desert Belle, a jeep ride in Sedona, and of course shopping at the great Arizona Mills Outlet mall in Tempe.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DoreenH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,478 reviews
Hotel Valley Ho
#8 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
#22 of 75 in Scottsdale
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottsdale Camelback Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Camelback Resort

Address: 6302 E Camelback Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1997
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#7 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#27 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: £160 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scottsdale Camelback Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scottsdale Camelback Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Camelback Hotel Scottsdale
Scottsdale Camelback Resort Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing