We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nope”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #20 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Our stay was totally not worth the price we paid and we actually cut the time we spent at the Phoenician short by four days and ended up moving to another hotel/resort with a similar reputation that was actually cheaper and an overall better experience.

I don't think our issues with our stay were minor in that the room had an exposed electrical box in our closet, a bathroom faucet that didn't work, carpeting that was stained, a mini refrigerator that woke us up throughout the night,grounds that were mostly not accessible with a stroller due to construction and two twin beds in an upgraded suite that were not up to par by any means.

The grounds generally looked fantastic (what we were able to see), but we had a difficult time actually getting around because it was too much of a pain to carry a stroller up and down so many stairs.

The only real bright spot was the staff in the golf pro-shop who gave us suggestions on what we could do in the area. They also were kind enough to let our five year old putt some balls on the practice green which he really enjoyed. The golf course looked great, but we didn't stay long enough to enjoy it.

I have been to a number of resorts/hotels in the area and I heard good things about the Phoenician so we thought we would give it a try, but I have to say we really came away rather upset with our experience.

I totally understand our stay may have been a case of bad timing on our part, but that doesn't explain the condition of our room and the lack of notice regarding the construction. It's also not the cheapest place (near $400 per night) to stay and we found it to be not worth the expense.

We were traveling on vacation with our five year old and nine month old and we were uncomfortable letting our baby crawl on the floor in our room due to the condition of the carpet if that tells you anything about our stay.

Room Tip: Good luck. The room was terrible, but the inside of the hotel was really nice. The outdoor patio t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are disappointed to learn of your concerns regarding the condition of your guestroom, as that is not indicative of our award-winning standards. Please know that for any reason appointed accommodations do not meet our guests’ needs, we are more than happy to relocate them, based on availability. As you can imagine, maintaining and enhancing a 250-acre, 643-room luxury resort requires much attention. Every effort is made to ensure that such projects are done as efficiently and conveniently as possible for our guests. We do hope you will provide us with the opportunity to host you again in the near future to demonstrate our commitment to you and every one of our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,136 - 1,142 of 2,189 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2013

We transferred to the Phoenician from another hotel and could not have been happier. The room was very clean and had a view of the pool and grounds. The pool area is amazing! We ate at J&G Steakhouse 2 nights and Miguel was our server both nights. He was great and provided some excellent suggestions for wines throughout our evening. The food was fantastic! We also ate at the lobby bar and had sushi. Again, service and staff were great.

Room Tip: We were in a Casita guest room which was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TD64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Rooms are big but in need of a refresh and can be quite a long walk from the lobby. However, staff are friendly, professional and courteous which really does help.
Effectively the hotel is simply a bit of a non descript sprawl.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are disappointed to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay at The Phoenician, as it is our goal to provide each and every guest with a memorable, Five Diamond experience. We do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future so that we may demonstrate our commitment to you, our valued guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

They keep doing this right here and I'll keep on returning. Elegant, but not stuffy, prisitne property, and customer focused staff. Special kudos to Jarred at the Oasis and Austin? at front desk, both are great ambassadors for the Phoenician brand.

Room Tip: Third floor and above in main building some nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobk1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you so much for the wonderful feedback – we will be sure to share your kind words with the ambassadors mentioned in your review. We are delighted to hear that you had another outstanding stay at The Phoenician! We hope to welcome you back for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

My wife and I enjoyed three days at the Phoenician, and I stayed another couple of days for a conference.

It's a beautiful, sprawling property -- we were in the North Wing which is a bit of a hike from the lobby, but offers quieter and larger rooms, which is probably worth it. Ask to face the mountain, it's a gorgeous view and especially quiet. Our room and its bath was spacious and well appointed, with fast WiFi. Service was consistently good at check in, valet, what have you.

We played two of the the Phoenician's three 9-hole golf courses. Beautiful courses, great for middling golfers (generous fairways, forgiving greens, and only a couple of very serious challenges). Staff was fabulous.

We played tennis at the tennis center twice, nice staff and good facilities, but a definite hike to get there. A bit expensive to be honest, and the grass court (always fun) was closed for overseeding.

The pool complex is beautiful and is broken up into loads of smaller areas which creates a lot more quiet and more personalized service that you'd get in comparable pool complexes. The adults-only area is a nice touch. We had no trouble getting chaises without having to come down at an early hour or needing to rent a cabana.

Over the trip, we ate at pretty much every restaurant in the place as well as room service and poolside service, and every food service point was competent with friendly, professional service. Nothing to blow you away, cooking wise, but nothing to complain about, either.

Did not use in-room television or fitness center. Business center was fine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vacationer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. We are thrilled that you and your wife enjoyed your time at The Phoenician and we hope to welcome you back sometime soon – whether for business or pleasure!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Don't let the common areas fool you. This hotel is badly in need of an update. Service, food quality and cleanliness is not the greatest. We stay here repeatedly with conferences...our firm must get a good deal because in the past we have stayed at two other much better hotels in the Phoenix area yet for some reason we keep coming back:(

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foxjax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are disappointed to learn of your displeasure with our resort. Embracing a service culture that features ongoing training and attention to detail, complemented by a diverse, award-winning culinary program, The Phoenician is committed to reaching beyond expectation to deliver the exceptional. From our second meeting facility, the Camelback Ballroom, to three new restaurants, the AAA Five Diamond property has invested more than $100 million in construction and enhancements during the last five years. We hope you will visit us again so that we may demonstrate what makes us one of the most preferred conference destinations in the nation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

If you like big, sprawling resort properties ( 9 swimming pools, 3 -9 hole golf courses ), this is for you. The property, while it shows some signs of age and need for refurbishment, is flawlessly maintained. The staff have obviously been well-trained, as the standard of service is not only high, it is very consistent.

Reflecting its size, there is a wide range of accommodation types available, from conventional hotel rooms with no view, to golf course villas to casitas.
Food is pricy ( fish sandwich, salad and a beer poolside $ 48.00 ). Although there are 9 pools, one of which is described as " the relaxation " pool, with children banned, you cannot get away from the piped-in music. if you want a quiet time by the pool, you can't do it here.

The onsite J&G Steakhouse ( which turns out to be a Jean Georges restaurant ) is excellent.

Be advised that there is presently construction underway at the both the extreme east and west ends of the property, so that if you are located at either end, on weekdays you will hear heavy equipment, jackhammers, etc.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We truly appreciate your comments regarding our ambassadors and the exceptional service you received during your stay. However, we do regret any inconvenience experienced as a result of the ongoing construction. We are happy to report that our pool renovation is scheduled for completion in February. Thanks again for sharing your observations with us – we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: £241 - £554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, Arizona, situated on 250 acres at the base of Camelback Mountain. From May through September 2017, The Phoenician will be undergoing extensive enhancements to its signature public areas. During this time, the main lobby, front desk, pool complex, spa and select dining venues will be closed. These services and amenities will be available at alternate locations on the resort grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing