We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hike!”

West Fork Oak Creek Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
US$69.98*
and up
Scenic Sedona Tour
More Info
US$71.44*
and up
Old Bear Wallow Tour from Sedona
More Info
US$146.49*
and up
Comprehensive Grand Canyon Tour from Sedona
Ranked #10 of 158 things to do in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Trail that follows a creek at the bottom of a 1,000-foot canyon.
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hike!”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Great hike, we stopped for about an hour and probably only went about 3/4 mile in. There are 13 creeks to cross in all, we only crossed 3, but it was beautiful. You had to navigate the rocks to cross so it made it fun. Very peaceful. The hike is pretty easy and the terrain is pretty flat.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank pepper000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    769
    167
    52
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dewey, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Fantastic hike and great for photo opportunities”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We just missed the colors of the trees. The best time is to go in Spring and Fall, however going on a hike here is fantastic. There are small streams to cross but most of them had rocks to walk on. I wore my keenes so I just walked through the chilly water. Hiking poles come in handy. So does a nice tripod if you are taking pictures. We walked in for about 2 hours and came back. The reflections of the river along the banks of the cliffs are simply breath-taking.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Second time for this hike”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Last time we hiked this it was in the spring. The fall hike was just as rewarding, one of our favorites in the area. The sign at the start says it is two miles each way but it seems like more. Also there are 13 stream crossings each way on this hike, 26 total. Hiking poles come in handy for balancing on the slippery rocks. Take your time and enjoy the views.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank gringobill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Focus on the journey, not the destination!”
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Great place to hike, beautiful views, be ready to cross the stream many times and to have to step on wobbly stones at times to get accross the streams. The whole hike took us a good 4 hours (round trip) at moderate speed. We were a bit disappointed at the end of the hike. We were expecting somewhat of a reward after the long hike... Unfortunately, at the end you just find a dead-end pool with a so-so view... so focus on the journey, not the destination! If you feel you've walked enough, don't worry about not finishing the hike and just turn back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank kobachisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaforth, Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Challenging if your balance isn't good!!!”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Despite being marked as an easy hike it definitely has its challenges. A stick is a must for crossing the streams. Despite that it is well worth the effort. The changes in scenery are amazing. I was able to get some great shots of reflections along the river. the fall colours were nearly gone but still spectacular in places. Well worth the visit even if quite busy. I agree with the Enchanted forest feel.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Fork Oak Creek Trail also viewed

 

Been to West Fork Oak Creek Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing