We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town
Ranked #38 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
275 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed 11 February 2009

Stayed January 17 - 24, 2009
Nicely appointed suites with separate bedroom with King Bed and a living room area with a pull down queen murphy bed and also a pull out sofa. TV in bedroom and also in living room area. Small wet bar with mini fridge but no microwave. There was a small coffee pot in the room.
Business center was free downstairs with only 2 computers but $13 per day for wi-fi in the room. Parking fees were ridiculous at $9.00 for self-park and $13 per day for valet. However, free parking on the street if you could find a spot. Breakfast for Platinum members is free (up to 2 people) otherwise, about $19 per guest for the buffet).
There is a small pool and an excellent fitness center that is free and open 24 hours.
When approached, the staff was very helpful with restaurant suggestions although not very friendly. The valet was extremely friendly and helpful.
The suites are in walking distance to Downtown Scottsdale, Old Town, Art galleries, and also the Fashion Square Mall as well as many fine restaurants and a delicious gelato place on the corner. Couldn't ask for a better location. Additionally, the airport is only about 15 -20 minutes away.
Would definitely consider staying here again in the future but would look for a parking spot on the street.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Ridiculous parking fees
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Tranquillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    192
    34
    16
    5
See reviews for
57
125
20
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Layton, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
560 reviews
187 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2009

We stayed here for the Phoenix marathon. The previous year we stayed at the Hyatt Summerfield suites just down the road, so we are comparing costs incurred between the two hotels.

The Marriott charges $9 per day to self-park your car. There is no free breakfast whatsoever. The room service breakfast will run you $15 or more for something decent. INTERNET ACCESS IS $13/DAY !!!! There was no free WiFi!! All these additional charges make the Hyatt look a lot cheaper (especially with a full kitchen).

We did not have a kitchen of any type at this hotel -- only a small refrigerator. There wasn't even any utensils in the room! No microwave, no bathroom fan.

The room was nicely decorated. The fitness center is excellent and open 24 hours. The outdoor hot tub is very small and uninviting. The hotel restaurant (and room service) has very little vegetarian or healthy options.

We were charged $4 for water we did not drink. When we went to the front desk to straighten out our bill, there were others in front of us with similar complaints. The sole person behind the counter did not even ask "how was your stay". The bill was resolved.

Our room faced the front of the building, and we could hear the voices of the valet drivers (and shuttle drivers). On the last morning, they began maintenance of the fountain at 7 AM (and we heard those workers). Thankfully we were only annoyed by outdoor noises and not adjacent rooms.

I can't believe that a hotel can charge $13/day for Internet access and get away with it. I will return to the Hyatt Summerfield Suites next time.

  • Liked — Fitness center
  • Disliked — Add on costs
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Outdoorpartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2009

Absolutely loved our stay here. The location is perfect - within walking distance of a lot of good restaurants and shops, and a short drive to a fantastic mall. The rooms are very nice, with plenty of room to stretch out.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BubbaJean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2008

I stay here several times a year for business, and have found this location a great alternative to the centrally-situated but otherwise nondescript airport vicinity properties. Old Town Scottsdale location takes a few minutes to reach from the airport, but provides numerous dining and walking options right out the front door, which you would only otherwise find in a far more expensive resort setting.

Large rooms have 2 flat-screens, hvac units, and the space to really let you feel really comfortable on a multi-night stay, but is equally refreshing for a one-nighter.

Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank davidandrose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2008

First, you must know that I am silver Elite with Marriott so I was able to book this hotel at an very nice rate and have guaranteed late check-out. Although, it has pretty darn good weekend rates for just about anyone!

I live in Phoenix and had 2 girlfriends coming to visit. I no longer have a guest room at home, so I needed to pick a place for us to stay that wasn't too far from everything we wanted to do and didn't blow my "fun" budget! Shopping (of course) and a show at the Celebrity Theatre were on our list -- so that meant pretty much meant central Scottsdale and the Old Town area was perfect!

In my reservation, I had a made a note that this was a "girls night out". So, upon check-in, we were upgraded to one of the Presidential Suites! Oh, so cool! Although, from what I've seen, other than more space, 2 balconies, a double size wet bar, conference area (with huge, 3rd TV), and bigger living room TV and furniture, it was very comparable to any of the regular suites here, too. What a way to start our stay! Us "girls" though have to comment that this hotel, as many are anywhere, is geared towards men business travelers. These are by no way "complaints" but observations -- sink counter space in the bathroom was non-existent. Not even enough space for 1 woman to spread out her cosmetics, etc. The robes were huge! (man-size) We had to search for the hair-dryer.

I am an extremely picky traveler, often asking for a different room, etc. Cleanliness is very important to me and this room did not disappoint. In fact, the carpet even felt good on bare feet! It was clean and fresh and soft!

The suite was equipped with standard glasses and coffee mugs. We needed plates and utensils for our own snacks we had brought, as well as wine glasses. The restaurant readily handed us everything we needed, including a sharp knife for cutting cheese and salami, and offered to bring anything we needed to our room (we're cheap and got it ourselves as we didn't want to keep tipping the help).

When we realized we needed more towels, we called and they were delivered in less than 10 minutes. Ditto when we wanted more pillows and blankets, too.

Valet parking was $13. I didn't even inquire as to self-park. And street parking -- well, it's Scottsdale and there are all kinds of parking restrictions and well... The boys working/running the valet were a real pleasure! Always cheerful and smiling and confident, but not cocky. I felt very comfortable leaving my new car in their hands. They were wonderful -- if I called for the car on the way down to the lobby it was there waiting for us with them handing me the keys and opening doors for all of us -- really, everything you expect from and want valet service to be!

Didn't eat at the hotel restaurant -- too many other excellent choices nearby, including Pearl and the Breakfast Club! (both, highly recommended!)

We asked for a late checkout and could keep the room until 4pm, although, we left about 2... A nice, unrushed, relaxing way to end our stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of bathroom counter space (How picky is THAT?)
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank suzyav8trix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2008

This hotel was in a great location to walk to Old Town and very reasonably priced. Our suite was beautiful. We had a living room with a wet bar w/refrigerator and desk and french doors leading into the bedroom. There are two large flat screen Tv's in the living room and bedroom.. They even had a separate bath tub as well as a large shower. They had a very nice pool area as well as a bar and restaurant, although we did not use the restaurant or the pool. They had a free parking garage so you could take your car out whenever you wanted to and also had valet parking for those who desired.

The only disappointment was that there was no literature in the lobby about what was going on in the Scottsdale area. If you asked at the front desk, all they gave you was a map with a list of restaurants on the back. I knew more of what was going on than they did. They also never mentioned that there was a free trolly that would take you all over downtown Scottsdale.

  • Liked — The Room and the Location
  • Disliked — The Front Desk and Lack of Information
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PASANDYBAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2008

Spent a lovely 4 nights at the Marriott Suites. For those of you contemplating staying here but are worried about the ongoing renovations, worry no more - they are finished. With the rooms anyway - they are now working on the conference rooms on the main and 2nd floors and are scheduled to be done by the end of the November.

Looking at previous member photos, the renos have done this property good. The rooms have a very fresh, contemporary look and look amazing. Comfortable furniture and two large flat screen tvs in the room. The tv in the living space had a multimedia attachment where you could connect anything under the sun to the tv (laptop, dvd, game console etc etc). Good sized work desk. WiFi is not available in the rooms yet (but is coming we're told) but wired internet is available for $10/day (this price also includes all phone calls, long distance included). The front desk manager was in a generous mood when we checked in and waived the fee for our stay which obviously won them brownie points. Free underground parking and $15/day valet. Lots of free on-street parking as well if your vehicle is oversized.

Beds were very soft - I prefer a harder bed but it was still comfortable. Linens and stuff were top notch. The iHome clock radio had an iPod connector and allowed you to wake up to your iPod which I really liked. Huge bathroom with a separate shower and tub. The bathroom was the only bad point of our stay, and is what kept the hotel from getting a 5 star rating from me. Hot water, or lack of, was a constant issue. I don't know if it was our room location (5th floor in the corner) or what but hot water always took forever to get to our taps, especially at night. We would take a shower, with the taps on full hot (and the water would be just warm) - then 5 minutes into the shower you would get scalded when the super hot water arrived. Not a show stopper as once we knew it took that long for hot water to arrive, we adjusted but it's something I have never encountered at a large hotel.

We ate in the restaurant once for dinner (arrival day; was tired and didn't feel like looking for a place to eat) and a couple times for breakfast. To our surprise the prices were very reasonable (with the exception of the $20 breakfast buffet which was way overpriced for what you got). Food was pretty good for hotel grub. Service was always excellent, especially in the bar. Yes - there are lots of good restaurants around the hotel but the hotel restaurant offered convenience at a reasonable price.

One of the things I judge a hotel by is the problems encountered. Not by what problems we encounter because mistakes happen but by how the hotel handles those problems. The Marriott was exemplary in that aspect. We had a few small problems but all were handled within minutes with many apologies. The 'highlight' per se was our toilet. It wouldn't shut off and by morning had developed a small leak. On our way out we let the front desk know - again many apologies and a promise it would be looked after. We returned to our room a couple hours later to find that a brand new toilet had been installed! Now that's service!!

A final note which isn't really related to the hotel itself but more the area - if you are a really light sleeper, you may want to reconsider staying in Old Scottsdale. This is a vibrant area surrounded by bars and restaurants - it can get loud on the streets. It didn't bother me because I'm a deep sleeper but I can see light sleepers having issues. Having said that - the hotel location is fantastic. Steps away from all the shops and restaurants in Old Scottsdale. A 10 minute walk to the Fashion Mall. Airport is an easy 15 minute drive away (non-rush hour)

In all, we were very happy staying here and would do it again easily. Especially at $127/night (via the Marriott website).

  • Liked — Friendly service; spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Flaky hot water
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank patrickbpenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Downtown Scottsdale
Hilton Garden Inn Scottsdale Old Town
Downtown Scottsdale
HYATT house Scottsdale/Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Scottsdale
Courtyard Scottsdale Old Town
Courtyard Scottsdale Old Town
#28 of 75 in Scottsdale
109 reviews
Saguaro Scottsdale
#44 of 75 in Scottsdale
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town

Property: Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town
Address: 7325 E 3rd Ave, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-3902
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale > Downtown Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#34 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#42 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town Hotel Scottsdale
Marriott Scottsdale
Scottsdale Marriott Hotel Old Town
Scottsdale Marriott Suites Old Town Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing