We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epitome of desert luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #21 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This was my third or fourth stay, and it never disappoints. About a year ago I commented on the guest survey that coffee makers should be in each room, but upon my return there are Keurigs in each, with ample refill capacity.
All facilities are impeccably maintained and modernized and the staff is unfailingly gracious. I shall not need to look around for alternates in Phoenix or Scottsdale.

Room Tip: The Casitas are well located, quiet, and obviate the need for any parking fee at all, much less the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BillyReyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are happy to hear that The Phoenician is your preferred destination in Scottsdale, and we sincerely thank you for your continued patronage of our resort. We look forward to welcoming you back for many years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,110 - 1,116 of 2,189 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

Wow, the Phoenician is truly a 5 star property. Immaculate in nearly every sense of the word. Grounds perfectly kept, beautiful rooms, excellent staff, spectacular rooms.

Tips:
-24 on site limo service with very reasonable rates.
-Room service has a 22% service fee AND a delivery charge

Food is pricey, but we didn't have a single bad meal.

Room Tip: Casitas are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmiler84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for the wonderful Five-Star review! It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time at The Phoenician; we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

The resort is a beautiful property and exceptionally well maintained. The rooms are lovely and immaculately maintained. All of the services are excellent and the staff professional and courteous. A wonderful destination. I will definitely be back!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Dollyamas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Thank you so much for the great review! We are delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay, complemented by our signature Five-Diamond service. Thank you for sharing your kind words – we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The platinum member benefits are okay. They waive the 29.00 resort fee. Yet in three separate trips to this property we have never had our room upgraded. This is the single hotel in the Starwood chain that has failed to up grade our room. Even up request, we did not receive an upgrade to our room. For that we will work with another Starwood property in the future.

The staff is great, service is prefect 100% of the time. The property is as a whole is very nice.

Room Tip: Any room without a roof view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Txdelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Director of Rooms at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, and for your continued patronage of our resort. As you can imagine, we have a very high number of Starwood Preferred guests staying with us at any one time. While we do our best to upgrade our members to suites, availability often limits the number of upgrades we are able to provide. Hopefully we were able to upgrade your reservation to a higher category than you booked. Thank you again for sharing your comments – we do hope that you will consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

If you are trying to decide on whether to stay at The Canyon Suites or The Phoenician Hotel, I hope this review helps in your decision. Fortunately, we have had the opportunity to stay at both properties. I must first say they are BOTH excellent properties and truly some of the best that Starwood has to offer. Comparing platinum recognition, price, convenience, guest room, and service, The Phoenician is definitely the winner. Let me explain why.

Platinum Recognition –The upgrade and recognition we received at the Phoenician was much better than the Canyon Suites. The Phoenician provided us with a suite upgrade, local gift, and waived the resort fee. We did not receive any of these upgrades at the Canyon Suites. You changes of getting an upgrade are better at The Phoenician since they have many more suites.

Price/Hotel Category – The Phoenician was much more affordable and requires less Starwood Points. The Phoenician is a category 5 hotel and The Canyon Suites is a category 6. There is truly not that much different to spring for the higher prices or points. The Phoenician also offers cash and point more often.

Convenience – Most of what you will want to do at the resort will be located closer to the Phoenician’s property. This include tennis, gym, spa, & golf. We loved parking in front of our Casita at getting into our car quickly for short trips to the mall, store, or dinner. At the Canyon Suites, they offer free car valet service, but it takes a while to get your car. They also have a free car service; however, it is rarely available. You should note that staying at the Canyon Suites will have you feeling a bit “removed” from the center of all shared resort activities.

Guest Rooms – I actually preferred the rooms at the Phoenician. The Casita we stayed in was spectacular. The kitchen, fireplace, dining room table, and three balconies were new and picture perfect. The Canyon Suites rooms are a bit dated with 70’s décor.

Customer Service – Both locations have outstanding service. Everything from check-in to property maintenance was perfect. Everyone was friendly and helpful.

Helpful Hints –
Pay extra to stay in a one or two bedroom Casita. They are spectacular.
Make sure to take a hike up Camelback Mountain. Access to the trail is just a short walk from the tennis courts.
Try the Happy Hour at Relish. It is fun and there are great deals.
Have a drink and/or dinner at J&G on the property. Go before sunset to enjoy it. The views are beautiful.
Play a game of tennis, which is included in your resort fees. The hotel will provide complimentary rackets and balls. The grass court costs $35 per person and a great splurge if you are a tennis nut.
Breakfast at Il Terrazzo is very good. As Platinum members, you get an $18 credit for two ($36 total) towards your breakfast bill. If you prefer, your breakfast will be completely complimentary if you opt for the continental buffet breakfast.

If you are looking for the best Starwood value in Scottsdale and want to be close to that action, you will definitely want to stay at the Phoenician. It is one of the best Starwood Resorts in the country.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank BOLDMissionHills_KS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your detailed review. We truly appreciate your kind words and recommendation of both The Canyon Suites and The Phoenician, and we are delighted to hear that your recent stay was an exceptional one! We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed for 4 nights in December at the Phoenician. I had considered other hotels in Scottsdale, but we decided to stay here and treat ourselves. I don't regret that decision one bit. The Phoenician is very luxurious resort very centrally located- close to Old Scottsdale, Phoenix, etc. We stayed in a Grand Deluxe Room- very spacious with a balcony overlooking the lawn and pool area. Oversized bathroom, great amenities- Keurig coffee maker, large TV.
We enjoyed the grounds and public spaces of the Phoenician- spent time in the lobby and the porch outside the lobby in the evening- very relaxing. The pool areas were fantastic- there were 8 pools, so we were able to relax at one pool that was for adults and it was very peaceful. A family with kids did come into that pool and I was surprised none of the attendants didn't direct them to one of the other pools. Service was a little slow but not terrible. There is a terrific gym, world-class tennis courts, the beautiful cactus gardens- so much to enjoy. I highly suggest a stay at the Phoenician for a relaxing stay- you will leave refreshed!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trvlmaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

Thank your for taking the time to post such a wonderful review! We know that there are many luxury resorts to choose from in Scottsdale – and we are delighted that you chose to stay at The Phoenician! We truly appreciate your detailed feedback and kind commendation of our resort, and we are so pleased to hear that your visit was an enjoyable one. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

My wife and I booked a 4 day stay on SPG points to get away from the cold Northeast, and play some golf just after Christmas, 2013. The hotel itself is on beautiful grounds, well kept, and great scenery all around. As I am a Gold SPG member, we received a base room but with a gorgeous view of Phoenix and the surrounding area.

The service was impeccable, and I cannot praise the staff for always looking to go 'above and beyond' It is exactly what a Luxury Collection hotel should be, plus more.

Unfortunately, the only restaurant we ate within the resort grounds was Relish, a bistro burger bar. I am a man who enjoys food, and even though the burgers were priced at $16.99, you did get a lot of burger. In addition, we did spend some time at the hotel lounge/bar area, and the wait staff was on point.

If you enjoy golf, the resort has 3 9-hole golf courses onsite, and I was only able to experience Desert, and half of Canyon, due to Twilight play. The course/fairways are well kept, the greens are gorgeous, and the course is challenging. For a novice golfer such as myself, I was able to keep the ball in play for the most part, but some of the holes can be quite narrow, with sand traps and rocky areas, aplenty. The golf staff was really courteous and professional. The pro shop had plenty of clothes to purchase, however, I didn't see many ball sleeves. I could have missed these altogether, but just in case, make sure you bring a few extra sleeves of balls if you have a tendency to lose them. This will help you in the long run.

Overall, the resort was a bit pricey, BUT you do get what you pay for. Professional service levels, well kept grounds, and a great experience all around. Although this was my wife's and I first trip to the Scottsdale area, we will make sure to return someday and make The Phoenician our resort of preference.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MHlush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review. We are absolutely delighted that we were able to make your first trip to Scottsdale a memorable one! It’s wonderful to hear that you and your wife enjoyed our restaurants, golf course, accommodations and beautiful winter weather! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next to trip to the Valley of the Sun!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#6 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: £243 - £552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, Arizona, situated on 250 acres at the base of Camelback Mountain. From May through September 2017, The Phoenician will be undergoing extensive enhancements to its signature public areas. During this time, the main lobby, front desk, pool complex, spa and select dining venues will be closed. These services and amenities will be available at alternate locations on the resort grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing