We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“motel -not a hotel!”
Review of 3 Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
3 Palms Hotel
Ranked #33 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Olympia, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“motel -not a hotel!”
Reviewed 20 September 2011

ok, so my husband booked a week stay here, but the website (Exp.too) was really misleading. He went alone, and he is not a very picky person, but he didn`t stay here at all. The rooms have outside entrances, so if you open your curtains, everyone who passes by looks right into your room. Security is questionable... Lots of `run down` looking people were standing right outside and smoking. The rooms are extremely small, baths too, and dark. He cancelled his bookings and luckily Expedia found him a little modern condo studio, even though it was a 30 minute drive out, it was worth to change it. I do NOT understand the ratings anymore, this is a 1* place. (4 or 5*s should be hotels like the Fairmont, or Embassy Suites, etc. Right?)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank EBSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    724
    433
    165
    91
    117
See reviews for
273
510
173
269
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

I thought this was a great little place to stay. Especially for the money. Cost was about $60 per night with taxes. The rooms are average or maybe alittle small, but comfy. Bed was comfortable with loads of pillows and a heavy comforter, which I loved. There was a microwave, frig, large flatscreen and free internet in our room. Huge spa, nice pool (heated). A bar at the pool that stayed open late was very convenient. I didn't deal with staff too much, but they were efficient. There is a great park right next to the hotel with water, geese, and a walk/run path. Really cool. We did have to ask for extra towels, but not a big deal.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopatcong, NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We were looking for a hotel between Glendale and Casa Grande since we were visiting family in both locations. Although this hotel seemed a little out of the way for Casa Grande, the room pricing and the reviews we found here on TripAdvisor seemed to make it worth the extra driving time. Oh boy did it! We were extremely pleased from the time we walked into the lobby. All of the staff were extremely personable and helpful. The room was very clean and looked almost brand new! Although the room size is not very large, there was more than enough room to move around and I loved the ultra modern decor! The bed was very comfy and felt like you sunk right into the pillowtop. With all the traveling we did between families, we unfortunately did not get to experience the pool, but would have liked to. The restaurant had not yet opened on a full time basis and was only serving breakfast. The staff, again, was very helpful and friendly and the breakfast food was basic but tasty and fresh. You really can't go wrong with a buffet of eggs, french toast, bacon and fresh fruit plus hot & cold cereals for $6! But I must say, whomever chose the wait staffs' uniforms, probably should reconsider the shirts...for such a modern, asian influenced decor the flowered button-down bowling shirts really do not match. Sorry, just the opinion of an otherwise very happy repeat customer. We can't wait to return for a longer stay! An excellent value!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llyubuggin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

A great value hotel. We originally reserved a regular room but when my husband called to add the romance package they pleasantly surprised us with an upgrade to a jacuzzi room. The room was small but clean. Bathroom super small. Nice pool and nice poolside bar with misters. We would definitely stay again and the value is fantastic. Front desk staff very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinked_10_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Spent a few days here in the spring, and pleasantly discovered that for our seriously low rate, we were treated to a two-room suite. As I was traveling with friends, this was a welcome bonus. Clean, modern, quasi-midcentury design made for a fun environment, and our room, which contained a kitchenette, opened up to a swimming pool and hot tub. The area itself is pretty strip-mallish, but it's walking distance to a supermarket and a sports bar, so while I wouldn't come just for the area around it, having been in AZ for business, I was delighted to discover 3 Palms and would happily return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophiaLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I'm a Four Seasons kinda gal, however, this Labour day weekend a girlfriend of mine asked me to join her on a trip to Scottsdale. She had booked the hotel and was afraid to tell me as it wasn't where I usually stay.

I was plesently surprised by 3 Palms. Granted the rooms are very outdated if you're going to only use it as a place to sleep then this is the 'resort' for you. We only came back to the Hotel (motel really) to change and sleep. Housekeeping always did a superb job, the front desk were always curtious and friendly. Our last evening we spent by the pool and granted it's no lavish pool it was perfect to just relax in the sun, the bartender made strong drinks, the people in the pool were respectable. The only downside - their sofabed did no good for my back.

Overall - it was a good stay.

Room Tip: As for upgrade and get a room thats on McDowell road facing the park - super convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wandering_aries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary,AB
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I stayed at the 3 palms for 3 nights in July 2011. The property was small but contemporary. Location -wise you definately need a car, its about 15 minutes to scottsdale fashion square as well there are few restaurants within walking distance. There is a grocery store across the street which you can stock up your mini fridge. The room was clean and comfortable. The pool area was great, lots of chairs, and a seperate sun-bathing area on the second level. The price was an extremely good value and I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Awesome_Paws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
Downtown Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Palms Hotel

Property: 3 Palms Hotel
Address: 7707 E McDowell Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85257-3743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Scottsdale
#23 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#28 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#29 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 3 Palms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you enter our stunning yet intimate lobby, the desert stone accents set in the hand laid white crystal granite warn you to expect something special including a level of service that some people consider sublime. All of our rooms and suites are tastefully appointed with carefully selected modern art, contemporary custom made furnishings, and entertainment centers. Our guests of this Scottsdale Hotel bask in the comfort of our super deluxe pillow top beds dressed with 400-thread count linens, down comforters, and four equally soft down pillows. Passionate attention to detail continues throughout the 3 Palms Hotel in Scottsdale, with features selected with your comfort and convenience in mind. Cable/satellite TV with premium channels, DVD players, stereos, refrigerators, microwaves, and the all important coffee maker are just some of the amenities we've included in anticipation of your every need at our boutique Scottsdale hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your 3 Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Three Palms Resort Oasis Scottsdale
3 Palms Resort Oasis Hotel Scottsdale
3 Palms Scottsdale
3 Palms Hotel Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing