We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Resort Fee's??? This motel charges Resort Fee's LOL” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of 3 Palms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
3 Palms Hotel
Ranked #33 of 75 Hotels in Scottsdale
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Resort Fee's??? This motel charges Resort Fee's LOL”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I was told the tax on my Room charge also included a "Resort Fee"?? Really, so why didn't they tell us that when we booked? I was told it's a nominal fee of 6 % of my stay per night. How can you dare call yourselves a Resort? No Restaurant, an On Call Spa service that is rarely in the lobby and lousy housekeeping. What a joke.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fili D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
3PalmsManager, General Manager at 3 Palms Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Fili D,

Thank you for providing your feedback about our hotel. Your satisfaction is our number one priority. I wish you would of brought your concerns to the hotel directly so we could have solved them for you. Please feel free to reach out to the hotel so you can voice your concern with us directly and we can make things right for you. Unfortunately, due to the anonymous nature of Trip Advisor, we are unable to contact you. I assure you that we take these kind of things very seriously. I hope we are able to satisfy this matter with you so you can come back to hotel and enjoy all of the amenities we have to offer; a modern boutique vibe, large outdoor pool and spa, a rooftop sundeck, fitness center, complementary high-speed Internet access in the lobby and all guest rooms, complementary wireless Internet access throughout the common areas and dry-cleaning and laundry service. El Dorado Park is adjacent to the Scottsdale hotel, which is just two miles to the south of Old Town Scottsdale, three miles south of the Fashion Square Mall, and four miles from Arizona State University.

Brian Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    692
    420
    156
    83
    116
See reviews for
260
488
168
261
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We booked on the internet and charges are different than what we had with Booking.com. They charged an EXTRA 100.00, which they said was for (Incidentals) they said they did this with all guest and the charge is removed after you check-out. I only found this out after I called to see a hundred dollar charge on our credit card that was not authorized nor were we told about this before hand. I am waiting to see this removed. We paid extra for a double delux queen room. Not sure how they can call this a double delux room extremely small and hard to maneuver. Yes, staff was friendly but was a bit disappointed coming back to room and having cleaning service left all our wet dirty towels in a pile in our room. They advertise that they have tea and coffee, but I had to go to front desk to get these items. The room we had, had no place to put clothing so we left it in our suitcase accept for hanging clothes. My daughter and I were very disappointed in lighting above sink(Very difficult to put on makeup). We went for a wedding and it was a short trip was not in the room very much and did not get to enjoy swimming pool, which looked great.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxurytaste, General Manager at 3 Palms Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Debra K,

I have read your review of the 3 Palms Resort Oasis and I want to say thank you for bringing some of these issues to our attention. I am sorry that you did not know about our policy of authorizing $100.00 for incidentals prior to check in. Although it is industry standard to authorize for an amount prior to checking in, I realize that there must of been a miscommunication. We do require a signature for this amount at time of check in. It is our last line of communication about this policy. We post it on our website, on the website of third party travel agents such as Expedia.com, hotels.com, and Orbitz.com, and we also inform any guest who makes a reservation directly with the hotel via phone about this policy, It is also clearly stated on our confirmation letters that get sent out to our guests. We do not try to hide this policy. I am also sorry that our housekeeping department did not remove the towels from your room. We take great pride in training all of our staff members. We strive everyday to be the cleanest and friendliest hotel in all of Arizona. It seems on your recent stay with us you did not see us at our best. It is this kind of feedback that helps us to be a better hotel for our guests and our employees alike. So, thank you for letting me know on the areas where we can improve. I assure you we will be proactive with all of these suggestions. Thank you!!

Brian Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Have stayed at the 3 Palms twice now in the last couple years, enjoy this place very much, and it is priced very well compared to the surrounding motels and hotels. Very cool retro revamp of what was probably a old 60's motor lodge. Very moderne and hip. Great service, and friendly staff and we even got a complimentary upgrade to a jacuzzi room without asking.....Great pool, spa, and sun deck area with a workout gym and vending machines. Anytime we're heading to Scottsdale this will be our home away from home!

Room Tip: Jacuzzi room is great if you don't need a dining table and 2 chairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3DBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Nice, clean, but small. Staff suggested taxi even though I requested bus-they said too far away to walk---I found a bus stop and a free shuttle about a 3 minute walk away, thanks to some other visitors! Very small fridge & micro, which would be fine for a day or two but I was planning to stay 3 weeks. Moved to HOSPITALITY SUITES RESORT about 5 minutes away & WOW what a difference! HUGE living room, kitchen/dining room, bedroom with walk-in closet and full bathroom with a tub! Plus free happy hour and maid service included daily kitchen cleanup, even dishes! Full sized fridge/freezer, micro, and stove/oven! AND CHEAPER THAN 3 PALMS! Lesson learned!!!

Room Tip: Check out Hospitality Suites Resort before staying here at 3 Palms-they're waaaaay better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juscre8nfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxurytaste, General Manager at 3 Palms Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Susan H,

My name is Brian Klein and I am the General Manager of the 3 Palms Resort Oasis. After reading your response, I see that you stayed with us back in August. I am truly sorry that there was a miscommunication about the public transportation. Our staff is actually well trained on all local points of interest, restaurants, and shopping. They also work very closely with all modes of transportation including taxis, black car service, buses, and Scottsdale's very own Ollie the Trolley ( which is a free shuttle service that travels in the old town section of Scottsdale and slightly beyond). I do wish you were able to take advantage of one of our suites that comes fully furnished with a full sized refrigerator, stove, dishwasher, cooking supplies, and two bathrooms. Some other things that we have that some of our competitors do not is an onsite all organic spa called Blu Sol, a 30 person jetted whirlpool, upgraded amenities and easy access to El Dorado Park. I do hope that you are able to give us a second chance when you come back to this area. I am confident that this staff will outshine the competition.

Brian Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This hotel was chosen for its location to a park for relaxation/jogging/walking, and a short stroll to an excellent sports bar. A welcoming front desk , and a very efficient/prompt check-in facility. The pool/spa was a bonus and very much appreciated after a long flight. Easy access to and from Sky Harbor. Stephanie and Morgan need to be mentioned and complimented for their helpful responses to questions about the area and local facilities. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: You can choose a room with a bath/spa if needed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drmjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Arriving at the hotel late, we found they didn't have the room with 2 queen beds we had reserved. Irritating. We were told a rollaway would be delivered but I'm pretty certain that if I hadn't called the front desk 20 minutes later it would have been forgotten. We were also told they would move us to a room with 2 queen beds the next morning. Again, I'm pretty certain that it wouldn't have happened had I not gone back to the front desk to ask the next morning. However, the young woman working at the front desk, Stephanie, was as calm, friendly, and helpful as anyone could be. She made sure we got the room we'd reserved, gave us a great lunch recommendation, and was very helpful when I needed some help printing out boarding passes. So, 3 stars for the hotel (tough to regulate the air temp, loud AC, some guy standing outside our room really late one night, smoking & talking on cell) but 5 stars for Stephanie. In the hotel's favor, the location right next to the park is outstanding. Really great asset though there isn't much else of real interest in the vicinity.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor on the park side. Park side is great, but I'm guessing a second floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxurytaste, General Manager at 3 Palms Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear PSPOT,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I know how busy a person can get and we value this feedback from our guests. Although, I am extremely sorry that we were unable to accommodate your initial request for two queen bedded room, I am glad that Stephanie took really good care of you. Sometimes guaranteeing room types is out of the hotel's hands. We often times have guests extend past their original departure date and therefore puts the hotel in a sold out situation for room types. That being said, I hope that you are able to come back to the 3 Palms Resort Oasis and see the hotel as it is meant to be seen, with honest and uncomplicated comfort.

Brian Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Let me start by saying I do not like "hotels" with a room door that opens directly onto the parking lot or side street. I prefer a main entrance where the room access is off an interior hallway. Also, the noise level from surrounding rooms and the sidewalk in front of the room door can be louder than what is normal.
Having said that, the rooms have been updated nicely since this was a Motel. Comfortable bed, nice bathroom, relatively clean and modern. The staff was friendly and efficient. Best of all, the hotel is located literally yards from a nice park with a 4 mile jogging trail. I was a good value relative to what you will pay farther north in Scottdale.
The "lounge" had water and coffee and two PCs. That's it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the "pool side" of the property so your room will not open up to a side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bill d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxurytaste, General Manager at 3 Palms Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Bill D,

Thank you very much for staying with us on your recent trip to Scottsdale. I am sorry that you were disappointed with our exterior corridors. Many of the hotels and resorts in the greater Phoenix area have exterior corridors; The Biltmore, Royal Palms, and the Hotel Valley Ho. I am glad, however, that you were impressed with our upgraded room amenities. Hopefully you will choose the 3 Palms Resort Oasis when your travels bring you back to the Scottsdale area.

Brian Klein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scottsdale hotels
The Scottsdale Inn
#43 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Downtown Scottsdale
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites Scottsdale - Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Saguaro Scottsdale
#48 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Hotel Valley Ho
#5 of 75 in Scottsdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Palms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Palms Hotel

Property: 3 Palms Hotel
Address: 7707 E McDowell Rd, Scottsdale, AZ 85257-3743
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Scottsdale
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Scottsdale
#28 Romantic Hotel in Scottsdale
#29 Family Hotel in Scottsdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — 3 Palms Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When you enter our stunning yet intimate lobby, the desert stone accents set in the hand laid white crystal granite warn you to expect something special including a level of service that some people consider sublime. All of our rooms and suites are tastefully appointed with carefully selected modern art, contemporary custom made furnishings, and entertainment centers. Our guests of this Scottsdale Hotel bask in the comfort of our super deluxe pillow top beds dressed with 400-thread count linens, down comforters, and four equally soft down pillows. Passionate attention to detail continues throughout the 3 Palms Hotel in Scottsdale, with features selected with your comfort and convenience in mind. Cable/satellite TV with premium channels, DVD players, stereos, refrigerators, microwaves, and the all important coffee maker are just some of the amenities we've included in anticipation of your every need at our boutique Scottsdale hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your 3 Palms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Palms Resort Oasis Hotel Scottsdale
Three Palms Resort Oasis Scottsdale
3 Palms Scottsdale
3 Palms Hotel Scottsdale, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing