We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale North
Ranked #48 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Weston, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great location and service”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Although located in a busy area, the Holiday Inn Express is nicely set back on a quiet side street, yet walking distance to many restaurants and shops. The staff was very helpful and professional. There is an attractive pool and patio area, a bit larger and better situated than most HIE's since this is a nicely-done conversion of another hotel. Our room was large and comfortable, clean and quiet.

Public areas look freshly updated. The daily breakfast was up to the usual high standards, and the attentive Great room staff kept up with the large number of guests that appeared on some mornings. We chose this location because it was close to our conference, and it's an easy drive from here down to Oldtown Scottsdale. This hotel more than met all our needs. A wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpohunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale North, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear dpohunter,

Thanks for choosing our hotel and for posting your great review and rating about us. I'm glad you like what and how we do things here and appreciate your compliments. I hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are in Scottsdale.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    90
    23
    3
    6
See reviews for
68
53
18
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My Nephew's wedding was in Scottsdale and we had many out of town guests. The Staff at this Hotel went above and beyond to make sure every accommodation was met. They treated all of our guests like royalty. We had several events over the course of four days and every request was met with pleasantry. The Hotel was clean and comfortable as always, but the Staff made our visit Exceptional!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale North, responded to this review, 16 March 2014
Dear Bryan S,

Thanks for staying with us and sharing your comments. It's always nice to receive positive guest feedback and we really appreciate your recognition of jobs well done by our team. I'm glad we exceeded your expectations and hope we can serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This HIE is in a reasonable location however in my view it has some serious problems.

If you are a NON SMOKER you would be advised to stay away from this hotel. Even though this HIE s supposedly a non smoking hotel.

It is also a noisy hotel if you are facing the inner courtyard.

The hotel's design is that half the rooms face an inner courtyard where there is a pool & tables and chairs. The rooms facing the courtyard on the ground floor also have a small area where you can sit outside.

The problem is that at night people congregate in the courtyard and chat/smoke and as the rooms have the budget model, hole in the wall A/C's. You then can hear every word of their conversation and cigarette/cigar smoke comes in through the A/C. If you complain about smoking, then you receive a nice little lecture on how it’s perfectly acceptable for people to smoke next to your room, HOWEVER as long as it’s not INSIDE their Room!

Apparently the hotel management have not worked out the contradiction of Advertising that this is a no smoking hotel & making you sign a NO SMOKING clause on hotel checkin, however it's ok for people to smoke 6ft from your room and chat loudly late into the night!

Go Figure!

I would heartily NOT RECOMMEND this hotel.

Room Tip: If you have to stay here, demand a room facing outside, not facing inside towards to courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bullwinkle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale North, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear Bullwinkle S,

I am truly sorry for the disturbance and discomfort you experienced here and hope you will accept my sincere apologies. I understand your point and agree with you about both the smoking and noise issues, and I will use your review in discussions and training to make improvements in our monitoring and enforcement of both situations. We would like to make amends, and hope you will contact us via kenjacobs@zmchotels.com so we can discuss this further with you. We look forward to hearing from you and regaining your trust.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Once you get out of the airport, not a problem to find. A fairly quiet hotel considering there is heavy family/group traffic. Excited kids and families having fun wasn't an issue. ( just look at them mean and they quiet down....ha! )

Clean room, friendly front desk and fast internet.........I'm a happy camper.

Room Tip: This isn't related to the hotel - BUT...if you are flying out with a Rental Car....Look up the R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinAgain10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale North, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear TravelingAgain10,

Thanks for posting comments about your recent stay with us. We value your input and your business and hope we can serve you here again soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim, California
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

My recent stay was as part of a group in town for meetings. This is not a fancy place...this is a very clean place with nice facilities, good size rooms & a very nice inclusive breakfast option. Additionally, we are a group that enjoys "hanging out" and that was not at all frowned upon. Instead the staff made sure we had all gotten registered & had something, even water to drink. The rooms were a good size & bright...in fact it seemed new to me! As I said this wasn't billed as fancy but it gets the job done with room to spare & I'd be happy to stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CharlaAV711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale North, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear CharlaAV711,

Thanks for taking the time to write and post your nice review about your stay at our hotel. We really enjoyed having you and your group here and happy to hear you were pleased with us, too. I'm glad you'd be happy to stay here again and hope we can welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Just got back from spending the weekend with a conference group at this facility. The hotel itself is easily missed - only a VERY small sign near the one entrance - but the parking lot is large and the outside drive-up is welcoming.

I got there a little earlier than the normal check-in time of 3 p.m., but found myself waiting at the front desk for almost 15 minutes before someone helped me (the woman who was at the front desk was on the phone taking a reservation and periodically glanced up at me as if to say, "Oh, you're STILL there?!?"). Eventually, the manager came out and gave me my room key (although a long line had formed behind me by that time).

Unfortunately, I was placed near the others in my group - instead, I was put in the midst of a large group of grade school soccer players who proceeded to run up and down the halls on Friday and Saturday evenings. Walls and ceilings were paper-thin (I was waiting for the person in the room above me to come through the ceiling at some point).

My room was lovely - large king bed, lounge chair with ottoman, plush couch (with a cocktail table), large screen television, and a huge bathroom (with lots of towels and top line sundries!).

The breakfast area was the best I've ever found at any of the express hotels (or any other) - omelets, bacon, pancakes - just name it. Due to the number of people who were staying at the hotel (including the soccer teams), it was quite crowded, but the weather was nice enough to be able to sit and eat at a table on the outdoor patio.

All in all, a nice place - it wasn't the same top quality as a Hilton or a Marriott, but it was a nice two-night, three day stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbklover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale North, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear lbklover,

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. I'm sorry for the wait at check in, for not assigning you a room near your group and for the disturbances and discomfort you experienced from other guests at the hotel. We appreciate your business and your understanding, and hope you will let us serve you here again.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

We can't say enough about how great this hotel is. The location was fantastic and a great short walk to old scottsdale or the stadium. Lots of restaurant options nearby. The staff were unbelievable - we both agreed they were the nicest staff of any hotel we've ever stayed. We we're travelling with a baby for the first time, and they made us feel so welcome and were so accommodating, Dionte went above and beyond to come say hi to our son every evening at the evening reception. The breakfast had everything you'll need and the happy hour was very nice in the evenings. Pool was great. This truly is a great stay in Scottsdale, can't wait to go back! Do not hesitate to book this hotel!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Krista B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KenJacobs, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale North, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Krista B,

We're thrilled to hear your enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind words about our team. I hope we can welcome you back and thank you in person the next time you are here.

Sincerely,

Ken Jacobs
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
0.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix / Scottsdale
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Scottsdale North - Airpark
1.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Phoenix Scottsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Scottsdale
0.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Phoenix - Scottsdale
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix/Scottsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale North

Property: Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale North
Address: 7350 E Gold Dust Ave, Scottsdale, AZ 85258-1025 (Formerly Comfort Inn Scottsdale)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#37 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#40 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express North Scottsdale is located in the heart of beautiful North Scottsdale, with its array of boutique shops, fabulous dining and night life, world class golf, spas, and entertainment venues for sports and culture events, museums, theaters, and concerts. Just one block south of Shea Boulevard and one block east of Scottsdale Road, we located 10 minutes from the Scottsdale Airport and seven miles to the Mayo Clinic and Mayo Clinic Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale North Hotel Scottsdale
Comfort Inn Scottsdale
Scottsdale Comfort Inn
Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale North Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing