We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace And Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Peace And Quiet”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We've been going to Garland's Oak Creek Lodge since 1991. It is where we rest, have great food and are well taken care of. It is where technology has been left behind and you feel like you can breath again. There are many cabins.... some are small, some bigger, some have fire places, some are by the creek, they are all lovely and unique. If you go be prepared to gain weight because the food is outstanding. Start the day with fresh trout or some type of fantastic egg dish. Tea time is at four and there's always something tasty to eat. Dinners are at seven. It is usually a seven course meal. What my husband and I enjoyed was being seated with different people each night...lots of laughs. The food is included in the price of the cabin...we love treating ourselves. During the day, we hike the many trails that are near by in the canyon. We have also heard many people talking about the great shopping in the area...or going to Sedona for the day. I would like to thank Mary (The owner) for the GREAT hiking suggestion...it was a beautiful hike. If you're interested in going to Garland's, it is smart to start calling early in the season (April) to see if you can get in...we book our cabin a year in advance:)

Room Tip: The are all really nice cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    22
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
40
118
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I've been going to Garland's Lodge for approximately 30 years. Besides the wonderful food, personnel, food, accommodations, food, setting and (did I mention?) food throughout the years, the high standards' consistency is very impressive. Mary & Gary Garland are to be commended for their attention to their guests' needs, requests, staff, etc. This is definitely the place to go to when one wants a total getaway--no phones, no TV, very limited WiFi--paradise! Many choices for breakfast; tea time is in late afternoon; set menu for dinner. Dietary restrictions--let them know in advance and they'll accommodate.

Room Tip: Colder weather--room with fireplace. Like the sound of rushing water--above-the-creek cabin. More...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sebastopol, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2013

This was our second stay at Garland Lodge, and our choice to celebrate our anniversary. We could not have made a better choice. Cozy cabin #8 had a very welcome fireplace, as the evenings were chilly, and the perfect place to read and relax. Extraordinary food, good company with other guests, solitude when wanted, and the red rocks are simply spectacular--such a marvelous setting. The trees were ripe with luscious apples, and the perfect mix of sun and shade. Yoga was wonderful. We went on a wonderful hike on a nearby trail along the Oak Creek, and loved every step.
We plan to return next year.

Room Tip: Loved cabin #8!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We live in Scottsdale, and in July we wanted to escape the heat. This is the place to do it. The property is lush with flowers, trees, vegetable gardens and a beautiful orchard. While we were there, their peach and apple trees were full of perfectly ripe fruit.
The lodge uses all their own produce to prepare the most fabulous meals ever (this review is coming froma retired chef).
The cabins are quaint and comfortable.
This is a great place for r&r.
We can't wait to return to this wonderful oasis.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The lodge is a favorite of mine. It fills up fast in the summer and isn't open in the winter so make your plans early. All the individual cabins are large, clean and comfortable. Taking a peaceful walk around the grounds in the early morning works up your appetite for the delish breakfast included in the cost of the room (as is a wonderful dinner). I can't say enough about the meals served at the lodge. Really top notch. Don't forget to get a copy of their cookbook... actual recipes of dishes they serve their guests and every one is a treat.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

When you drive across bustling Oak Creek to Garland's in this heavily wooded, hushed little canyon, you're in another world and another time. It's a simpler world, far far closer to the original 1908 homestead-- now the lodge's kitchen--than to the garish commerciality of Sedona. It's an older time, too. As the lodge grew over the years, adding a few rustic cabins now and then, it retained a connection with the past. You feel, especially with no tv and no telephones, you've stepped into a time warp. Hello, 1955.
Although regular guests book and rebook, same time next year, and there's a somewhat clubby feeling, the management (Megann) couldn't be more welcoming and congenial. We stepped into a one-night cancellation, cabin 3 creekside, just above the busy creek and partly under a burgeoning apple tree-- a snug, varnished-log private nest, charming and spotless.
We took afternoon tea, chatted with guests, skipped the 6pm cocktail hour, and headed for dinner when the 7pm bell summoned diners. We'd mentioned our anniversary, and at our table for two a specially printed menu welcomed us and commemorated the occasion. Dinner and service were flawless: a southwestern theme supplied in part by the gardens and orchards on the property. Fresh red-chile bread, a fine vegetable-heavy tortilla soup, an enormous garden-fresh salad, beef filet with a light ancho sauce (the best I've ever eaten ever) and black beans brilliantly seasoned and wonderful calabacitas. Dessert, a tres leches cake, and the recommended wine, an Estancia '10 Meritage, perfect with the meal and well-priced.
Likewise, a swell breakfast. Apple cider from the orchards, a selection of fruit, an Oak Creek trout (terrif!) with corn fritters.
We hated to leave, but the lodge was fully booked. We'd been fortunate for our single out-of-this-world, unbeatable, unforgettable evening.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vcdarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We recently stayed at Garlands to celebrate an aniversary. We had a wonderful cabin all to ourselves nestled in the grounds of the Garlands working farm. Apple trees abound throughout the property with cabins scattered about. The weather was 20 degrees cooler than Phoenix and the air was crisp and clear with a few afternoon thunderstorms to set a tone for snuggling up in the cabin.
Our hosts were very kind and helpful even recommending a little know trail to hike (we did not see ANYONE for the 2 hours we were hiing). Best of all, the food is amazing. A fixed menu each night that follows a happy hour prior to seating for dinner. The dining room staff is effecient and friendly and we felt we knew them when we finished our first dinner. On Saturday night our wonderful dinner was followed by after dinner coffee drinks as we were treated to a couple of violin solos from our waiter who we were told has a couple of degrees in music. Wonderful time, great people, and an escape from the hectic pace back home.

Room Tip: These are cabins set in the woods of Oak Creek Canyon. The cabins on the upper property are newer b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
6.2 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
7.3 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
3.1 mi away
Oak Creek Terrace Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
7.0 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
12.9 mi away
Las Posadas of Sedona
Las Posadas of Sedona
#19 of 48 in Sedona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek

Property: Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek
Address: 8067 N Highway 89A, 8 Mi North of Sedona, Sedona, AZ 86336 (Formerly Garland's Oak Creek Lodge)
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Garland's Lodge is now Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek: Unique Cabins & Lodging, Orchard Canyon is a unique, historic and acclaimed American-plan Lodge cradled in Oak Creek Canyon. Open year-round. Relax & unplug with no TVs or phones. Afternoon tea, gourmet dinner and breakfast are included in most stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Orchard Canyon on Oak Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garland`s Oak Creek Hotel Sedona
Orchard Canyon On Oak Creek Sedona, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing