We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our secret places”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of our secret places”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Only 16 cabins here, so book early and remember the room comes with dinner and breakfast, and the food is all organic. You actually have to drive across Oak Creek to get up to it. You feel like you are at a private club where everyone knows everyone else. It must have about a 90% repeat clientele rate. No internet, or TV or even cell phone service, just total relaxation and connecting with nature. Hiking, fishing, Bonfires at night. If you need to runaway this is the place, just North of Sedona.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ternel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    23
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
41
121
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

My wife and I have enjoyed Garlands since 1992. The grounds are beautiful and Chef Amanda's meals are absolutely incredible. One of the highlights of our weekend is the drive up from Scottsdale as we view the red rocks as we approach Sedona. Can't wait for our July weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank resall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My husband, 10 year old daughter and I had the most amazing and relaxing weekend! It is one of our favorite places. The cabins are rustic and very comfortable - including a fireplace. It is so peaceful with no television or cell reception. The staff is incredibly gracious and helpful. The food is just over the top amazing. Our daughter summed it up by asking if there was anything they make that is not good?! It is difficult to do justice to the beautiful scenery. We would walk to breakfast in the morning, and the sun had not yet come over the mountain, so the tulips were closed...by the time we walked back to our cabin, the sun had come over the mountain and the tulips were all open. We hiked, played games, drew, read and just talked to each other and made new friends at dinner. If you have the chance to experience Garland's, take it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissa f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

My husband and I recently celebrated his Birthday in one of our favorite hideaways, Garlands Oak Creek Lodge. We love the rustic, but comfortable, cabins combined with gracious and elegant dining. The magic starts when we drive over the low-water crossing and enter the golden-leaf-strewn grounds surrounding the Lodge and cabins.
It always gives us our "New England" fix for the year and we settle into a few blessed days of hiding in plain sight!
Less than an hour from our home in Sedona, we feel thoroughly "on vacation." My husband craves solitude, silence and our scenery and he gets his fill from our visits to Garlands.
The Chef is a great attraction to Garlands, as well. We feasted on Rack of Lamb for my husband's Birthday dinner, served graciously and unobtrusively by the excellent staff. The crackling fire and great lines of this Log Cabin Style Lodge make it a wonderful place to enjoy the company of other guests over a board game or the player piano or just curl up in a nook with a book from the volumes on the shelves.
Some cabins feature wood fireplaces, ours this visit, was on the creek. We had the sensation of being surrounded by sunlit gold leaves, fluttering to ground amid tall dark trees and the sounds of water falling over the stones.
Take a chance, give them a call, if they have a cancellation, grab your chance or plan ahead and book your stay well in advance because they are full most times!

Room Tip: Check out the site map and choose between creekside, fireplace and walking distance to Lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galloway, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had the best time at the lodge. The food was amazing and meeting new people was so enjoyable. The art of conversation and the peacefulness of the surroundings were amazing. I say I was hesitant in writing this because you want to keep this gem to yourself but I haven't stopped telling friends and aquaintences how fantastic this place is so it is only fair to tell all.

It was so funny that we didn't realize to get to the lodge we had to cross the creek. This was literal, like your tires are crossing the creek not going over a bridge. We came in late and just like family they checked ahead to see if we wanted to eat dinner in the dining room. We were so exhausted but the food was so amazing it kept us curious for the next course. Got into the room and found it to be beautiful. It is like adult luxury camping. Lol. I am not a roughing it type a person but this is where I would go again and again. Trout for breakfast. Super yummy! Yes it is in the dining room! Some people we met never leave the property but we left to go hiking and sight see. Unfortunately we never made tea time but I'm sure it was fantastic. We did make sure we got back before dark. After all can't miss dinner! By the way the no key thing is a bit freaky but with the staff there and other peeps everyone is looking out for you. Privacy is respected and the people were very gracious.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is such a serene place to visit. The Lodge is situated on Oak Creek in the Canyon north of Sedona. The beautiful mountains, the change of seasons and the hiking trails are fabulous.
It is difficult to get a reservation at Garlands Lodge, but if you get a chance to visit - do it. There are no phones or TV's in the cabins. Cell phone reception is minimal but you can get email service on your device on occasion. It makes for a very peaceful stay.

Room Tip: There are 4 cabins on the creek and several others that face the red rock mountains. All are good d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jerijazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Garland's is that special place that you will want to return to time and time again! This was our second visit and it was just as special as the first. Our cabin, the grounds, and the main lodge/dining room are all beautifully maintained. The entire staff is very welcoming. As my husband and I walked to the main lodge from our cabin last evening I remarked to him that even the lighting creates such a warm, welcoming atmosphere and it invites you to come in and sit a spell. Which you should do because you will meet such warm and gracious people that will become friends that you hope to see again next year! The dinner and breakfasts are delicious and you will not be hungry during your stay. In fact, you will want to explore the grounds and numerous hiking trails to help balance out the caloric intake! If you are lucky enough to get a reservation at Garland's, you are lucky!

Room Tip: Once you have a reservation and a cabin then that reservation and cabin are yours for the following...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhondaMathis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
3.1 mi away
Oak Creek Terrace Resort
6.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Las Posadas of Sedona
Las Posadas of Sedona
#23 of 48 in Sedona
736 reviews
7.3 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
919 reviews
7.6 mi away
Arroyo Pinion Hotel, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek

Property: Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek
Address: 8067 N Highway 89A, 8 Mi North of Sedona, Sedona, AZ 86336 (Formerly Garland's Oak Creek Lodge)
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Garland's Lodge is now Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek: Unique Cabins & Lodging, Orchard Canyon is a unique, historic and acclaimed American-plan Lodge cradled in Oak Creek Canyon. Open year-round. Relax & unplug with no TVs or phones. Afternoon tea, gourmet dinner and breakfast are included in most stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garland`s Oak Creek Hotel Sedona
Orchard Canyon On Oak Creek Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing