We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spa getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #18 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Spa getaway”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

This resort is located on the foothill of Camelback Mountain, and what a backdrop that is. They have a hiking trail behind the hotel, on the Camelback Mountain that offer great views of Scottsdale. You also go through their cactus garden, which is so beautiful.
The grounds are gorgeous and immaculately kept, so are the facilities. Staff is friendly and professional. The walking yoga is amazing!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiciaFreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for the great review! It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the resort grounds, walking yoga, and proximity to Camelback Mountain! It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,312
    469
    196
    102
    73
See reviews for
504
655
66
574
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We decided to visit Scottsdale for the 4th of July. The property was obviously very crowded but that is fine considering it was a National Holiday. The main attraction for us was that they were doing their own fireworks show Saturday night at 9pm and a bunch of indoor family activites on the 5th and our 4 year old loves a good fireworks show!

On the 4th we arrived around 5pm and immediately headed down to the pool and found a couple of chairs next to the pool. Our daughter enjoyed the waterslide and the splash pad. Later that evening they brought out a movie screen and showed Smurfs 2 in the pool. We ordered food and had dinner while watching the moving in and out of the pool. At the end of the night after we signed our check we waited for the server to come back and he never did so I retained my check as to not leave my name and room number for a guest to potentially use to buy food and beverage during the balance of our trip. I was going to drop it by the front desk when we checked out on the 6th.

On the 5th we had a nice brunch and then hit the pool for the day. We got out around 4 and wanted to check out the indoor activites in the ballrooms. We arrived to a crazy number of wild children running around with little to no supervision and at one point one of the large inflatables was deflating on a bunch of little kids. While the idea was great the execution was poor and could have lead to multiple injuries. After about 15 minutes we headed back to our Suite to change and to head out for dinner so we could make it back to the hotel for the fireworks at 9pm. We headed out for dinner and made it back at 8:15 and while we were pulling up we noticed the fireworks going off and rushed to the patio off the lobby only to see the last minute of the show. Our daughter needless to say was very disappointed that she missed the show. We were told that they shot them off early due to weather which didn’t make sense to me as it was a nice night out. Disappointed we went back to the room and called it a night.

On Sunday we again had the brunch downstairs after waiting for nearly an hour for a table and then back to the pool for the afternoon. At 4pm we had bell services come pick up our bags and proceeded to the front desk to check out. While at the front desk I presented them with the slip I had signed on the 4th and noticed that they already had charged me for that meal and a nice tip. I asked the front desk clerk why they would add a tip and she didn’t have an explanation. I asked her to look into in and revise my bill to reflect the 20% tip I had added to the slip versus the 25% tip it seems was added. Additionally I told her how disappointed we were over the fireworks show or lack thereof. At this point I am still waiting for any response from the property as it has been over 2 weeks with no word from them.

To summarize, the property and rooms are great! The only issue is that I think they were overwhelmed by the number of guests and the fireworks show should have gone off as scheduled as I know we weren’t the only family that was disappointed because we missed the show. We will likely try and make it back for the 4th again next year.


(I might also add that you should keep the sundries store open later)

Room Tip: I liked our suite. It was very spacious with 3 balconies. Upgrade if you have the chance it is wor...
See more room tips
Green Features: no comment - I didn't think they were escpecially envronmentally friendly. There seemed to be a lot of waste at the pool.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greggfi626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Director of Activities at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It’s disappointing to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations in some areas. There were a record number of guests attending our holiday activities, and with crowds can come complications. We have made note of the issues for our carnival next year and will use your comments for future improvements. Regarding the fireworks, while the storm did not eventually break at the resort, the concern for high winds and lightning happening just due north of us resulted in the Fire Marshall informing us that we had to set them off early. We sincerely apologize you missed the show, as we know how much everyone was looking forward to celebrating the holiday with this beloved past time. I am so happy you enjoyed Surge and the waterslide and we look forward to having you with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently for a stay cation with my hubby to celebrate our 10th anniversary.

We were so pampered and spoiled by the wonderful staff and setting of The Phoenician. Check in was fast and we were offered a free upgrade. Our room was big and immaculate. And the bathroom!!! So luxurious.

We had drinks at the hotel bar and dinner at the steak house. Both were fantastic. My filet was cooked to perfection and the tuna tar tar was scrumptious. The view was beautiful with a panoramic view of the valley. Upon returning to our room we found a bottle of bubbly on ice compliments of The Phoenician!!!

We normally stay with a different 5 star brand when we travel or stay cation in Phoenix. I will be checking from here on out to see if The Luxury Collection has a property in the area and will book there instead.

Thank you for the wonderful memories!!!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Asher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your kind words. We are delighted that you and your husband had an exceptional anniversary stay at The Phoenician! Thank you for choosing to stay with us – we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back on a return trip to Scottsdale!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just finished our second stay at The Phoenician, and can't wait to return. Ideally located just a very short drive from restaurants and shops, the resort is very peaceful. We come for the location, and the on-site golf. Rooms are tastefully decorated, ours had a massive marble bathroom, large shower and bath. There's art and sculpture everywhere, in the grounds and corridors. If you want to eat in the hotel there's options available, with daily happy hour specials at Relish. Prices do reflect the resort's status! We used the buffet breakfast once on our first day, preferring to venture into the town to sample cheaper and equally as good alternatives. Summer desert golf is quite a challenge, rates drop if you can tough it out after 11am. We did, and enjoyed 3 rounds across Desert and Canyon each day, Oasis was being worked on (9 holes each part, joined to make your 18. Staff are very welcoming and helpful across the resort. Have tried other locations across the years, this is our favourite.

Green Features: You can opt to earn more Starwood points if you don't have room service!
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scoobbydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your kind commendation of our resort. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the restaurants, golf course, service and accommodations! It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back for your third visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
285 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights recently. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds which are immaculately looked after. The rooms are largr and comfortable, as indeed is the bed. With 8 pools to choose from, there is plenty of room to relax. The staff are friendly and helpful. Relishnand il Terrazzo restaurants are worth a visit, even if they do close rather early. Would recommend this hotel

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WarwickshireMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review online. It’s wonderful to hear that you enjoyed a relaxing three days at The Phoenician! We truly appreciate your recommendation and hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is absolutely wonderful!! First of all I can tell you most of the time the difference between a 4 star hotel and 5 star hotel in my opinion is often the level of service you receive and The Phoenician reminds you that you're in a 5 star hotel from the second you walk through the door.

We went for my friends birthday and we spent a day having cocktails by one of the amazing pools and went back to our room to be surprised with a bottle of champagne to celebrate the occasion. Called down to the front desk numerous times for requests which were not only granted within minutes but then followed up by a phone call from Janet to make sure we received everything. The beds were comfortable, our room had a pool view, the bathrooms were large... what more could you ask for. Am planning on staying here again in a few weeks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellibaresall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I've recently had a 3 night stay at The Phoenician following a 5 night stay a couple of months ago. There is little I can say about this property that hasn't already been said other than how amazingly we were treated while on holiday there.

As you drive up to the hotel you have to stop at a security post, where they give you a card for your car and take some details, they even wished me a happy birthday, which was the reason for our visit. Then as you arrive at the hotel itself an array of staff start opening doors, welcoming you and taking your luggage. A 5 star welcome. There is a valet option but as self parking is free, we decided to self park but the valet staff took care of our car while we checked in.

The lobby is gorgeous with chandeliers and marble everywhere. There was a short wait to check in and upon check in we were upgraded from a Superior, to a Deluxe room based on my SPG Gold status. While checking in, another member of staff handed us a water bottle each, very welcome on a hot day.

The rooms are large and well appointed and the bathrooms huge. Each room has its own balcony and coffee and tea making machine. It was interesting to note that during our stay in May, the room had more modern furnishings. We actually preferred the classic style rooms. Not sure if they are actually updating them all or keeping a selection of both.

We loved the turndown service which greeted us after dinner or drinks every evening. We'd come "home" to the bed turned down and all the bed decorations removed, tomorrow's weather forecast, some chocolates on the bed, the TV cabinet opened, slippers by the bed and all our toiletries attentively laid out in the bathroom.

The pools here are numerous and one of our nights here fell on American Independence Day so the pools as expected were busy. The Phoenician did their best to help with wrist bands for registered guests, lots of staff and extra chairs. The service at the pools was fast and efficient, water was provided without even asking and food and drinks arrived promptly after ordering.

We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant every morning. There was great choice and the food tasty if a little pricy. There was a buffet available on two of the days, then on the Monday, it was a la carte.

The hotel definitely has a feel if refined luxury about it but there are a couple of areas that could do with a little TLC, nothing that takes away from the great experience, but the lifts (called elevators in the US I believe) could do with being replaced. We were trapped in elevator 13 for some time and spoke to the hotel engineer via the lift phone but this was quite a scary experience. No one contacted us from the hotel to find out if we were OK afterwards but this didn't really detract from the whole experience.

I will DEFINITELY be returning to The Phoenician.

Room Tip: I would avoid the casitas, as the rooms there are smaller. All the rooms in the main hotel are exact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback. We are thrilled to hear that birthday stay at The Phoenician was an exceptional one! However, we do regret that no one contacted you after being stuck in the elevator. We can only imagine how scary that was for you, and we are deeply disappointed that such an experience occurred at all. Please know that your comments have been shared with our management team so that we may use your suggestions for future improvements. We look forward to having you with us again soon, and providing a seamless, luxury guest experience for you – from the time you make your reservation through your return home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Paradise Valley
The Westin Kierland Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Property: The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#9 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, Arizona, situated on 250 acres at the base of Camelback Mountain. From May through September 2017, The Phoenician will be undergoing extensive enhancements to its signature public areas. During this time, the main lobby, front desk, pool complex, spa and select dining venues will be closed. These services and amenities will be available at alternate locations on the resort grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing