We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This Resort Should be #1” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“This Resort Should be #1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I am perplexed how this resort (at the time of me writing this) is not #1 on Trip Advisor. It's impossible to beat. The service, the food, the accommodations are all world-class. It's no wonder why this is one of Starwood's 15 diamond-class resorts in the US. Perhaps the price causes some reviewers not to rate it 5 stars. Anyway, it's spectacular.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AroundWorld300KDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review online. From the food to the AAA Five Diamond service you received from our Ambassadors, we are thrilled to hear that you had a spectacular experience at The Phoenician! We truly appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,284
    458
    191
    101
    71
See reviews for
484
647
65
559
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

The property is beautiful and bountiful. So large, didn't even get a chance to enjoy the whole grounds. The staff is so wonderful, everything was done for us to make our stay a memorable one. It was the most beauiful and well run up-scale hotel we have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Cabin suites was an excellent section of the resort.
See more room tips
Green Features: The property is so large that they have vehicles and golf carts to take you to wherever you want to go.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennyflower_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you so much for the outstanding review! We are absolutely thrilled to hear that our Ambassadors were able to provide you with a memorable experience! It was a pleasure having you as our guest – please come back and see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We spent 5 nights at this beautiful hotel. The rooms are very spacious, comfortable, and quiet. The property features a large pool, plus several smaller ones. The service around the pool was very attentive, with people coming around offering pitchers of ice water. We were there over Easter weekend and it was packed. It was much nicer on Monday when the crowds were gone. The waiters at all the restaurants on site provided great service and were very polite. The only bummer: there was always a wait for breakfast if you wanted the buffet. One day it was 30 minutes, another day it was 20. There's a quick place to get bagels and fruit, but even that was usually very busy due to all the of conferences held there. Otherwise it was a very nice relaxing vacation with the family!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneRph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your 5 days at The Phoenician! We hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Scottsdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of our holiday. First impressions are excellent as all the staff make a real effort to acknowledge you and smile. Our room was large and very comfortable. We agree with an earlier review about the balcony furniture but it was not a big issue for us. The on site facilities are extensive - lots of pools, tennis, golf and a wonderful cactus garden with pathways. The setting against Camelback Mountain is very impressive. We ate in both a restaurant and the terrace bar. Both meals were very good. They seem to have a lot of return travellers based on some people watching in the lobby whilst waiting to go for our flight. We would love to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BKP47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are absolutely thrilled to hear that you had an excellent experience at The Phoenician! We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Our 5th visit in a row at the end of Spring and it just keeps getting better each time (even though we find it hard to believe it could get any better.)
The service is always outstanding , the location ideal, the rooms and grounds are great-- it's a get-away that is unbeatable. Only the "spa" is underwhelming.

We have stayed at several of the other top flight hotels in Scottsdale and Phoenix ( Princess, Marriott Camelback; Biltmore,,, and this tops them all.
When you are there, check out the Scottsdale Center for the Performing Arts for their wide range of entertainment offerings.
Most highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lekt33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for your kind commendation of our resort. We are absolutely delighted that your 5th visit was and exceptional one, and that we were able to provide you with an “unbeatable” get-away! We look forward to welcoming you back next spring!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed here on business and was excited to see the property as I had heard great things about it. The resort is large and sprawling. My room was quite spacious with fabulous bedding and a nice view. However, the bathroom was looking its age. The shower lacked decent pressure and the drain wasn't working properly so you ended up standing in water up to your ankles after a short shower. Rooms all come with a balcony, but the furniture is dirty and worn so sitting on it does not seem appealing. The grounds are lovely with a huge pool complex that children will love. The elevators are slow and a little clunky. I would stay here using Starwood points but would hesitate paying their normal room rate

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avid_Travelerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Thank your for sharing your recent review. We appreciate your feedback and will use your comments for future improvement. Whether for business of leisure, we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I was here for a conference. The hotel is perfectly "fine," but didn't wow me as a luxury resort should. I have stayed in many lovely hotels all over the world, and this one just seemed like it was following a formula (and one which doesn't distinguish it from any other large resort). My room was comfortable and quiet - no complaints but again, nothing special. I was initially booked in a casita, but it was not ready when I arrived so I took a room in the main hotel. Given how hot it was when I was there, I was glad not to have to traipse from a casita to the conference facilities. I ate "on campus" for most meals. The food was decent, but again, nothing to write home about. All in all, it's fine for what it is, but that's it - just "fine." Staff was helpful and accomodating, and I appreciated that.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parismuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent review. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon -- whether for business or leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Property: The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, AZ that offers a 27-hole championship golf course, onsite spa, and over 160,000 sq ft of indoor and outdoor event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing