We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phoenician stands by its rating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Ranked #21 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Phoenician stands by its rating”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Had a great weekend at the Phoenician. Staff were very professional and accommodating. Had a great time with my friends there!! Rooms are big and the balconies are great! I would go there again.... Five star resort, without the snobbiness... very courteous and helpful... the view from the steakhouse is wonderful!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DesertTrojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Phoenician! Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,160 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,316
    473
    196
    102
    73
See reviews for
505
655
66
579
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I've been to Scottsdale six times in 6 years and I always choose a different resort to stay at, just to try a new experience. I like Scottsdale as a home base to take day trips, and there is enough to do to keep busy. The Phoenician is a place I will definitely stay at again. Despite a mix up with my room, the manager saw to it that it was rectified in a professional and timely manner. We were graciously upgraded to a 4th floor room, and our lunch comped as a professional courtesy. The grounds, and staff were all wonderful, especially Derek at the valet, Emily at the front desk, and Mike the manager who followed up with me to be sure that all was well. The pools are better than the photos can ever show, as well as the wonderful poolside service. We've enjoyed meals at a few of their restaurants, as well as in Old Town and Sedona. The Phoenician is a large property, but that is one of its charms. I explored today, and found a lovely gazebo with a very cool waterfall! The cactus garden is beautiful, and the guided tour was amazing. After a long day out on sat, it was so nice to come back to the hotel, and listen to live music, by a great band in the lobby area, overlooking the beautiful resort. The beds are fresh, large flat screen, a fridge you can store your water in, a coffee maker in your room, plus free coffee in one of their restaurants overlooking the pools. The bathrooms are amazing. I think it's a great hotel, with a caring staff. Thank you all, See you next year :)

Room Tip: Fourth floor, pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geez60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review. As you mentioned, there are many luxury resort choices in the Scottsdale area, so thank you for deciding to give The Phoenician a try! We are delighted to hear that your stay was exceptional, as was the service you received from Derek, Emily and Mike. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Wow! Where to begin? Our family has been vacationing at the Phoenician for 25 years. Ellyn in reservations will take care of you! From when our 4 kids were babies to now adults, they look forward every year to return. When our kids were young, they enjoyed the Funicians Kids Club, while my wife and I had recharge time. Now, we all look forward to our Phoenician recharge! Can't go wrong here, whether you want to sit in a cabana at the Mother of Pearl pool, play golf or tennis, work out in the gym, or visit the Spa.Also, Scottsdale is a great spot for activities, food, and shopping. We have vacationed properties all over the world, and this place is #1. Whether you want a romantic getaway or family trip, Go to the Phoenician! The Casitas are special. A must is reserving a Cabana at the Mother of Pearl pool, where Rich W. will spoil you! See you next year!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank worldisanadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Wow, thank you for the wonderful review! We are incredibly honored to hear that you and your family have been vacationing with us for the last 25 years – and that the resort continues to be your preferred destination for fun and relaxation! On behalf of all of us at The Phoenician, we look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Phonician for 3 nights in July with my bother in law and sister in law and really enjoyed our time here. We had contacted the hotel in advance and requested rooms close together and with mountain views and this was all arranged when we arrived. The hotel is a little dated as mentioned in other reviews however the grounds are beautifully maintained, the loaction is fabulous (close to the Scotsdale River front) and the rooms are huge. The hotel gym was welll equiped and the pools though we didn't use them looked lovely. I would happily return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissShifta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for posting your review. We are delighted to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your time at The Phoenician! While a re-design of all guestrooms is being planned, soft updates are completed on a regular basis, adding to the more than $100 million in renovations and enhancements completed in the last 5 years. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is my second time staying at this resort and it was once again a lovely experience. The rooms, pools and all the amenities are fantastic. Breakfast at Il Terrazzo was wonderful....both food and service. All the staff are very friendly and efficient. This is a great resort to stay at when visiting the Scottsdale area.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for the wonderful recommendation! It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to your third visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We just returned from a five night stay at this hotel. Overall, the service is superior. We have stayed at many top hotels and the Phoenician wins the service award hands down. As an example, we always received a call to make sure that we were okay with the job housekeeping did on a daily basis.

In August, Phoenix is hot so it's their slow season. However, we have stayed at the Kierland Westin a few times now and their pool is so crowded in the summer it's crazy. Not at the Phoenician. It did pick up by the weekend, but it was not bad at all. During the week, there were not many guests around. No problem getting pool chairs and the service around the pool was great (something the Westin has always needed help with in the past). Love how they just leave nice towels rolled up on each pool recliner and refurbish them during the day.

The hotel terrace is a great spot at night for a cocktail.

We also decided to do the Royal Tea which was fun and the food was great. You must have a reservation for the tea.

Parking can be a challenge at this hotel if it's busy and you want to "self park". The spots are quite small so when big trucks or SUVs decide to park, it's very tough to get around them. However, the parking is below the hotel. so the cars stay cool.

We did see a large roach on the first morning we were there. It ran across the room and freaked me out. We called the front desk and within minutes someone was there to spray the room. We never saw another bug in the room.

We stayed in the hotel portion with a pool view. We were given the casita option but chose to be in the hotel itself and be higher up. We were glad that we went this route. We had the Grand Deluxe Room so we were on the top floor and the room was quite large for a normal hotel room.

The one thing that I have noticed being mentioned is that the hotel needs to be refurbished. While the room was still better than most, at the prices they charge during the high season, a guest would expect top notch furnishings. We were told that the entire hotel will be going through a renovation next year.

Overall, the location was great with easy access to numerous restaurants, the terrific Scottsdale Fashion Square Mall, Old Town Scottsdale and more.

People have mentioned the Activity Center. I have no idea where this was located and wish I had known about it. I didn't see it on the map, but it might have been there. I think the hotel might want to have a better description of it in the rooms so guests know it's available.

The only other negative I could mention is that one night a company was having a dinner at the pool area so the hotel took away several rows of pool recliners beginning at 4pm to make room for the dinner/reception. Normally wouldn't be a big deal but since it's so hot, a lot of people don't go to the pool until later in the day and the pool recliners that were removed were at the largest of the pools. Kind of a bummer but I'm sure this kind of thing happens at all of the big hotels.

I would rate this hotel with 5 stars except for the roach incident (so gross!) and the furnishings just looking a little tired.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KareninColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations, location to Old Town Scottsdale, service and Oasis Pool Complex! We are, however, sorry that you were not able to locate the Activity Center, which can be found right next to The Tennis Garden. Should you have any problems locating it on your next visit, please do not hesitate ask any Ambassador for assistance. Please know that your comments and concerns have been shared with our management team for further review. We do hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future so that we may provide you with a seamless experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Tan Valley
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

It is one of the best hotel in Scottsdale. The view, the gardens, the service, the staff and the saff
are first class. We have been already 5 times and never disapointed. There also kids, but the area
of sweeming (4) are so wide, the you are not disturb by the noise. In the evening, there is a
beautiful terrasse and you have a fantastic view of Scottsdale and Phoenix.

Room Tip: Normal rooms and junior suite are very good and clean
See more room tips
Green Features: Beautiful garden, nice golf. I recommend this hotel.
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 75Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhoenicianManager, Public Relations Manager at The Phoenician, Scottsdale, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your kind commendation of our resort. We know you have many choices in the area, so thank your for your continued loyalty to The Phoenician. It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back for your sixth visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
Troon North
Four Seasons Resort Scottsdale at Troon North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Phoenician, Scottsdale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Phoenician, Scottsdale

Property: The Phoenician, Scottsdale
Address: 6000 East Camelback Road, Scottsdale, AZ 85251-1949
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#10 Luxury Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Spa Hotel in Scottsdale
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
#13 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Phoenician, Scottsdale 5*
Number of rooms: 647
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phoenician is a luxury resort in Scottsdale, Arizona, situated on 250 acres at the base of Camelback Mountain. From May through September 2017, The Phoenician will be undergoing extensive enhancements to its signature public areas. During this time, the main lobby, front desk, pool complex, spa and select dining venues will be closed. These services and amenities will be available at alternate locations on the resort grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Phoenician, Scottsdale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Hotel Scottsdale
Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician Hotel Scottsdale
The Phoenician, Scottsdale Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing