We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Snowbird Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hospitality Suite Resort
Ranked #68 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Reviewed 11 March 2009

Came for a 5-day getaway to see Spring Training baseball game, golf, hike and geocache.

In late winter, this place is a senior snowbird haven.
Folks from northern states and Canada here for weeks at a time.
Renovated hotel with 3-4 courtyard style buildings.
Recently renovated.
Rooms are comfy-adequate with kitchenettes in each.
BBQ / picnic tables / pool and amenities in each courtyard
Free breakfast at hotel restaurant "JJs Cantina"
Free booze each afternoon 5 - 6:30.
Tennis and basketball courts
Airport shuttle on the hour
Tour agent office on site
Food Mart next parking lot and Starbucks up the block
Near Papago Park Area in South Scottsdale

Overall a good anchor for your recreation plans - no nightlife or singles action tho!

You could spend more and just get a Ramada Inn. This place feels like a well worn sofa. Comfy, not glamorous.

Booked thru Hotels.com - front desk couldn't match price.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sactokit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (621)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 621 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2009

The hotel was simple and clean. We arrived during the free cocktail hour and was joined by some really nice people. The owner walked around greeting everyone. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katydid10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

I just returned from a 3 night stay at Hospitality Suites and I'm extremely happy. The staff was excellent and so helpful, the room was incredibly clean, which is the most important thing to me when staying anywhere. We loved the Happy Hour even though we were a little skeptical at first thinking the drinks would be watered down, I can assure you they are not. The free breakfast is a wonderful deal. You have about 4 or 5 meals to choose from and they were perfect for us. We didn't have a car so we walked into Old Scottsdale, though you can catch a bus right out front. I have to say I was really impressed with the hotel. You can tell by the service that it's family owned and not a chain

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NeenerBeener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2009

What a great value for what you pay ($90 a night)! You do not get an hotel room but rather a mini apartment with a living room, a kitchen and a bedroom. Kitchen is fully equiped. Staff a the reception was very helpful. Complementary breakfast was amazing (not a buffet but you can order directly from a menu)! Very close from the Phoenix airport. Would definitely go again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zizgig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2008

This was a good hotel to stay and for the price very good. It was nice to get the free perks, like free sit down breakfest and the happy hour was great to meet other people. It snice to the see the freebys Even the pool area was nice and well keep. The room had a kitchenette and was clean

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AlanGesell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2008

Stayed here on a business trip for a job in Scottsdale. Overall I was very pleased with this hotel. The room we stayed in was nice and large. There was seperate rooms for the living room, kitchen, bedroom, and bathroom. We did not stay in our room that long as we enjoyed alot of the night life Scottsdale and the surrounding areas have to offer. We did enjoy the free full meal breakfast that they serve alot better then the regular old complimentary breakfast alot of hotels offer. They also have a free happy hour available for guest but we were never around at that time to see what it was like. The only complaint I do have was our a/c unit in our room would not turn on by its self so it would get warm at night and someone would have to get up and turn it back on.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank JayBee1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2008

We stayed at Hospitality Suites for 3 nights right after Thanksgiving, 11/28-12/1=08. We had a wonderful time. We were there just to relax, and enjoy the weather while visiting friends living in the area. It is exactly what I thought it would be- middle of the road type place. Not super high class place, but very clean, very friendly, and very comfortable. We booked it at a ridiculously low rate- a super Holiday special fare that went back up in price just days after we booked it with Expedia.com. Check in was simple, fast, and friendly and we had no problems finding our room. We were in the main building, A-310. We took the elevator both with check-in/check out as we had luggage, but otherwise we used the stairs thru-out our stay. The elevator is nothing fancy, but it works. It’s only a 3 story building, so the stairs were no problem. Our room had a king size bed, a small table, window that opened, small kitchen with microwave, hot plate w/2burners, and mini fridge. There were 2 of everything as far as spoons, forks, knifes, etc., with some spatula’s and sharper knives included and a set of dish cloths, and dishes/bowls. The bathroom only had a shower stall, not a tub/shower, but that was fine, I knew that when I booked it. I mostly wanted the king size bed- which was clean and comfy.

We went to the resort bar a few times, called JJ’s cantina. The bartenders were friendly, and the drinks were good. $3.50 = a bottle of domestic beer. It is a fairly big bar, with booths along a wall, and tables in the middle for eating. They have a pool table, dart boards and a fun old fashioned bowling game. It’s a basic bar food menu, with a few salads included, and I believe this is what you would order room service from. It’s the same place you go for breakfast, although they have a separate room for it to the right of the bar area. The breakfast is free- open until 10:00am, we left a couple dollars tip for the service each time. You have a choice of about 6 things - the biggest is the American breakfast, which includes 2 eggs, toast, hash browns, and a choice of meat. There was also oatmeal with banana breakfast, French toast, pancakes, croissant breakfast, and each is served with orange juice and coffee. It was fine for us, just enough to get you going for the day.


We walked Scottsdale Road each way checking out neighboring restaurants and shops. There is a liquor store right next to HSR; they nearly share the same parking lot. We picked up some beer to drink while by the pool, they had a wine selection, and some fruit and munchies there too. There is another sports bar, “Philly Sports” or something like that across the street about a block away towards Tempe that we stopped at 1 night too. Not much for shops in the area, but we stopped at a grocery store, (just down the street from HSR towards Tempe, same side of the street) and bought a pre-cooked warm, rotisserie chicken, in a bag with some buns, and mustard, chips, yogurt etc. and carried it back to our room. We ate a nice lunch in our room and went to the pool area. The 4 days we were there the temp was 68degrees, 72degrees, 74, & 75degrees, but it was sunny and warm enough for pool area. We only used the hot tub on our last night there, and that too was fine, not too hot that you need to get out and sit on the side, but just right for the night air.

It was cool at night when the sun went down but we were fine with a sweater or light jacket, sweatshirt etc., especially when sitting by the pool area for the free drinks/happy hour. From 5:00-6:30pm we went to the free drink happy hour which was fun. They have anything and everything- many drinks- served in plastic glasses- it is mostly rail liquor I think, not call brands for instance, you may not get Captain Morgan spiced rum, but they will have a spiced rum. They do not short you at all on alcohol and you can have 2 drinks per person each time you come up to the bar. I think they had only 3 types of beer available, Bud, Bud Light, and Amber Bock? Not sure on the last one. But they made many drinks, tropical, regular mixers, coffee drinks. There were heat lamps on in the seating area so it was warm enough, and we sat at patio tables. It is a nice way to meet other guests. We met some people/women that burst out in song (Xmas songs) at the table next to us and they were amazing. I took some pictures and short videos. Professional singers- they had a show in town 1 night while we were there. They were friendly and it was just so neat. We met a couple guys from N. Dakota that drove there to visit their brother in town. We had fun with them too. Oh, rather than walk to another building or upstairs to use the bathroom while you’re at the free cocktail party, there is a small 1 toilet bathroom in the lobby next to the free internet computer. You get 10-15 minutes on the computer each visit – complimentary. Our ice machine wasn’t working in building A, and the next buildings ice machine was out of ice from so much use, but at the cocktail party the girl offered us ice from her bar. She remembered we’d been looking for ice earlier for our room/pool drinks. Bring plastic cups if you want to drink by the pool. Otherwise we could have just gotten ice from the liquor store too, but I thought it was nice that she offered.

We ate at the Italian restaurant right across the street for dinner one night. It was good, but not excellent and we thought a bit overpriced. $20 per plate and they were both specials. We are not wine drinkers, I had 1 glass but this place had a lot of wine! If you’re a wine drinker you may love this place!
We took the bus into old Scottsdale 1 evening. Bus 72 I believe and its $1.25 per person- you can get a transfer ticket for that fee too I believe but we didn’t. We met up with a friend in Scottsdale who gave us a ride back to HSR so we didn’t need the transfer fee. We ate at the “Grapevine” on Brown Road, just off of 1st street in old Scottsdale and it’s very good.
We also took a cab to a bar called “Mable Murphy’s”, a Green Bay Packer bar, on Sunday to watch the football game. That’s also in old Scottsdale on Main St. It was fun, but the Packers lost. The cab was $10 from HSR to old Scottsdale and we took 1 back for the same price. It’s about 3 miles- give or take a few blocks. There are tons of shops in old Scottsdale! I bought a T-shirt and sweatshirt to wear back home in the 20degree weather plus snow we were returning to.

Now, Hospitality Suites Resort is probably 30 years old, the owner built it in the 70’s we were told. However, it is clean and well maintained. They were working on a sidewalk on the other side of the pool we were staying at and had a portion roped off. Not a big deal, my point is they were fixing and upgrading as well they could. As I said, we paid a ridiculously cheap price, but everyone we talked to felt they got their money’s worth for the value. *Note: On our last day, since our plane didn’t depart until 5:30pm, and check out was 11:00am., we asked for a late check out. We were told late check out until 12:00noon was at no extra charge, but since we wanted 3:00pm checkout, the charge was ½ days rack room rate. I think $46- FYI.
We were scheduled for a 3:00pm free shuttle, (we left a $5 tip) and we left just a few minutes after 3:00 and had plenty of time at the airport to check in and board. We hated to leave.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SlyAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scottsdale
1 mi away
3 Palms Hotel
3 Palms Hotel
#36 of 75 in Scottsdale
1,588 reviews
3 mi away
Howard Johnson Scottsdale Old Town
6.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Scottsdale North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Old Town
Comfort Suites Old Town
#57 of 75 in Scottsdale
208 reviews
9.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Scottsdale
TownePlace Suites Scottsdale
#59 of 75 in Scottsdale
71 reviews
0.5 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites Phoenix-Tempe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hospitality Suite Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospitality Suite Resort

Address: 409 N Scottsdale Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85257-4216
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range: £48 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hospitality Suite Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel is located in Scottsdale on the borders of Scottsdale, Pheonix, and Tempe. Providing guests with outstanding services and amenities - including a free happy hour each evening and, if you book directly with the hotel, a free breakfast each morning! Each room is tucked away in a private courtyard setting amidst the tall palm trees and bougainvillea. The majority of rooms overlook crystal blue pools for guests' daytime and evening pleasure. Two room types or suites are available. The Studio Suite offers a one room suite with a kitchenette, and the One Bedroom Suite offers either one queen bed, or 2 double beds, a pull-out-sofa and a separate living area and kitchen. The kitchens come fully equipped offering guests the opportunity for extended stay vacations. Nearby recreation makes this hotel a haven for the sports enthusiast. Featuring golf and tour services, several restaurants within walking distance, biking, hiking, and jogging trails all close access to property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hospitality Suite Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hospitality Hotel Scottsdale
Hospitality Resort Scottsdale
Hospitality Suites Scottsdale
Hospitality Suite Resort Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing