We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hated to leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Auberge de Sedona
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Sedona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 March 2012

One of the most romantic places I've ever stayed (including Paris)! My husband took me on a surprise Valentine Day trip to L'Auberge. We'd stayed there once before for only one night and with our kids. This trip was very romantic. There were three weddings there that weekend. We had a creekside cabin, he golfed and I got a fantastic hot stone massage. We ate at the restaurant two nights and a lunch, also had drinks on the terrace around the fire pits. We stayed at a creekside cabin (I think 22) the first two nights but then got to move to our favorite, #5, for the last night. Burned every piece of wood to keep the fire going as long as possible. Could hear the creek outside. Just a fantastic place. Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Low number creekside cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReginaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,052 - 3,058 of 3,536 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2012

Despite a couple of kinks, I still had to give this place a 5. We picked L'Auberge due to the reviews that we had read and it's proximity to town.

While the location on the river is perfect, it turns out the proximity to town is not much of an asset, unless you need a cactus salt & pepper shaker, a T-shirt or a jeep ride. While the Sedona area is absolutely breathtaking, the town itself is like a bad Gatlinberg TN.

L'auberge sits on a tranquil creek and has several separate cottages that are self contained. We stayed in one on the river. It was very clean, wonderful bedding, and the staff could not have been more accomodating.

We only ate lunch at the hotel. It was OK, but $60.00 for lunch for two with 1 beer and 1 glass of wine seemed excessive.

There were three things that could have been improved, but again everything else about the resort was so good that I can't give it less than a 5.

1. We booked the reservation on the day of our arrival by phone. We were not told that we needed to move into another cottage after the first night. The staff moved everything and both cottages were great, but this shouldn't have been a surprise. It is a pain to pack and move and we should have been notified that this was required prior to booking.

2. Small thing, but when we arrived in the new cottage, they had failed to move the beer that I had in the refrigerator. We had just returned from an 8 mile hike and I was really looking forward to one of those beers. The front desk inquired of the staff and no one would claim responsibility for taking the beer. The concierge told me that nothing like this had ever happened before. Not sure if he was implying that I was lying. It was just a pain. They actually ran out to the store and brought me a whole 12 pack, but it was three hours later and we were ready to move on to dinner by then.

3. Lastly, not necessarily a criticism, but a suggestion. When we arrived the bellman was very attentive and took us to our room. I offered him a couple of bucks which he declined saying that the service was already included in the room rate. When we had lunch, there was a place to add a tip so they obviously accepted tips. I was not sure who to tip and who not to tip. I would suggest that they just let the bellmen accept tips and eliminate the confusion.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nunya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

What an incredible place to stay! LOVED everything about our stay -- from every friendly and helpful employee we met, to the beautiful scenery around the resort, to the cozy and lovely creekside cabin. Manager Ryan Pedersen made sure our needs were taken care of. Looking forward to another stay at L'Auberge de Sedona.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hope4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

L'Auberge is a property composed of a lodge & cabins situated on Oak Creek in Sedona, Arizona home of the amazing red rocks. I booked a Garden View Cabin' a couple of days prior to travel for myself & two teenagers. Upon check-in I was told we were upgraded to a 'Creekside Cabin', which was wonderful. The cabin was a large sized room with a king bed, queen sofa sleeper, wood-burning fireplace, writing desk, wardrobe & comfy side chair with ottoman. We also asked for a rollaway bed which fit into the room without any difficulty. Attached was a bath including a large dressing area with double sinks and separate tub/shower & toilet area. Off the dressing area was a door to a private enclosed outdoor shower for bathing (we did not use, too chilly during our stay!) The room was emaculate, the provided shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, soap & lotion were a pleasant grapefruit scent. Each cabin had a large private deck that overlook the Oak Creek with a table & chairs, plus a chaise. This resort is a 'Non-tipping' resort. They have a %10 charge that includes all tips to housekeeping, valet & bell services (excludes dining). All service staff were exceptionally accomodating & cheerful; seeming to enjoy their jobs.

We ate two meals on property, lunch & breakfast. We sat at a creekside table for lunch. I had a Ceasar Salad with freshly griled chicken, my teens had a Caprese Salad & cheeseburgers. The waiter (Luxiem?) was very attentive, even spoke with the chef for my teen who has Celiac and cannot consume wheat. We had the most amazing panne cotta with a toasted marshmellow on top, & authentic cream brulee for dessert. The only glitch was the wait support staff was very slow. I asked one guy to please refill my iced tea 4 times (receiving a eye roll in return on the 3rd time) before our waiter did it for him. Breakfast was nice but, nothing special. They did have the best applewood smoked bacon but, the roasted potatoes we soggy, not crisp. For the $$ I expected more. Other guests mentioned that the 3 or 4 course dinner tasting menu is amazing. Very relaxing, would be a superior spot for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank weenie dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Best resort experience I've ever had. Hands down. Gorgeous, magical, peaceful setting. Highlight was service. Genuine, friendly, caring staff who goes out of it's way to make sure you are pampered. I gently complained that the water jets in the outdoor shower were painfully forceful and the shower head was replaced that day! Nestled in the heart of Sedona but feels like you are isolated. Easy walk to everything or the valets will give you a ride. This is good because traffic can get very heavy. This is a classy, yet low-key place. Not in the least bit "full of itself" as is often the case in a high end resort. A great place for couples. Pick this one!!

Room Tip: Worried that I made a mistake picking the garden cottage over the creek side cottage to save money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

From the first minute to the last, every part of the experience whispered "excellence"!! Every employee was polite, professional, helpful and ready to serve....every time! The cottage was beautiful, cozy, romantic and perfect! Room service was great, the food was amazing! The scenery was breathtaking, the spa was very well done...from the reception to the steam room to the massage...it was top of the line! I hated to leave!

Room Tip: We asked for a cottage with a view, which made it also one of the more private ones as it was at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuthAnneFergie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

my husband and i recently spent 4 nights in a cottage near the creek. sedona is stunningly beautiful and one can't help but let go of the stresses of life when you are surrounded by such overwhelming natural beauty. but l'auberge is the perfect resort from which to experience sedona. it is small and intimate, the cottages with fireplaces are utterly charming, the staff is knowledgeable and attentive, the food is wonderful and the fact that it all centers on this mesmerizing sun-dappled gurgling creek just puts it over the top. although this was part of a longer trip for us, i suspect that even a few days at l'auberge is enough to feel as though you have had a true get-away.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaubergeDeSedona, Public Relations Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2012

Thank you for choosing L'Auberge de Sedona. We are very happy that you enjoyed your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
3 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#1 of 49 in Sedona
922 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
0 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
3 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 49 in Sedona
986 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Inn Above Oak Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge de Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge de Sedona

Address: 301 L'Auberge Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-4260
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sedona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
#2 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#2 Family Hotel in Sedona
Price Range: £286 - £766 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge de Sedona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’Auberge de Sedona has the privilege of being one of the most beautiful hotels in the world. Surrounded by the towering red rocks of Sedona, we have an extraordinary and unique location on the banks of Oak Creek, where the air is cooler, the scenery even more beautiful and the atmosphere so tranquil and romantic that even the most seasoned traveler is awestruck. With staff who genuinely care – who greet you with warm, sincere smiles and go above and beyond to ensure you have a truly magical stay. We offer 87 meticulously appointed guest rooms and cottages spread across 11 acres of landscaped grounds. The cottages all have fireplaces and private decks; most have separate outdoor showers. Have a romantic dinner on our creekside patio, and you’ll see why L’Auberge Restaurant on Oak Creek was named "One of the Top Ten Restaurants in the Southwest" by Condé Nast Traveler. We’ve also received the Wine Spectator’s "Award of Excellence" 19 consecutive times. Our $25 million refurbishment includes a new indoor/outdoor wine bar and dining patio and an expanded spa for lounging after your day’s activities. And if you want more, there are lots of extras like yoga classes, daily duck feedings, evening stargazing sessions and pet-friendly rooms.But don’t take our word for it. Just read what our guests have to say. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your L'Auberge de Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge De Sedona Hotel Sedona
Lauberge De Sedona
L'Auberge De Sedona Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing