We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting site once you get used to it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #16 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting site once you get used to it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Having previously stayed at the Gainey Ranch and Desert Ridge I was accustomed to the lobby and bar area leading out to a central courtyard with pools etc. The Phoenician is different with tiered pools and a more modest lobby area. The "Relish" restaurant in the golf course clubhouse was awesome with some of the most exotic burgers I've ever seen and the largest collection of tequilas in Arizona. The steak house on site left me flat, but I admit to viewing steak houses in general as uninteresting food destinations.
Great hospitality from all staff as is the norm for 5 star hotels.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonTawny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,295
    464
    195
    101
    72
See reviews for
497
651
66
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (529)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

The grounds of the Phoenician are gorgeous and so well taken care of. The cactus garden is a great place to take a walk and the kids loved trying to find all the lizards in the morning. Everyone is friendly and helpful. From James, the greeter, to bell staff, like Marcus, to front desk staff, like Sara to pool and housekeeping. What a wonderful weekend and we will definately be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaS233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Stayed here for 1 week and it is an excellent hotel that provides high quality service. There is attention to detail, and all of the staff we encountered were outstanding. Food and alcohol are expensive but that is to be expected at a 5 star resort. If you venture into Scottsdale there are some decent places to eat- the Rusty Spur being one of them- this is authentic and good value for money but they don’t serve evening meals- live music is on throughout the day- certainly worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomboy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurnee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

This is supposed to be the nicest hotel Arizona has... I spent one night with no problem..but the second night as I entered the bathroom, I was met by a cockroach the size of a toy chihauhua puppy. All that was missing was a bling collar. It proceeded to charge toward me. I had to jump over it, locked myself in the toilet room and called for help. They sent a woman with a towel instead of a nine iron or shotgun.... They asked if I wanted to switch rooms and expained they "come up through the plumbing"...well...gosh, golly...thank you but no. I had them get me a car that I had to pay for and spent from 10pm to 6am in the airport on a bench seat....but...at least nothing could crawl on me while I was sleeping. The staff is VERY nice and the food is excellent...but by no means is this a five star hotel. It's just the biggest. That's it.

Room Tip: Ask for the section that has been fumigated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are dismayed to learn of your guestroom experience. Please note that all preventative measures are taken daily to avoid such an occurrence, followed up by a routine inspection before each guestroom is occupied. However, due to our location -- at the base of a mountain -- and the time of year -- the hot, desert summer -- local "residents" occasionally become more active, much like they do in a typical home. We regret that you declined our offer for alternate accommodations, but thank you for recognizing our staff and service standards. We hope you will provide us with the opportunity to demonstrate our dedication in creating a truly luxurious experience for our guests in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We have had a mixed experience with this hotel. It is very convenient so we tend to return but we have found that the rooms have not been very clean. This trip we arrived very late and were place in a room very far away even through there were few people at the hotel. The sheets were dirty and had to be changed. I mentioned it to the front desk and no one said a thing.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rperls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 6 September 2011
Thank you for your review. We are concerned to learn of your dissatisfaction. The cleanliness/presentation of our AAA Five Diamond resort is consistently one of the highest -rated areas by our customers. As the summer season, the time of your visit, tends to be somewhat quieter, we use this opportunity to implement renovations to our guestrooms, which most likely is the reason that while the resort was not full of activity, you were placed in a particular area of the building. We hope to welcome you and your family back again soon to experience the luxury service for which we are known.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil Wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We recently returned from a fatastic stay at The Phoenician .We stayed at a Villa in the resedencies complete with our own pool which was first class. The staff on site are superb from the bell boys who couldnt do enough for you , to the bar staff at Il Terrazzo and the Club House where we had many an enjoyable cocktail and conversation. The food at Il Terrezzo is also excellent with great service.Pride of place goes to a fantastic reservations team and in particular Deinz Bayramoglu who looked after us superbly before and throughout our stay.Nothing was too much for him to do and he will be a significant reason why we will return next year.Great Resort great staff and obviously first class management

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrankP62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California Hot Springs, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

Excellent! Excellent! From the check (painless, accomodated 3 rooms close together), to the restaurants (very good & wonderful staff). All the guys golfed, some for first time. For the seasoned golfers, the course was exceptional, for the novice the servcie was so fun. Loved the citrus cool towels. The ladies enjoyed the spa, 1 for the first time, and the staff was sooo patient with explanations of treatments. The spa area is nice. We had a cabana at the pool, and Sam our attendant was EXCEPTIONAL! We also had two toddlers w/us and everyone was accomodating to their needs as well as the parents. This was the end of a two part trip and everyone agreed it was the best part. We will be back. :)

Room Tip: ask for pool view, lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjg6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Property: The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From May through September 2017, the resort will be undergoing enhancements. During this time, the main lobby, front desk, pool complex, spa and select dining venues will be closed. These services and amenities will be available at alternate locations on the resort grounds. The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, AZ that offers an award-winning golf course, onsite spa, and 160,000 sq ft of indoor and outdoor event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing