We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous location, mediocre room quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
L'Auberge de Sedona
Ranked #7 of 48 Hotels in Sedona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous location, mediocre room quality”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at the resort this month for a friend's wedding. While the location is absolutely beautiful, there was nothing outstanding about the accommodations by any means. We stayed in a creek side cottage. It has a good amount of space. If you're at all interested in watching TV while in bed, most of the cottages are not conducive (unless you lie on your side the whole time :). The bed was only semi-comfortable and the pillows not at all. I was surprised to find things not well-kept as you'd expect for a suite costing $500/night. One of the stoppers on the toilet seat was missing, the pictures on the wall in the bathroom were very low quality and one frame was very obviously broken. The hot/cold/on/off indicator ring in the bathtub was hanging loose over the handle. The WORST thing about this experience was that there was a housekeeping storage shed attached to the back of the building and when housekeeping would access the room and close the door, there was a very loud bang that rocked the whole back wall...coming twice at noon nap time as well as three times between 11 pm and midnight. If you're looking for a beautiful location, this is a great spot, but for the cost....I would expect a much more put-together room. I've slept more comfortably at rooms for a fraction of the cost.

There is complimentary coffee and scones/danishes each morning. The first morning it was very well attended with an employee cleaning up and refilling thing three times in the ten minutes I was present. The second day I left and came back after waiting ten minutes for coffee and creamer to be refilled. No one came. When I returned the items had been replenished, but no one attended the area for quite a while.

The concierge came through with printing something quickly for me that I needed and I appreciated her attentiveness. All staff I experienced were polite and friendly without being intrusive.

I'd give the grounds, staff, and location an A+, but the room itself in quality and comfort gets a C.

Room Tip: Choose a "modest" room with a great view and walk down to the creek to enjoy it's beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carrie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeghanRudolph, Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We're delighted that you enjoyed our location and our staff was attentive to your needs. We appreciate your comments on the details of the rooms and will review this with our team, we agree with you that the details make the stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,347
    429
    201
    87
    56
See reviews for
548
2,029
96
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (634)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandler
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My fiancee and I have been enjoying the L'Auberge experience since December 12, 2008, the day we actually got engaged on the property. L'Auberge was in on the surprise engagement and made it so memorable that we will only stay on the property. (As a matter of fact, we will decline and/or refuse free offers from others in the area!) We travel to L'Auberge 1-3 times a year. Every time we stay on the property, the staff continues to exceed our expectations, and they are pretty darn high. We recently spent the 4th of July here and were catered to and spoiled rotten. LOVED IT!

The property is very dog friendly which allows us to bring our Cocker Spaniel, Bree. She too receives alot of attention. Staff is super friendly and courteous. We are greeted warmly with chocolate covered strawberries and champagne and our fur baby receives a doggy care package as well with goodies from the local dog bakery.

We have enjoyed several couple's spa packages catered to our needs, delicious meals at the bar, and OH GOODNESS GRACIOUS you must try the all-you-can-eat brunch on Sundays along Oak Creek. There are several activities everyone can enjoy. One of my favorites is yoga by amazing local instructors. You can not help but meditate and relax.

I must give HUGE "KUDOS" to one individual who always goes above and beyond to assist us with any needs... Ryan Pederson. He has been in on all the surprises over the years including our most recent to celebrate my upcoming birthday! He always checks in with us to make sure our trip is wonderful. We can not say enough GREAT things about Ryan.

Staying at L'Auberge is peaceful, tranquil, and relaxing. The views from the cabins are breathtaking. This is definitely the place to unwind, take in the phenomenal environment nature shares, enjoy a tasty glass of wine, and be with your loved ones.

L'Auberge is where it's at. All that is missing... is YOU! You will not forget your time spent here. It's a beautiful place to create your own memorable experience. Let the folks at L'Auberge spoil you!

Thank you L'Auberge for being a part of my life. I can not wait for our next experience with you!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NawlinsVoodooQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeghanRudolph, Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of L'Auberge and your continued support throughout the years. We're so honored that you choose to spend your important celebrations with us. We'll be sure to give Ryan an extra pat on the back for taking such great care of you. We'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Wow- the only reason it is 4 stars experience, because the Food and Beverages aren't organic or non-GMO, so dining experience for us, although it has an amazing location right on the river bank.
We loved the privacy of the cottage, its decor its working 'real' fireplace and its close proximity from valet. You could go dip your feet in the ice cold water of the stream and listen to it to. As for value, if you have been in Four Seasons or the Ritz, this probably won't measure up. In other words it is expensive for what it is.

Room Tip: Stay low in the creek!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bfantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeghanRudolph, Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We're so happy that you enjoyed our location along oak creek and took advantage of getting your feet in the creek!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

I didn't stay overnight but enjoyed a day at the spa. A walk through the impeccably maintained grounds and smiles from helpful employees preceded a blissful spa day. Veronica warmly greeted us and gave an excellent tour of the luxurious spa facilities. She really set the tone for a lovely afternoon. Well done Veronica. Everything was spotless without seeming cold and sterile. Caleb did my salt scrub and wrap. He made sure I was comfortable and the treatment was incredible. I felt like I got more than my money's worth which is sometimes hard to do at a spa.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoVagabond99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeghanRudolph, Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your spa experience and were well taken care of. We hope you plan to return next time you are in Sedona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

First off, this is not a bad place to stay at all. However, in the age of online reviews, hotels need to ensure they exceed expectations. One way to do this is to avoid trumpeting about accolades which set expectations above what they are realistically able to meet.

We had a Vista Cottage, with an awesome view of the red rocks and a huge balcony with a dining set and deck chairs. Some reviews complained about the view, so it is important to note that the view differs between room types; you could be looking at red rocks, the creek or something more unsightly, so book accordingly. We had a huge bathroom with an outdoor shower and a spa tub that also shared the view.

We had a lot of interaction with the valets, since the car had to be valet parked and we needed it frequently to get around (many businesses are a short drive, but long hike away). They were great and super efficient and helpful, and kinda worth the mandatory gratuity.

We also took the advice of other reviewers and tried the creekside breakfast. That was pleasant enough, though the combination of price and food quality did not justify a repeat visit.

Altogether, not too bad.

There were a few issues though - that should not exist in a top 100 hotel and thus the average rating of only three green dots:

1) Everything about the bed was unprofessional. It was old - way too soft and wobbly. It would rock side to side whenever my husband got in or out, and I felt like I was lying on a slope inclined towards his weight. The pillows were unhygenic as the pillowcases gaped in the middle exposing the pillow itself! Also, modern hotels no longer have anything non-white (eg. throw pillows, runners) on the bed that isn't laundered between guests, but this one had it all, including white square pillows we THOUGHT were laundered but only after getting turndown service on the last evening realized weren't (they were removed during turndown), and we had been putting our faces on them to sleep on earlier nights when we'd not used turndown service - ugghhh! And the bed was also made very sloppily by housekeeping - the pillows looked like they had been tossed onto the bed from a distance and no attempt had been made to smooth out the duvet. On this last point, I can deal with it if it's my own bed at home, but not a top 100 hotel bed.

2) Housekeeping didn't replenish shampoos. Am sure the valets would have quickly rushed up a bottle at my request but one only discovers such things after having already stripped down.

3) The worst part - the internet bandwidth was terrible. The internet is still usable during the day, but in the evenings it ceased to function. This was highly inconvenient and unhelpful for researching and planning our excursions for the next day. I wrote this in another review - INTERNET IS LIKE WATER. Just because many people are using it at the same time is not a valid excuse for it to be insufficient.

4) I was looking forward to jumping into the pool after getting back to the hotel early one afternoon but it was tiny and fenced up and not enticing at all, so I passed. Again, not a top 100 pool at all.

My recommendation to the management is: remove the long list of accolades from all marketing materials and forget about them. Then, treat yourself - fly to Bali and spend a night at each of the top 3, 5, or 10 resorts there. Ensure the L'Auberge experience is on par with any of those resorts. And then, let the internet reviewers comment away.

Room Tip: decide what you want to look at (rocks, creek, nothing) and book accordingly
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Nitpicker011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaubergeDeSedona, General Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed the red rock view from your Vista Suite including the deck, the outdoor shower and the bathroom. Many of the accolades that we strive for and post are from guests voting or their personal reviews. For example, our TripAdvisor rating is based off past guest reviews and we are very honored to be reviewed as one of the top properties in Sedona. That being said, we know that there is always room for improvement and the points that you listed will help us improve. I would be happy to speak with you personally to ensure that we do take our guest reviews seriously. - Jesse Alexander, General Manager, 928-204-4313
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

L'Auberge is a gorgeous property nestled in Sedona by a creek.Very charming setting! Fantastic service along with beautiful and comfortable rooms. Convenient location in Sedona. Stayed in the Vista Suite which had amazing view of the Red Rocks. It was a perfect room for my husband and 13 year old. Would certainly go back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afotiadis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeghanRudolph, Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and review. We're happy to hear that the Vista Suite was a hit with your family. We'll see you next time you're in Sedona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I have visited Sedona several times as his mother lives nearby. This was our 2nd stay at L'Auberge this time in a Spa Cottage. I was there for 5 nights, 3 of those days by myself since my husband went to Supai hiking with friends for 2 nights. Never once did I feel uncomfortable being alone. The cottage was fantastic, quiet, spacious, and well located. Since I was left without a vehicle, the valets were always available to take me to the top of the hill anytime I needed, and I was within walking distance of anything that I needed. I loved spending time by the creek in a swing mornings and afternoons-so relaxing. There were several weddings there during our stay, but not once did they interfere with my day. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeciliaF991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeghanRudolph, Manager at L'Auberge de Sedona, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
We appreciate your continued support of L'Auberge and happy that your second stay was enjoyable! Thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sedona hotels
3.0 mi away
Adobe Grand Villas
Adobe Grand Villas
#2 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 867 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sedona Rouge Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
The Orchards Inn of Sedona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Arroyo Roble Hotel & Creekside Villas
3.0 mi away
Casa Sedona Inn
Casa Sedona Inn
#3 of 48 in Sedona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
0.9 mi away
Arabella Hotel Sedona
Arabella Hotel Sedona
#19 of 48 in Sedona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Auberge de Sedona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge de Sedona

Property: L'Auberge de Sedona
Address: 301 L'Auberge Lane, Sedona, AZ 86336-4260
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Sedona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Sedona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Sedona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sedona
#2 Spa Hotel in Sedona
#2 Family Hotel in Sedona
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Sedona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — L'Auberge de Sedona 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L’Auberge de Sedona has the privilege of being one of the most beautiful hotels in the world. Surrounded by the towering red rocks of Sedona, we have an extraordinary and unique location on the banks of Oak Creek, where the air is cooler, the scenery even more beautiful and the atmosphere so tranquil and romantic that even the most seasoned traveler is awestruck. With staff who genuinely care – who greet you with warm, sincere smiles and go above and beyond to ensure you have a truly magical stay. We offer 87 meticulously appointed guest rooms and cottages spread across 11 acres of landscaped grounds. The cottages all have fireplaces and private decks; most have separate outdoor showers. Have a romantic dinner on our creekside patio, and you’ll see why L’Auberge Restaurant on Oak Creek was named "One of the Top Ten Restaurants in the Southwest" by Condé Nast Traveler. We’ve also received the Wine Spectator’s "Award of Excellence" 19 consecutive times. Our $25 million refurbishment includes a new indoor/outdoor wine bar and dining patio and an expanded spa for lounging after your day’s activities. And if you want more, there are lots of extras like yoga classes, daily duck feedings, evening stargazing sessions and pet-friendly rooms.But don’t take our word for it. Just read what our guests have to say. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your L'Auberge de Sedona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge De Sedona Hotel Sedona
Lauberge De Sedona
L'Auberge De Sedona Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing