We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”
Review of Maria's Restaurant

Maria's Restaurant
Ranked #110 of 195 Restaurants in Sedona
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The food was good. Being from Texas I was impressed with the food. It wasn't like the Mexican food I'm use to but it was good. We had a new waitress and she did not get all our order right but it was fixed in a pleasant manner. I would go back if ever in town again.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    113
    54
    21
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice Breakfast by the Red Rocks”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My partner and I tried breakfast around 11am. The place was quiet, with only a few other tables occupied. Service was friendly and food was very good. Plenty of good-sized portions. They don't do local discount, but they offer a free margarita for each table of locals, so that could be nice at lunch or dinner sometime. We'll be back to try their other menus.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous food, amazing service!”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Maria's is, hand's down, my favorite local restaurant here in Sedona/Village of Oak Creek. Consistency of quality lacks in many tourist-area restaurants; however, Maria's is consistently delicious. The tamales, enchiladas, and fajitas take center stage in my opinion; however, the tacos shouldn't be overlooked (and I have it on good authority that the burritos and chimis are delish, too). Not quite in the mood for Mexican? Maria's has tasty American fare, too, including sandwiches and a fabulous Sedona wrap, all served with fries.

The service here, though, is what truly keeps me coming back. Every server there greets you with a smile. On my most recent visit, my incredible server, Jolene, was by herself waiting -- yet she still promptly brought chips, drinks, and, of course, orders with a smile and and just enough pleasant conversation to know she valued each and every customer. Even though I dine here regularly, I was impressed with her ability to go above and beyond to make every diner feel like a VIP. I'm also kind of jealous that my body could never hustle like hers!

The restaurant entrance, er, entrances confuse some - the one out front is prominently marked. However, when you walk in, it's like, "Um..." There is no "please, seat yourself," or, "please wait to be seated," sign. The true main entrance (at least where the service/checkout station is, is down an alley around the side of the building. I personally find the dual entry charming as a local, but as a tourist, it's a bit odd.

All in all, I give Maria's a 10/10 for food, and a 20/10 for service. I highly recommend Maria's to travelers and locals alike.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JdiStefano33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very good atmosphere, staff and food.”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The staff were very friendly but on point. Good food and wonderful; atmosphere. Martine was our server and quite the knowledgeable person about various regions of the world. Sounds like a well conditioned traveler if you have questions.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank henry d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great service, shameful "food!"”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

we had a very nice waitress, but the "car it as" that we were served was really shameful - blocks of hard, very dry, pale, overcooked meat with little seasoning ($13). I wish that I could qualify that as somewhat hyperbolic, but it's actually an unemotional description. guacamole didn't look or taste fresh ($5!). sorry...

Helpful?
1 Thank ppp4p6p89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Maria's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing