We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Resort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #21 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Cannot say enough about this magnificent resort. Here for a work retreat and we were treated like royalty. Rooms were comfortable, grounds and pool area are gorgeous, but the most outstanding thing about this resort is the service...simply amazing! Do not miss the prickly pear margaritas, which are deliciously refreshing! Will be back! Great for business retreats or family vacations. Most wonderful location at the foot of Camelback Mountain.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the grounds, pools, and our famous prickly pear margaritas! Whether for business or pleasure, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,089 - 1,095 of 2,217 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

This a a very good hotel in a great and central area. The room ammenities were dated. The service was very good. The restaurant was ok at best. Don't get talked into the breakfast buffet (an excuse for no service and mediocre food). Their a la carte menu is great.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank ShahramG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback. Although we are happy that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, we are disappointed to hear that you did experience inconsistencies, which certainly do not reflect our commitment to delivering AAA Five Diamond excellence. Please know that your comments have been shared with our management team so that we may use them for further improvement. We hope you will visit us again so that we may provide you with the luxurious, memorable guest experience for which The Phoenician is known.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

This was a family trip and we had a great time. The service overall was really good, but one person really stood out. Shant made our entire family feel welcome. My son really liked the kid's club and hubby liked the golf. We had the cheapest room that was farthest from the pool, but we still had a nice view and would return again for the great service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kavnsandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your family vacation at The Phoenician! We pride ourselves on providing personalized, memorable experiences for guests of all ages, and we are thrilled that Shant was able to make such a lasting impression on your family. We will be sure to share your kind words with him. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Gorgeous resort set against Camelback Mountain. Rooms were large and the beds were very comfortable. We were probably at the farthest point from the pool/lobby but we had a wonderful view of the hills and golf course. The staff was very polite and quick to help, our drinks by the pool never got empty, and the food was tasty. They are not giving it away though as our breakfast in bed ran almost $70 for the two of us.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJD2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are delighted to hear that enjoyed your recent experience at The Phoenician! Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Very nice hotel - its a large property and very busy so perfection is hard to achieve with so many guests coming and going - overall a very nice resort experience. Rooms are a little dated but roomy and nice. Bed is comfortable. Meal service a little slow but food was very good and atmosphere relaxing. Brunch was great especially with outside seating. Lots of resort type activities. Spa experience was nice. Overall what made my experience excellent was the hotel staff - everyone I encountered was genuinely friendly and helpful 5 stars to the staff- fantastic job!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are delighted to hear that your experience was a wonderful one – especially in the regards to the quality of service you received. We are committed to providing personalized, Five Diamond experiences for our guests and we you thank you for acknowledging our Ambassadors! We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This is an update from my earlier review in January. Let me put right up front that the hotel staff and the amenities are second to none. Every effort is made to make your stay comfortable and memorable.

The one concern I have is that the sleeping rooms, a few of the common areas and some of the meeting space is looking a little tired and worn around the edges. Nothing dramatic, but not up to the traditional high standards of the Phoenician. For instance, the shower and the sink faucet never fully shut off and one of the dresser drawer handles was missing.

In my conversation with the front desk, however, I understand a major renovation is planned over the summer months (off-peak for AZ). If you are staying during those times and taking advantage of the typically very low rates you should be aware of the renovation plans.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side face directly onto Camelback Mountain which is beautiful and are a little qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MDFreqTvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

It is always nice to hear from return guests, so thank you for taking the time to post another review. Throughout the last few years, more than $100 million in renovations and enhancements have taken place at the resort – and as an ongoing process, additional renovations will continue to be scheduled. Please know that your room concerns have been shared with our management team to ensure we are delivering beyond expectation. Thank you for your continued patronage of our resort. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The Phoenician is at the foot of Camelback Mountain and yet the hotel does nothing to easily get their guests to the opening of La Cholla trail for a beautiful hike. They provide a shuttle to the East gate which is nothing. It is still a long walk to the trail. No one likes to have to walk before getting to the actual trail. Even if they got guests to the street the trail is on would be better. Between 7 and 9 AM, they should simply have a shuttle from Relish or tennis that makes round trip stops to and from the trail.
The new SURGE signs by the pool are tacky and horrible eyesores! The Phoenician is a gorgeous resort which blends in beautifully with its surroundings. And then out of nowhere, worse than a Beaches resort or Disneyland, is this horrible brightly colored plastic looking Surge sign. It takes away from the upscale feeling of the rest of the resort. We rented a cabana at the lower pool every day (Rich, our cabana server) was SO attentive and completely enhanced our experience. He anticipated our every need. HE made our trip! However, the bathrooms at that lower pool need to be cleaned more frequently. They were really unsanitary.
They have really improved tennis at the Phoenician. Jason is amazing! And they fixed the pro shop so now we have access to drinking water and bathrooms when the shop is closed. How about moving the ice machine too?

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

We are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience, so thank you for sharing your suggestions. It’s great to hear that you had another enjoyable visit, and we will be sure to pass along your kind words to Rich and Jason. We hope to welcome you back for many years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Gainey Suites Hotel
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: £281 - £592 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, Arizona, situated on 250 acres at the base of Camelback Mountain. From May through September 2017, The Phoenician will be undergoing extensive enhancements to its signature public areas. During this time, the main lobby, front desk, pool complex, spa and select dining venues will be closed. These services and amenities will be available at alternate locations on the resort grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing