We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend for Business or Leisure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town
Ranked #35 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Recommend for Business or Leisure”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town (SMSOT) is a nice hotel working to become even better. Right now there is some continuing renovation that makes it a bit noisy during the day, but this is a reasonable, clean place that provides a business traveler with a large suite where you can meet, work and sleep in peace. Although I heard some other guests in the elevator complaining of the renovation noise, it was not so noticeable and, at any rate, it should be finished soon.

As the name suggests, SMSOT is on the edge of the Old Town shops in downtown Scottsdale, about 25 minutes from Sky Harbor Airport and as close to the main Phoenix metro thoroughfares and interstates as any other neighborhood in the region. Self parking is $9.00/day, valet $13.00/day. The neighborhood seems safe and simple common sense should be all you need; I noticed the room door did not always close without an extra push or tug.

The staff tends to be young and casually polite. Of course, if you’re one of those people who need to be attended by liveried staff hanging on to your every utterance while sputtering “sir” or “ma’am,” Phoenix may not be for you anyway.

As mentioned, the lobby is being renovated so check-in is at an odd end of the hall; this will be resolved soon and, since it’s near the valet, it’s not inconvenient. The “business center” consists of several computers and printers in a public hall, and I assume that will be corrected with the renovations.

The lobby, elevators, halls and outside grounds are well-maintained and were always clean. The fitness center has plenty of Life-Fitness and Precor machines as well as dumbbells and a partial nautilus. The outdoor pool appeared to be clean. No reason for the average person to seek a public gym during your stay.

Although I did not use them this time, during a winter 2011 trip I found the restaurant and bar about as good as any you will find in Marriott, with the local weather advantage of being able to dine outside for breakfast.

The rooms were spotless, with attention to details that indicates someone checks up on the work. A small refrigerator (again, clean) is provided in the sitting room; I’d recommend they install microwaves, but also suspect you could ask for one. HD televisions in the sitting and bed room receive HBO and HD Net. All of the plumbing drained well and there was no shortage of hot water. The bed linen was clean, no bugs, and a firm mattress. The thermostat worked and the cooling system was quiet. Sleep quality was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AMysteriousTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    192
    33
    15
    5
See reviews for
57
124
19
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

I travel to Scottsdale a lot for business, and always stay at this Marriott. They are currently re-doing the lobby, but everything else is top notch. The rooms are true suites. The bedroom has frosted french doors that you can close if you need privacy. The main room is really big, with a butler's bar area that has a frig, coffee maker and your standard ice bucket. Only draw back is there is no microwave. There is a seperate shower and bathtub, with doors closing off everything if needed. There's plenty of parking in the garage, but you will pay for it. There are plenty of places to eat nearby, but the hotel's food is pretty good. Old Town is just a block away.

Room Tip: The beds are great and there's plenty of pillows
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hdcspike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

The Marriott was just as I expected... Right in the middle of Old Town, everything was a short walk (within 20 minutes) away. We got a King/Balcony/View suite, which was very spacious, clean and modern. Two flat screens, a separate shower/bath and mini fridge but no Microwave. The A/C did not have a vent in the bath/toilet area but the temperature was within a few degrees from the rest of the suite. The "Mountain View" is just a little hill, but still nice. $9 for self parking in the underground garage but it was very convinient not having to drag luggage through the streets for check in and out.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nd02155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas tx
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Can't recommend this hotel enough and thru others' reviews they were correct. The staff could not be nicer; the room was wonderful; french doors to the bedroom. It was for my 60th birthday and they put champaign/chocs. in room returning from our dinner. Walk out back of hotel and u are in Old Town. Thanks Staff for a lovely stay.

Room Tip: went on line
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnsley, england
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

My husband and I have just spent 3 nights at the Old Town Suites. The room size was great and the standard of cleanliness was excellent, furnishings neat and tidy and the bed was comfy. However, we were there during the spring baseball training sessions and the whole place was buzzing with fans. Although this meant for a fantastic atmosphere during the day and evening, it resulted in little sleep at night due to the noise from drunken revellers making their way to their hotels in the early hours of the morning. This is obviously out of the control of the hotel so I am not blaming them. I would stay here again but I would insist on having a room to the back of the hotel. We were given free breakfast at the hotel to compensate for the inconvenience.

Room Tip: Book a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0003she
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

The Marriott was a great experience. It was my friend and I's first time to Phoenix and this hotel was in the best location, we walked everywhere. There are many great restaurants nearby and the fashion square mall is a 10 minute walk. The front desk service was very very good, very accommodating and made our stay! They were able to get us into a beautiful room at an early check-in, and allowed us to store our bags and use the pool area on our last day after we checked out as our flight was leaving late. The rooms are a good size, clean and the bed was very comfortable. The staff are very helpful, friendly and we felt they always wanted to check in to make sure our stay was going well. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reenato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Americus, Georgia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

I've stayed at this hotel twice in the past month for business. What an enjoyable stay! I get a lot of work done in this hotel. Could I change it into my office?? The room is spacious and well laid out. You have to pay for parking under the hotel, but I see that a lot of people park on the street. The hotel is conveniently located to everything and I love that I can walk around. I would love to bring my family here at some point and we would definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bienemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Downtown Scottsdale
HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
Courtyard Scottsdale Old Town
Courtyard Scottsdale Old Town
#26 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Aloft Scottsdale
#62 of 75 in Scottsdale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town

Property: Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town
Address: 7325 E 3rd Ave, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-3902
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Downtown Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#34 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#42 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town Hotel Scottsdale
Marriott Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott Hotel Old Town
Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing