We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Stay. More than I Expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Scottsdale Camelback Resort
Ranked #13 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I arrived at this resort expecting the same old, ho hum room. I was sadly mistaken. I rented the studio for a quick get away by myself and the place was amazing. The studio was the size of a one bedroom apartment with all the comforts of home. Wifi, MP3 dock, flatscreen, kitchen and washer and dryer. I was especially impressed with the walkout balcony overlooking the pool area. Lots of room up there and a view of the little party going on over at the pool. The restaurant staff at the pool grille, were very accomodating and were eager to please. The front desk staff were pleasant and fun to talk to as well.. I have always looked for a resort like this, when I travel to Phoenix, from Minnesota, but for some reason, I either did not see this one, or thought maybe the price might have been out of my range. Either way,the price and value of the room are very reasonable, and I plan on making this little gem my getaway, hideaway in the future. Very confortable and relaxing

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Scottsdale Camelback Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Wow! We are excited that you found our resort to be your "gem"! We can not wait to have you back for many more vacations!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

817 - 823 of 961 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

I can't say enough about this place! We loved our 2 bedroom unit - it was HUGE! Every afternoon after our morning touring or activities, we headed to the pool. We were always able to find chairs and swim without knocking elbows. It was a very friendly place. We enjoyed pool V-ball and when we got hungry, the mini burgers and prickly pear margaritas were super! They have daily 1/2 price on certain drinks from 3-6, so we took advantage of that every day. There were lots of other activities that were available - 2 tennis courts, a small mini golf course, and my childhood favorite, croquet. They also had 'duckie' chess set up in the lobby which we had fun playing as well. They also had a sand v-ball court, grills in several spots and a nice path with labels cactuses. We loved having a kitchen and laundry in our unit. We ate breakfast every morning on our porch in the beautiful weather. We loved it. It wasn't too big and not too small

There are so many fun things to do closeby as well. We took a drive out to the Superstition Mountains and hiked at the state park there. We continued on to Tortilla Flats - scenery not to be missed. Tortilla Flats was packed with a band playing and a large restaurant. I'd highly recommend it - I believe it took about :30 to get to Superstition Mtns. and then another :30? to Tortilla Flats. We also hiked Camelback - I'd recommend walking from the hotel. We drove to park near the entrance, but it was so busy that it wouldn't have been much longer to just walk from the hotel. The zoo and the botanical gardens are only about 10 minutes away. So, you can't go wrong with the location!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LounBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Scottsdale Camelback Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Thank you for your 5 star review! We are ecstatic that you found our signature Prickly Pear Margarita delicious and that you thoroughly enjoyed the resort! Glad you got to explore Arizona's beautiful mountains as well! We can not wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Our third stay at this comfortable resort-we had a 2 bedroom and 2 bath unit that was spotless and recently refurbished. Response from the front desk was immediate and all staff was polite and friendly-all in all a wonderful resort in a very convenient location. We are looking forward to next year!

Room Tip: We have only stayed in a first floor unit and did not hear anything from the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ahabcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Scottsdale Camelback Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Good to hear you thought are renovated rooms rocked! As for the staff, we love helping you with a smile. Visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

beatifull piece of property well maintained and clean, the pool is awsome place and spa is tops....yuo have a stunning view of camelback mountain, close to phoenix.......it is a little spendy, we felt we got we paid for here.

Room Tip: we stayed in 2 different villas both were excellent.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Roxy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Scottsdale Camelback Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

We work hard to keep our resort clean and beautiful for you. Having Camelback Mountain in our backyard provides great views for our guests! Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

This resort was everything you could wish for and more. While there may be more high quality resorts near by the Scottsdale Camelback is by far the best bargain in Scottsdale. We stayed in a 3 bedroom (Barcelona C17) townhome that had all the essentials you needed in making your stay as comfortable as possible. The king master was outstanding which connects to the other bedroom upstairs and you share a large bathroom with a jacuzzi. The connecting bedroom had single beds and the bedroom on the first floor had a queen. We also had a pull out couch which made this perfect for 2 or 3 families. The unit sits close to the pool area and the clubhouse. What really suprised me is that you received basically 14 free continental breakfeasts for your week stay. If you wanted to upgrade your meal they take $3.00 off and so 2 eggs,bacon on a muffin plus coffee was $1.99. The grill while it is small has some great food. Now lets talk about the pool. Its a salt water pool that is very relaxing and never crowded. You can float around the pool and while some people have said it was small its not. You have a childrens pool with a shower in the middle of the pool plus a hot tub for adults only. None of these pools were ever dirty and the upkeep on the grounds is immaculate. There are 3 tennis courts right next to the pool with putting greens and walking trails nearby. In fact hiking Camelback Mountain is a treat. Its approximately 1 1/2 miles from the resort . The drinks are also fantastic by the pool with very friendly bartenders. Watching sports at the pool bar is very convenient and I even watched the games from the pool. It is approximately 2 hours to Sedona and 4 hours to the Grand Canyon. They have a free breakfast every Monday and bring in representatives of many of the tours. There are so many positive things I can say about our stay but this resort and the management deserve all the credit in providing an Oasis in Scottsdale.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ronald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Scottsdale Camelback Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

We LOVE that you took full advantage of all of our amenities here! It sounds like your stay with us was a nice getaway for you. We enjoyed having you and look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed for our 2nd year in a row here last week. We loved it again! Very nice Rooms, very helpful staff. Great pool area! Location is perfect.... 2 minute drive to downtown Scottsdale. Awesome view of the mountain in the background. We will be back again next year!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RElosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Scottsdale Camelback Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Glad you were pleased with your second stay. We like seeing familiar faces!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This is NOT the Phoenician...but for the price we had a very comfortable stay. Our room was a studio with a loft. The place is dated, but very clean. The accomodations had a comfortable bed with a refrigerator, stove, and microwave in the room. The pool was big enough and it had a bar, music, lots of towels and a lot of sunshine. The people that work at the front desk were all friendly and helpful. It is down the street from the highend Fashion Mall and within walking distance to a hike up Camelback. The property is all time shares, but we were only staying for a part of a week and the price was affordable for Spring Break in the Southwest.
Wish they would change the scent of the cleaning fluid they used in the rooms, otherwise a nice stay

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MamaG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie W, Manager at Scottsdale Camelback Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
The McCormick Scottsdale
#32 of 75 in Scottsdale
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottsdale Camelback Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Camelback Resort

Address: 6302 E Camelback Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1997
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#27 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: £158 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scottsdale Camelback Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Scottsdale Camelback Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Camelback Hotel Scottsdale
Scottsdale Camelback Resort Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing