We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service Perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The Hotel is spectacular and well situated to drive to the airport or to activities in and around Phoenix. Unfortunately, I didn't get to try the golf course or spa but everything about the hotel is 1st class. The most impressive thing about it is the service. Their hiring and training practices must be perfect as every encounter with staff from the front desk to the restaurant was enjoyable. I didn't know employees could be that upbeat, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are extremely proud to have the ambassadors we do, as they simply are the best! They have tremendous pride in The Phoenician and in the service they deliver, and this comes across every day in their work. We will certainly pass your review onto the team, so they can celebrate the impression they have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,386 - 1,392 of 2,200 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

My first stay at this grand hotel and you just couldn't go wrong here. It has a defined style and opulence that is reminiscent of the resorts of yesteryear, with the exception that this has been modernized. From your initial drive up the property to being escorted to the main lobby, this hotel will, and does, make you feel special.

I had a room with balcony overlooking the pool complex. The room was well decorated, very nicely equipped bathroom and everything was just top notch down to the caliber of the wait staff, bartenders - everyone polite and well polished.

The outdoor lounge in the evening is a great place to enjoy drinks (they have an extensive beverage selection). You pretty much know going in that your credit card is going to get a work out - bar tab for 2 people for a few hours almost 150.00 - if you use the spa there are packages easily exceeding 500. a treatment. So, you are either used to paying for amenities or if you want to give yourself a real treat just accept that you'll pay - but unlike other places that may just be expensive - this place actually makes you feel good about being here and spending your money! Very novel, yes?

If you enjoy soft feathery pillows on your bed (and I do!) this is the hotel for you!

Room Tip: Overlook the pool - very serene - quiet and sort of tropical with the water and trees to look at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank STEVENSNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2013

This was a trip my older son (age 12) picked and he and I went because it was warmer there than most places and the description of the grounds was really stunning.

Outstanding:
-the pool was beautiful-- although it looks like one huge pool, there are lots of small interconnecting pools making the outdoor area feel intimiate. There is also a slide which was fun and just the right mix of danger and safety ;-) Most memorable is the temperature of the water, which was perfect -- warm and felt perfect at all times of day from the cool early morning through the hot afternoon.

The cactus garden:
Beautiful, so dont miss this (I almost did). Right behind the hotel, on the bottom of Camelback mountain is the cactus garden. if you don't feel like hiking Camelback, just walk out the back. You can even walk up the mountain a bit, and see the giant cactus, and get a great view. It is really incredible and well kept and it doesn't seem many people go to the garden, so surprisingly private

The burgers:
Best "deal" were the burgers in the restaurant called "Relish" off the golf course and the private smores stoves.

Not so great:
-the grounds are beautiful, but they are for golfers. I was asked to "get off" the path (cactus garden is adjacent to the golf course) as a ball might "wack me in the head and kill me" I wanted to pay to rent a golf cart-- that also wasn't an option. If you are going to this hotel to see the grounds, you really can only enjoy if you are a golfer.

-you get charged for everything extra- renting bikes, etc. so just be aware. Its about 30 a day.
Parking is also fairly expensive, but Id recommend renting a car anyway, as the town cars to scottsdale are costly as well.

Check your bill. I was overcharged by hundreds of dollars per night, adding up to almost $1000. They did credit me when I brought it to their attention but was surprised they'd make such a big error.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the pool on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Thank you for your detailed review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed so many aspects of our resort during your stay. We keep the pools at a constant temperature of 78 degrees which is why the water always feels perfect. For safety reasons, we do ask that guests stay off the cart paths as golfers are not expecting walkers. This is a typical rule on any golf course. We apologize for the billing error but are glad to hear that the problem was quickly rectified once brought to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Spent four nights at the Phoenician at a conference. While the resort is large, it doesn't feel busy or impersonal. Level of service is high, staff is friendly, setting is beautiful (and only 20 minutes from the airport), and facilities are first rate. And if you have a car, or even using taxis, there is a lot to see and do in the area. My room was large with two closets, a large bathroom, and a terrace. The food at the restaurants was very good although the group meals as part of the conference were so-so. In fact, the conference facilities were the least impressive part of the stay. I have been to several of the Phoenix area resorts and I would recommend the Phoenician for families and couples.

Room Tip: Some room face the pools and sun; others face the cactus garden and Camelback Mountain. The latter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCVISIT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments and observations from your recent stay. We really appreciate your perspective and value your business. Your experience is important to us, and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to Scottsdale!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I love this resort! It's so nice! The service is so great and friendly. It's waterslide is really fast and fun. I love this luxurious place to stay. It has a fantastic collection of restaurants that are delicious! The rooms are pretty good too

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. We are pleased to hear that you love the resort; our ambassadors, our restaurants and our water slide! We hope that you will be able to come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We arrived and were greeted by the nicest fellow with a cold bottle of water. From there the check in staff overwhelmed us with "all" the options to our reservations, wish we had know about these e when we made resv and not at checkin with approx 15 people waiting behind us. Anyway, we made the choice to keep our daily housekeeping service and fore go the extra points & declined the resorts fitness, spa options.We found walking the property, visiting the resturants, and hiking camel back a fantastic way to enjoy the Phoenician in just 2 days.Our room faced the mountain, was quiet, very spacious, 2 closets, sitting area in and out, and huge bathroom!!! Great shower, plenty of amentities. Would ask for extra sleeping pillows, the bed has too many decorative pillows, clutters the room at bed time.Great pools, and staff was over the top with professional courtesies, from pool staff to retail, 5 star!! Oh- and check the Starwood web site for great savings for your stay!

Room Tip: Check the starwood web site for savings on your stay, we found one nite full fare and second 40% off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and truly appreciate your kind comments. Our ambassadors work hard to provide guests with the very best AAA Five Diamond service, and we thank you for acknowledging them. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

My husband and I stayed at the property for a long weekend without kids. We were not disappointed with the choice we made in resorts. We enjoyed a phenomenal spa treatment, relaxed by the pool, & ate a great meal at Relish! People are correct that the prices are high - $7 for a bottle of beer and $9 for a yogurt parfait but we knew that going in so we did not have sticker shock. The resort is beautiful - very serene. It is close to great restaurants and hiking so if you want to venture out there is plenty to do. We will definitely return - maybe even with kids.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room which offered no real view - we had asked for a higher floor but they had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SNC9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: £231 - £553 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, Arizona, situated on 250 acres at the base of Camelback Mountain. From May through September 2017, The Phoenician will be undergoing extensive enhancements to its signature public areas. During this time, the main lobby, front desk, pool complex, spa and select dining venues will be closed. These services and amenities will be available at alternate locations on the resort grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing