We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst hotel in scottsdale”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale North
Ranked #45 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Indio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The worst hotel in scottsdale”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2009

I had the worst stay here. Front Desk was Rude. Rooms had bad odder. Pool water was nasty had to take a shower right after swimming. Housekeeping never came to service my room.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank donaldduck34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinnscottsdale, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale North, responded to this review, 5 January 2010
This hotel has been under new management for the past several months. Non of the conditions or situations described in this review are evident. This hotel has received an award of GOLD Status from Choice hotels, based on 3rd party inspections and Guest Service Scores. We are presently ranked #59 out of 1366 Comfort Inns nationwide. That puts this hotel in the top 5%. I hope you give us the opportunity to serve you again so that we may prove to you that guest satisfaction is our number 1 goal. Thank You!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    88
    22
    3
    6
See reviews for
64
52
18
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

As we were on a budget we chose the Comfort Inn and were very pleasantly surpised by the quality of the room for the price. We had a comfortable stay and breakfast in the morning. I can't remember the name of the tavern near the motel but we had a decent meal there for a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussie61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2009

We quite enjoyed our stay here -- the room was clean, quiet, and very comfortable. It's away from traffic in an almost business/apartment-park like setting so noise or vehicle congestion was not an issue at all. Checking in and out was fast, friendly, and efficient, and the free breakfast was a nice plus. The location is also quite good, with several restaurants within a 5-10 min drive.

We chose this hotel because of the excellent value ($70/night) and proximity to where we wanted to visit. Would also be an excellent choice for business travelers.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jazzgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
466 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2009

Hotel and room was clean, quiet and comfortable. Who could ask for more? The free breakfast was very good and filling - cereals, waffles, hard boiled eggs, muffins, croisants and juices. THAT really helps make a stay economical. As for value, we stayed here at beginning of off-season and because of frequent stay program membership received a complimentary upgrade to a jacuzzi room.

Location is very convenient to Scottsdale Blvd (I block off), so can connect to SR51, the 101, Old Town Scottsdale and everywhere else very conveniently.

Wasn't anything snazzy like a Ritz Carlton, but was plenty affordable, clean and comfortable enough for the good price. We recommend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hatlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, AZ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2008

We stayed here while our daughter's soccer team had a tournament in North Scottsdale. Our team was booked on the first floor, poolside. The rooms had two double beds, a coffee maker, a small refrigerator (with no freezer), and a flat screen T.V. What made these rooms so unique was the fact that the poolside rooms each had a door that was accessible from the inner corridor, and an outside door that opened into the pool area. Both doors worked with the room card. Outside of each room, was at least two chairs, and a small table to sit at and enjoy being outside, near the pool. There was also grass that the kids loved!

The room appeared to be clean. I'm pretty picky about this when I stay at a hotel/motel. The beds were very comfortable, and each came with 4 down pillows. For those who prefer a quiet A.C., these rooms had them. I do question whether they would perform well enough when the outside temps are over 100. For our stay, the temp was in the 80's.


The breakfast was adequate. They had the usual Continental fare with make your own waffles, complete with strawberries and whipped cream if you like.

The only problem that we experienced was the location of our first room. It was the first room that you came to after leaving the reception. It was also adjacent to the breakfast room. Other guests had a tendency to go to the pool area via the breakfast room, and go to the tables right under our window to carry on conversations at odd hours of the night, and also to smoke. After the first night and being woken several times throughout the night (and I'm NOT a light sleeper!), I asked the front desk if there was any other room that we could move to, and they got us a different room that was farther from the breakfast area, closer to the parking lot. The second night was much quieter than the first!

It's a great location with many restaurants, drug stores and a grocery store nearby.

  • Liked — The location!
  • Disliked — The housekeeper spoke absolutely NO English!
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZSoccerFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2008

It was absolutely a very good hotel. We had a nice room on the ground floor, so you could easily walk to the pool which was very nice and quiet.
The ladies at the reception were very kind and helpful and the breakfast was one of the best we had during our whole vacation.
There was very much choice including fresh fruitsalade and they had enough toasters so that you don't have to wait a long time. The ladies who did the breakfast in the morning were constantly there to refill food and beverage and they were very kind as well. Besides it is very reasonable priced. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — the breakfast, the quiet location near a few large shopping malls
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PdeGraaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2008

Once we had managed to find this hotel on a quiet side street check-in was friendly and efficient. The room was clean, comfortable and a reasonable size with 2 queen beds. A plus for us was that the hotel actually had elevators! Many of the hotels we stayed in whilst travelling for 3 weeks did not and we got quite tired carrying all our luggage up and down the stairs. The complimentary breakfast was quite good although it was very crowded when we were there. Check-out was efficient as the bill had been prepared during night. We stayed here on the night before our flight home from Phoenix and we found it to be an approximately 30 minute drive to the airport. The only downside for us was that, arriving after dark, there was nowhere open nearby to get something to eat and nothing at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akhmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
Fairfield Inn Scottsdale North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale North

Property: Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale North
Address: 7350 E Gold Dust Ave, Scottsdale, AZ 85258-1025 (Formerly Comfort Inn Scottsdale)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#37 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
#40 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express North Scottsdale is located in the heart of beautiful North Scottsdale, with its array of boutique shops, fabulous dining and night life, world class golf, spas, and entertainment venues for sports and culture events, museums, theaters, and concerts. Just one block south of Shea Boulevard and one block east of Scottsdale Road, we located 10 minutes from the Scottsdale Airport and seven miles to the Mayo Clinic and Mayo Clinic Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale North Hotel Scottsdale
Comfort Inn Scottsdale
Scottsdale Comfort Inn
Holiday Inn Express Scottsdale North Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing