We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“True luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently for a stay cation with my hubby to celebrate our 10th anniversary.

We were so pampered and spoiled by the wonderful staff and setting of The Phoenician. Check in was fast and we were offered a free upgrade. Our room was big and immaculate. And the bathroom!!! So luxurious.

We had drinks at the hotel bar and dinner at the steak house. Both were fantastic. My filet was cooked to perfection and the tuna tar tar was scrumptious. The view was beautiful with a panoramic view of the valley. Upon returning to our room we found a bottle of bubbly on ice compliments of The Phoenician!!!

We normally stay with a different 5 star brand when we travel or stay cation in Phoenix. I will be checking from here on out to see if The Luxury Collection has a property in the area and will book there instead.

Thank you for the wonderful memories!!!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Asher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your kind words. We are delighted that you and your husband had an exceptional anniversary stay at The Phoenician! Thank you for choosing to stay with us – we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on a return trip to Scottsdale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,284
    458
    191
    100
    71
See reviews for
483
647
65
559
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just finished our second stay at The Phoenician, and can't wait to return. Ideally located just a very short drive from restaurants and shops, the resort is very peaceful. We come for the location, and the on-site golf. Rooms are tastefully decorated, ours had a massive marble bathroom, large shower and bath. There's art and sculpture everywhere, in the grounds and corridors. If you want to eat in the hotel there's options available, with daily happy hour specials at Relish. Prices do reflect the resort's status! We used the buffet breakfast once on our first day, preferring to venture into the town to sample cheaper and equally as good alternatives. Summer desert golf is quite a challenge, rates drop if you can tough it out after 11am. We did, and enjoyed 3 rounds across Desert and Canyon each day, Oasis was being worked on (9 holes each part, joined to make your 18. Staff are very welcoming and helpful across the resort. Have tried other locations across the years, this is our favourite.

Green Features: You can opt to earn more Starwood points if you don't have room service!
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoobbydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your kind commendation of our resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the restaurants, golf course, service and accommodations! It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
280 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights recently. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds which are immaculately looked after. The rooms are largr and comfortable, as indeed is the bed. With 8 pools to choose from, there is plenty of room to relax. The staff are friendly and helpful. Relishnand il Terrazzo restaurants are worth a visit, even if they do close rather early. Would recommend this hotel

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WarwickshireMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review online. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing three days at The Phoenician! We truly appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is absolutely wonderful!! First of all I can tell you most of the time the difference between a 4 star hotel and 5 star hotel in my opinion is often the level of service you receive and The Phoenician reminds you that you're in a 5 star hotel from the second you walk through the door.

We went for my friends birthday and we spent a day having cocktails by one of the amazing pools and went back to our room to be surprised with a bottle of champagne to celebrate the occasion. Called down to the front desk numerous times for requests which were not only granted within minutes but then followed up by a phone call from Janet to make sure we received everything. The beds were comfortable, our room had a pool view, the bathrooms were large... what more could you ask for. Am planning on staying here again in a few weeks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellibaresall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I've recently had a 3 night stay at The Phoenician following a 5 night stay a couple of months ago. There is little I can say about this property that hasn't already been said other than how amazingly we were treated while on holiday there.

As you drive up to the hotel you have to stop at a security post, where they give you a card for your car and take some details, they even wished me a happy birthday, which was the reason for our visit. Then as you arrive at the hotel itself an array of staff start opening doors, welcoming you and taking your luggage. A 5 star welcome. There is a valet option but as self parking is free, we decided to self park but the valet staff took care of our car while we checked in.

The lobby is gorgeous with chandeliers and marble everywhere. There was a short wait to check in and upon check in we were upgraded from a Superior, to a Deluxe room based on my SPG Gold status. While checking in, another member of staff handed us a water bottle each, very welcome on a hot day.

The rooms are large and well appointed and the bathrooms huge. Each room has its own balcony and coffee and tea making machine. It was interesting to note that during our stay in May, the room had more modern furnishings. We actually preferred the classic style rooms. Not sure if they are actually updating them all or keeping a selection of both.

We loved the turndown service which greeted us after dinner or drinks every evening. We'd come "home" to the bed turned down and all the bed decorations removed, tomorrow's weather forecast, some chocolates on the bed, the TV cabinet opened, slippers by the bed and all our toiletries attentively laid out in the bathroom.

The pools here are numerous and one of our nights here fell on American Independence Day so the pools as expected were busy. The Phoenician did their best to help with wrist bands for registered guests, lots of staff and extra chairs. The service at the pools was fast and efficient, water was provided without even asking and food and drinks arrived promptly after ordering.

We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant every morning. There was great choice and the food tasty if a little pricy. There was a buffet available on two of the days, then on the Monday, it was a la carte.

The hotel definitely has a feel if refined luxury about it but there are a couple of areas that could do with a little TLC, nothing that takes away from the great experience, but the lifts (called elevators in the US I believe) could do with being replaced. We were trapped in elevator 13 for some time and spoke to the hotel engineer via the lift phone but this was quite a scary experience. No one contacted us from the hotel to find out if we were OK afterwards but this didn't really detract from the whole experience.

I will DEFINITELY be returning to The Phoenician.

Room Tip: I would avoid the casitas, as the rooms there are smaller. All the rooms in the main hotel are exact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. We are thrilled to hear that birthday stay at The Phoenician was an exceptional one! However, we do regret that no one contacted you after being stuck in the elevator. We can only imagine how scary that was for you, and we are deeply disappointed that such an experience occurred at all. Please know that your comments have been shared with our management team so that we may use your suggestions for future improvements. We look forward to having you with us again soon, and providing a seamless, luxury guest experience for you – from the time you make your reservation through your return home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth Junction, New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We ended a two week vacation at The Phoenician.

The Hotel- WOW - gorgous! From the moment you enter you are greeted by luxury. We had booked a grand deluxe room. We were offered an upgrade to the casita (but we loved the feel of the Hotel). We did look at the Casita but it seemed older and not as bright and pretty. We had an amazing view (4th floor facing the pool) outstanding view of the pools!! Very spacious room. Very clean. Large bathroom. We had a king bed and our younger children shared the pull out bed. The ladies at the front desk were super sweet.

The Pools- We had a wonderful time at the pools which were not crowded. And being from NJ- we did not find it too hot. We had plenty of shade under the umbrellas and stayed cool in the pools. I Highly suggest - buy the $11 Surge cup and use it all week to refill your drink (ice tea or soda). Well worth the price as one ice tea would be $4. Loved the poolside service- especially on the kids menu the grilled chicken tacos...grilled chicken, lettuce on a soft tortilla, with a side of salsa and guacomole and tortilla chips. Everyone in our family loved these.

The Mother of Pearl pool was gorgous!! We were disappointed that the "surge" splash area was closed...but the manager was so kind- she sent us up some snacks and a voucher for a free in room movie. The kids LOVED this!!! Thanks Jen!!!!

The only downside to the hotel were the bee's. There was a lot of bees around the pool area. We stayed in the pool most of the day - only out to go to the bathroom and eat. I told everyone to watch where they walked so they didn't step on any. The birds could be annoying too but I was more worried about someone getting stung.

My kids loved the pool side Chocolate and Vanilla Smoothies!

DINING: We enjoyed all of the restaurants. El Torazo- breakfast Buffet --- omlets/eggs, delicious muffins (blueberry were the best we have ever had).... Terrific service. Dinners at Relish (Casual- amazing Chicken Sandwich)....we wish they had a side traditional salad as an option to the tater tots.....we would have gone back if they had. J&G Steakhouse- dined there twice. OMG the shrimp cocktail were some of the best we ever had. The Lobster cocktail was fair- we expected it to be different that what it was.... The Filet Mignon was the BEST... we also had Ribeye (we all enjoyed that but the Filet Mignon was the best). The asparagus was delicious. Everyone was very kind...Even thought J&G is very upscale, they could not have been more friendly and accommodating, they allowed our kids to walk in from the ice cream shop with their ice cream in hand (we allowed them ice cream before dinner!)- it is vacation.

Cactus Walk - Highly recommend this tour- the hotel had it- it was on property and the kids enjoyed the walk as did we. No charge, but we did tip the man as it was a fun experience.

Oldtown Scottsdale- For $30 roundtrip the hotel will take you about 2 miles away. The kids enjoyed purchasing trinkets for soulveneers. I had wished they were open later so we could go at night but most of the stores are open from 10am-5pm. So we went early 10am so that we could spend the rest of the day at the pool. Highly Recommend Olive and Ivy Restaurant-Fantastic!!! WE had flatbread pizza, bruschetta, Caesar Salad...EXCELLENT food and service.... The stores were just ok. The kids were happy with their little gifts.

The Spa at Phoencian- We had visited a few other spa's in Arizona and we felt the spa needed updating. There should be a much better area for men/women to relax together. For Example in Sedona Mi Amo Spa has a co-ed indoor/outdoor pool area for guests... would have been great to have an hot tub (co-ed) and a much nicer relaxation room. The lazy boy leather chairs were kind of cheesy-- we did like the running water feature. Everyone at the spa was super nice. Jean gave an AMAZING massage. Highly recommend him. We got vouchers from TravelZoo- pre-paid discounted massage. The spa charged $28 for gratuity which was more than fair!

Concierge- was super friendly and helpful. Thank you Michelle!!!

Overall- My husband said this was his favorite hotel of the three we had stayed in. He enjoyed the live music in the lobby at night (piano). He enjoyed the luxury feel. Everyone was very nice. Very clean and pretty property. We would recommend this to our friends. If you go during busy season rent a cabana at the Mother Of Pearl Pool- well worth it - you get reserved seats in the cabana as well as outside of the cabana in the sun.

Last thought- they said they are trying to make it more of a family place... would suggest more activities at the pool for the kids (games every few hours run by the kids club).... and maybe an covered outdoor play area like at the Westin Keirland - Outdoor Huge Chess set, fooseball, ping pong etc)....

Thank you for a wonderful end to our vacation!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzanneNJTwinsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Wow, thank you very much for the generous review. It’s wonderful to hear that you and your family enjoyed your vacation at The Phoenician! Our Ambassadors take great pride in creating memorable occasions for our guests, so we will be sure to share your comments with our entire team. We appreciate the ideas and suggestions and will definitely look into each so that we may continue to enhance the guest experience. Hopefully you can visit us again soon and try the Activities Center at The Park, which features a variety of fun options for youngsters including Nintendo Wi, Ping-Pong, foosball and a movie theater. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

We quickly changed our destination from Naples Fla (Impending Tropical storm / hurricane) to Scottsdale to ensure great weather (sun & Heat). With less than 1 week to plan we found the Phoenician and surprisingly they had availability for the busy 4th of July weekend and following days. We were offered a " summer Special" which gave us spectacular savings incentive so we booked. As part of the special the $29 daily room fee ( internet) was waived and wifi was free to use while we stayed. When we checked in we had to call the desk to get the free wifi use we were promised when booking as part of the summer deal.

Every single person at the resort that we encountered was friendly, professional and most of all the were beyond accommodating. The entire staff smiles at you and greets you as you enter / exit / walk thru . We noticed genuine hospitality and definite desire to ensure that you as the guest are satisfied. The customer service was excellent, and nothing like I had ever experienced in the U.S. ever before. I had asked the front desk the morning of our second day If it were possible to have some " Firm" pillows brought up to our suite. The receptionist said " absolutely, and I am so sorry if you didn't get your routine sleep requirements. I will have them brought up. What is your room number and your last name?" I told her and she then smiled and said, " Mrs. Burger I will have those pillows up to your room. I hope that tonight you will be as comfortable as you are at home." Again Sincere and a can do professionalism, and that is just the initial request. My husband I made our way to the bakery in the lobby and by the time we finished our breakfast, and returned to our room, the pillows had arrived. We headed out for the day and when we returned, we noticed that the receptionist had left a message on the phone " wanting to make sure that the requested firm pillows arrived and were to our satisfaction". Amazing follow up and polite ?? Not so common but Awesome !
The rooms are very spacious. We stayed in a Mountain view King. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The décor is up to date and the beds are comfortable. The bathroom is spacious as well. The rooms and the resort are very clean and well maintained. Our room had a great balcony with some furniture and a fantastic view of the " camelback" mountain.
My husband raved about the Golf course. He rented clubs at the course and said they were so great he may buy new clubs to match the set he rented. The pools (9) are very nice a bit too much chlorine I think, but there are many children and wildlife around that appearently also like the pool. There were plenty of chairs during the week, but the weekends can be more challenging to find chairs. There is an adult only pool which we truly appreciated. The hotel has many activities for kids and is very kid friendly, however we are not. There are Water yoga and water aerobic classes offered as well. There is a poolside menu of food and drinks which we did have one day, but it is a bit pricey for what you are actually getting. The Iced tea and soda's are $3.50 and they do not offer free refills. We spent $50 for lunch ( no alcoholic beverages) The wait staff are very friendly and they do bring free ice water and cups to everyone quite frequently. There are a lot of Bees around the pool area, be careful.
The hotel also has a very nice Fitness room that was very busy but too busy that you had to wait for a machine. They have ellipiticals, treadmills, free weights and machines Cycling machines. There are towels and water available as well. They even offer daily fitness classes.
My only reasons for not giving this hotel the best rating of " Excellent" are described below. These reasons are minimal in the entire scheme of things. But I do think they could be easily improved upon and should be. The rooms' privacy or " do not disturb" sign is a black leather door hanger. The word " Privacy" is etched into the hanger and is not obvious at all. In fact I didn't know the room had a privacy sign and as I was in the shower, the mini bar agent had come in after knocking (loudly). I asked if someone was there and he quickly replied : Just checking the mini bar, " he exited quickly and I was never exposed as bathroom doors were closed. Very awkward for Me and for him but He was totally professional and I was not informed of / did not notice the door hanger until well into our 3rd day there, shortly after this incident. I would suggest that the " Privacy" hanger stand out . Additionally, the room lights are mostly lamps, the lights are controlled by switches on the lamps not the walls. Different but not terrible.
We checked out and my husband noticed that our bill had the $29 daily fee for all days we were there on the charges, however as part of the " summer Special" this daily fee did not apply.So he again had to call to get these removed as promised when we booked. Also we Had incurred some various mini bar charges, but we did not have anything from mini bar, we just used the refrigerator for our own water bottles and iced tea. We are still working on getting to the bottom of these charges, as we are not certain what they are. There is a nightly turn down service and they bring chocolates and water to the bedside, we thought this was free but as it turns out it may have been part of those mini bar charges, although we are not sure and still are trying to figure it out.

Room Tip: Mountain view very nice especially higher up ( 6th floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mush73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review. Although we’re sorry to hear that you had to cancel your original travel plans, we are happy that you decided to stay with us instead! We truly appreciate your detailed review – as guest feedback is essential to improving The Phoenician experience. We are disappointed, however, to learn of your billing issue. I assure you this is not indicative of our AAA Five Diamond standards. Your situation is being reviewed to determine the source of the error, and to ensure that this does not happen again. Again, we regret any and all inconvenience this may have caused. We look forward to having you with us again soon, and providing a seamless, luxury guest experience for you – from the time you make your reservation through your return home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Gainey Suites Hotel
#4 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Sanctuary Camelback Mountain
#1 of 5 in Paradise Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Property: The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#8 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, AZ that offers a 27-hole championship golf course, onsite spa, and over 160,000 sq ft of indoor and outdoor event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing